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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
1625 South 900 West • PO Box 30408 • Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 • (801) 977-6800 • FAX (801) 977-6888 

www.abc.utah.gov 
 
 

BEER WHOLESALING LICENSE APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
  

Dear Applicant: 
 
The items below must be completed and submitted by the 10th of the month before any action can be taken by 
the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission. You will be notified of the next monthly commission 
meeting when your application will be considered for issuance of a license.  
 
1. Completed application (form enclosed). 
 
2. Ownership entity organizational papers for business: 

a) if a corporation, submit a copy of articles of incorporation; 
b) if a partnership, submit a copy of written agreement; 
c) if a limited liability company, submit a copy of the articles of organization. 

 
3. Criminal history background check information (see application). 

 
4. Local Consent from either city/town council if premises located in incorporated area or county 

commission if unincorporated area (form enclosed). 
 
 5.        $10,000 beer wholesaler cash or corporate surety bond (form enclosed). 
 
6.     Brand & Territorial Agreement(s) between beer wholesaler and each brewer/importer,  

            reflecting brands of beer as well as geographical areas for distribution (form enclosed). 
 

 7.       Copy of current federal basic permit. 
 
 8.       Copy of current local business license. 
 
 9.       Certificate of public liability insurance. 
 
10.      Scaled floor plan of premises highlighting the areas where beer (4.0% by volume) will be stored.  
            
11.      $300 application fee (non-refundable). 
 
12.      $2,300 annual license fee (refundable if license not granted).  Make checks payable to Utah 
           Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. 
 
Enclosed are copies of Utah laws and commission rules pertaining to beer wholesalers. If you have any 
questions concerning these forms or the application process, please contact our Licensing and Compliance 
Division at (801) 977 6800. 
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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
APPLICATION FOR 

BEER WHOLESALING LICENSE 
 
 
1.  Applicant/Beer Wholesaler: ____________________________________________________ 
 
2.  Business Name: _____________________________________________________________ 
 
3.  Address: ___________________________________________________________________ 
   Street  PO Box  City  State  Zip 
 
4.  Phone:__________________  fax: ____________________  e-mail: ____________________ 
 
5.  Person to Contact: _________________________________ 
 
6.  Owner of real property and building: _____________________________________________ 
 
7.  Ownership: Check appropriate box and provide the requested information in the space below. 
    (add additional sheets if necessary) 
 
 [ ] Applicant is an individual:    List below information for:   (a)  Individual 

(b) All Managers 
 

[ ] Applicant is a partnership: List below information for: (a)  All Partners 
(b) All Managers 

 
[ ] Applicant is a corporation: List below information for: (a)  Any Stockholder owning at 
                least 20% of the corporation 

(b) All Corporate officers and  
Directors 

(c) All Managers 
[ ] Applicant is a limited liability company (LLC): 
     List below information for: (a)  Any members owning at least 
                20% of the company 

(b) All Managers 
 
   TITLE____________NAME_______________________HOME ADDRESS_______________________________ 
   HOME PHONE#______________DR LIC#___________SS#______________DOB__________%OWNED______ 
 
    Are you a United States Citizen? ________  If no, must attach a copy of residency status. 
 
   TITLE____________NAME_______________________HOME ADDRESS_______________________________ 
   HOME PHONE#_______________DR LIC#___________SS#______________DOB__________%OWNED_____ 
 
    Are you a United States Citizen? ________  If no, must attach a copy of residency status. 
 
   TITLE____________NAME_______________________HOME ADDRESS_______________________________ 
   HOME PHONE#________________R LIC#___________SS#______________DOB__________%OWNED_____ 
 
    Are you a United States Citizen? ________  If no, must attach a copy of residency status. 
 
 8.  Criminal History.  The law prohibits persons who have been convicted of certain crimes from being in the 
alcoholic beverage business.  This applies to any applicant, proprietor, partner, managing agent, director, of 
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officer of the business.  This also applies to any stockholder owning at least 20% of the corporation stock, or if 
a limited liability company, any member owning at least 20% of the company.  Please list all criminal offenses 
other than minor traffic offenses of which you or any of these persons (including persons listed in subparagraph 
7) have ever been convicted. 
 
 NAME    CRIMINAL OFFENSE  DATE OF CONVICTION 
 
  
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
In addition, a criminal history background check must be furnished on each person listed above and in 
subparagraph 6.  This may be done as follows: 
 

a.  Utah residents: If any person listed has been a resident of Utah for at least two years, he/she shall 
submit a fingerprint card to the DABC and consent to a fingerprint criminal background check by the Utah 
Bureau of Criminal Identification.  
 
b.  Non Residents: Out of state residents or persons who have resided in Utah for less than two years 
shall submit a fingerprint card to the DABC and consent to a fingerprint criminal background check by the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation (F.B.I).   
 
An informed consent and release of liability form is included with this information. 
 
Fingerprint cards are available at law enforcement agencies.    You may download the fingerprint card 
at this web address: http://www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/pdf/fpcardb.pdf 
 
Submit the form(s) to the DABC with a processing fee of: 
• $20.00 per card for BCI background checks, or  
• $39.25 per card for FBI background checks.    
 
In the case of an undue delay in the processing of a B.C.I or F.B.I. criminal background check, here are the rules 
and procedures for obtaining a third-party national background check:   An application that requires a B.C.I or 
F.B.I. criminal history background report(s) may be included on a commission meeting agenda, and may be 
considered by the commission for issuance of a license, permit, or package agency if: 
 1). the applicant has completed all requirements to apply for the license, permit, or package agency other 
than the department receiving the B.C.I or F.B.I. criminal history background report(s); 
 2). the applicant attests in writing that he or she is not aware of any criminal conviction of any person 
identified in the application that would disqualify the applicant from applying for and holding the license, permit, 
or package agency; 
 3). the applicant has submitted to the DABC the necessary fingerprint card(s) required for the application 
and consented to the fingerprint criminal background check(s) by the B.C.I. or F.B.I. 
 4). the applicant at the time of application supplies the department with a current criminal history 
background report conducted by a third-party background check reporting service on any person for which an 
F.B.I. background check is required; and 
 5). the applicant stipulates in writing that if a B.C.I. or  F.B.I. report shows a criminal conviction that would 
disqualify the applicant from holding the license, permit, or package agency, the applicant shall immediately 
surrender the license, permit, or package agency to the department. 
 
A suggested attestation/stipulation letter that satisfies the above requirements is enclosed. 
 
A third-party national criminal background check can be obtained by; 
• searching the yellow pages under Background Screening  
• searching the internet under Background Screening or Background Checks 
Because the DABC is State Agency, we cannot recommend any one background screening service over another.  
It is your responsibility however, to obtain the most complete, nationwide, criminal history available for the 
application process. 
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9.   List any other warehouse locations:  _____________________________________________________ 
 
10. List any other alcoholic licenses held by applicant or principals: 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 11. List beer brands (4.0% by volume) distributed (add additional sheets if necessary):   
___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

  ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

12.  By signing below, the applicant attests that: 
 
 a) the applicant is at least 21 years of age. 
 
 b) consent is granted to representatives of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Department, Commission, State 

Bureau of Investigation (Bureau of Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement), and other law enforcement 
agencies to be admitted immediately and permitted without hindrance or delay to inspect the entire 
premises and all records of the license holder. 

 
 c)  he/she has read and will abide by the provisions of Section 32B, Utah Code and all rules and directives 

of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control; and understands that failure to adhere thereto shall 
constitute grounds for removal of said license. 

 
 d) the applicant does not and will not discriminate against persons on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, 

ancestry, or national origin. 
 
 e) he/she has read and understands the statements made herein; that execution thereof is done voluntarily 

and by authorization of said organization, and that any false statement made on this application or any 
related document is a second degree felony. 

 
13. The undersigned hereby makes application to the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission for a 

Beer Wholesaling license and certifies the information contained herein and attached hereto to be true and 
correct. 

 
Date: ___________________________    
 
 
 
___________________________________ 
  Applicant/owner of business 
 
 
___________________________________ 
        Authorized signature 
 
 
___________________________________ 
   Name/title 

 
STATE OF ________________________ 
 
COUNTY OF_______________________ 
 
Subscribed & sworn to before me this _______ day of 
 
 ____________________, ________. 
 
 
 
_______________________________ 
Notary Public 
 
SEAL: 
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LOCAL CONSENT 

BEER WHOLESALING LICENSE 
 
 
 
        Date _________________________ 
 
 
 
 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Licensing and Compliance Section 
1625 So 900 West 
PO Box 30408 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84130 
 
 
Gentlemen: 
 
 
 
___________________________________________________(City)(Town)(County) hereby 
 
grants its consent to the issuance of a Beer Wholesaling license to ___________________ 
 
______________________________________________________ Beer Wholesaler, located at 
 
___________________________________________________________________, pursuant to 
 
the provisions of Section 32B-13, Utah Code for the purpose of importation,  purchase, and storage  
 
of light beer (4.0% by volume) on premises; and for sale and  distribution to licensed retail accounts. 
 
 
_____________________________________ 
 Authorized Signature 
 
 
_____________________________________ 
 Name/Title 
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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
1625 S 900 W • PO Box 30408 • Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 • Phone (801) 977-6800 • Fax (801) 977-6889 

     
“BEER WHOLESALING BOND” 

 
 

BOND # _______________________ 
 
KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS: 
 
That Principal, ________________________________________, a beer wholesaling licensee, doing business 
as _____________________________________________________________, and Surety, 
_____________________________________, a corporation organized and existing under the laws of the state 
of ______________________ and authorized to do business in Utah, are held and bound unto the Utah 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control in the sum of $10,000, for which payment will be made, we hereby 
bind ourselves and our representatives, assigns, and successors firmly by these presents. 
 
Dated this _______ day of ___________________, _______. 
 
THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH THAT: 
 
WHEREAS, the above principal has made application to the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission for 
a beer wholesaling licensee pursuant to the provisions of 32B-13, Utah Code. 
 
NOW, THEREFORE, if said principal, its officers, agents and employees shall faithfully comply with the 
provisions of Title 32B, Utah Code, and the rules and directives of the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission and the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, then this bond shall be void; but, if said 
principal, its officers, agents and employees fail to comply with the provisions of the laws, rules and directives 
or orders as the commission or department may issue, then this bond shall be in full force and effect and 
payable to the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.  This bond shall run for a continuing term 
effective ________________________ unless canceled by service of written notice upon the Utah Department 
of Alcoholic Beverage Control, which cancellation shall be effective 30 days after receipt of such notice; 
provided however, that no part of this bond shall be withdrawn or canceled while violations, legal actions or 
proceedings are pending against said licensee / principal. 
 
 
___________________________________          ___________________________________ 
  Surety       Principal / Licensee 
 
___________________________________          ___________________________________ 
       Attorney in fact      Authorized signature 

 
     { Corporate Seal }            __________________________________   
             Name / Title 
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STATUTORY AFFIDAVIT FOR CORPORATE SURETY 
 
 
STATE OF:  ____________________________ 
 
COUNTY OF:  ____________________________ 
 
 

On the ________ day of _____________________, ______, personally appeared before me, 
___________________________________, who, being by me duly sworn, did say that he / she is the attorney 
in fact of ____________________________________, Surety, and that said instrument was signed in behalf of 
said surety by authority, and acknowledged to me that he / she as such attorney in fact executed the same. 
 
 
___________________________________ 
      Notary Public Signature & Seal  
 
 
 
Note:  Corporate surety's own affidavit also acceptable 
 



Effective 7.1.11  v7.18 Page 8 of 63 
 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMED CONSENT AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY 
 
PURPOSE: To determine, in accordance with Utah Code 32B-1-305, 306, and 307, if an applicant with the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control has been: 
 

- convicted of a felony under federal or state law; 
- convicted of a violation of a federal law, state law, or local ordinance concerning the sale, 

manufacture, distribution, warehousing, or transportation of an alcoholic beverage; 
- convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude; 
- convicted on two or more occasions within the previous five years, driving under the influence of 

alcohol, a drug, or the combined influence of alcohol and a drug. 

 
RELEASE 

 
I hereby authorize the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) to investigate my criminal history records to 
ascertain any and all information which may be pertinent to my qualifications as an applicant with the DABC.  The 
release of any and all information is authorized whether it is of record or not, and I do hereby release all persons, firms, 
agencies, companies, groups or installations, whomsoever, from any damages of or resulting from, furnishing such 
information to the DABC.  I further agree that a copy of this release will remain in my application file. 
 
 
 

  ____________________________________      ________________________/_________ 
   Name  (please print; last, first, middle initial)       Driver License# or ID card# / state issued 
 
 
 
    ___________________________________         _________________________________
 Formerly used last names (please print)                 Name of Business 
 
 
 
   _______________________________                  __________________________________ 
   Signature                                                                 Date 
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(suggested attestation/stipulation letter to the DABC for a third-party national criminal background check) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Date: ________________________ 
 
To whom it may concern: 
 
I, _____________________________, attest: 
 
1.  That I have submitted to the DABC the necessary fingerprint card(s) required for the application and 
consented to the fingerprint criminal background check(s). 
 
2.  That I am not aware of any criminal conviction that would disqualify me from applying for and 
holding a Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control license or permit. 
 
I stipulate that if a criminal history report shows a criminal conviction that would disqualify me from 
holding the license, permit, or package agency, I shall immediately surrender the license, permit, or 
package agency to the department. 
 
I am enclosing a national criminal history background report from a third party background check 
reporting service. 
   
 
 
 
_____________________________________ 
Signature 
 
 
_____________________________________ 
Name/Title 
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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
 P.O. Box 30408 • Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 • Ph: 801-977-6800 • Fax: 801-977-6889 

website: www.abc.utah.gov 
 

Beer Wholesaling License Summary 
Note: This is general information only and should not be considered conclusive.  For further detail, please consult Title 

32B of the Utah Code (http://le.utah.gov/UtahCode/chapter.jsp?code=32B) or the Rules of the Commission 
(http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081.htm) 

 
A beer wholesaling license allows for the import, purchase, storage, sale and distribution of beer (not to exceed 
3.2% alcohol by weight or 4.0% alcohol by volume).  The license holder may; purchase and import beer into 
Utah, store beer in approved warehouses, and sell and distribute beer directly to licensed beer retailers and 
holders of single event permits or temporary special event beer permits.  Licenses run from January 1 to 
December 31. 
 
Beer Purchases 
License holders may only:  
$ purchase beer from brewers licensed in Utah, or 
$ import/purchase beer from brewers located outside Utah who hold a certificate of approval from the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC). 
 
Beer Sales 
$ Sales may only be made to licensed retailers or holders of temporary special event permits. 
$ A beer wholesaler may not sell or distribute an alcoholic beverage that has not has its label approved by the 
department under 32B-1, Part 6, Malted Beverages Act. 
 
Geographical Area 
$ A beer wholesaler must designate its authorized geographical area for sales and distribution of beer 
(assigned by its suppliers). 
$ The wholesaler may only sell and distribute beer to retailers within its authorized geographical area. 
$ If a beer wholesaler is temporarily unable to supply retailers within its area, the DABC may grant temporary 
authority for another wholesaler to supply the same brands of beer. 
 
Beer Storage 
$ A beer wholesaler must own, lease, or otherwise control and maintain a warehouse facility within Utah. 
$ The facility must be approved by and a current floor plan kept on file with the DABC. 
$  Beer must be physically removed from the vehicle used to transport the beer from the supplier into the beer 
wholesaler=s warehouse before it may be distributed and sold. 
 
Minors 
A minor may not be: 
$ granted a beer wholesaling license; or 
$ employed to handle beer. 
 
Samples 
Samples of beer may be provided to retailers under the following circumstances: 
$ The retailer has not purchased the brand within the last 12 months; and 
$ Not more than three gallons of any brand may be given to a retailer, except that if a particular product is not 
available in a size within the 3 gallon limit, the next larger size may be provided. 
 
Trade Practices 
The following is a brief summary. For more detail, consult the “Trade Practices Act” Title 32B-4 Part 7, and the 
“Utah Beer Industry Distribution Act” 32B-14 U.C.A. 
Beer wholesalers may not: 
$ directly or indirectly hold a brewery license or a beer retailer license; 
$ induce or coerce any retailer to engage in illegal conduct; 
$ prohibit a retailer from selling the product of any other wholesaler; 
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$ fix the price at which the retailer may resell beer; 
$ require any retailer to take delivery of any product not voluntarily ordered; 
$ restrict the right of a retailer to participate in an organization representing the interests of retailers; 
$ require a retailer to participate in or contribute to any advertising fund or promotional activity; 
$ retaliate against a retailer that files a complaint with the DABC or a federal agency against the wholesaler; 
$ refuse to deliver beer to a properly licensed retailer unless: 

$ the retailer refuses to pay the wholesaler, or 
$ there are other circumstances that prevent delivery such as a strike, embargo, bona fide shortage of 
materials, or unforeseeable events beyond the control of the wholesaler; 

$ induce a retailer to purchase beer to the exclusion in whole or in part of any beer products sold by other 
persons by: 

$ violating the provisions of the tied house restrictions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (see 
section 32B-4 703, 704, and 705 U.C.A.), such as: 

$ providing certain things of value to a licensed retailer, such as equipment, supplies, signs, 
services, paid advertising, money, etc., subject to certain exceptions; 
$ guaranteeing any loan or repayment of any financial obligation of a retailer; 
$ extending credit for a period in excess of 15 days.  Payment must be received in cash or its 
equivalent by the 25th of the month if sold between the 1st and 15th of the month, or by 10th of the 
succeeding month if sold from the 16th through end of the month; 

$ violate the commercial bribery prohibitions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (see section 32B-4-706 
U.C.A.). 
$ violate the consignment sales prohibitions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (see section 32B-4-707 
U.C.A.). 
 
Prohibitions Involving Consumers 
A wholesaler may not: 
$ give away any of its alcoholic products except as samples to the extent indicated above, or to the extent 
authorized by section 32B-4-708 U.C.A.); 
$ engage in a promotional scheme that requires the purchase or consumption of beer in order to participate; 
$ give away things of value, such as money, prizes, rebates, or refunds based on the purchase, display, use, 
sale, or consumption of beer; 
$ sponsor or underwrite any athletic, theatrical, scholastic, artistic, or scientific event that; 

$ overtly promotes the consumption of beer; 
$ offers beer to the general public without charge; or 
$ takes place on the premises of a school, college, university, or educational institution. 
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TITLE 32B -  ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL ACT 
 CHAPTER 13 

BEER WHOLESALING LICENSE ACT 
Effective July 1, 2011 

 
Part 1 

General Provisions 
subsection 
32B-13-101 Title 
32B-13-102 Definitions 
 

Part 2 
Beer Wholesaling License Process 

 
32B-13-201 Commission's power to issue beer wholesaling license 
32B-13-202 Application requirements for beer wholesaling license. 
32B-13-203 Renewal requirements for beer wholesaling license 
32B-13-204 Specific qualifications for beer wholesaling license 
32B-13-205 Commission and department duties before issuing beer wholesaling license 
32B-13-206 Bond for a beer wholesaling license 
 

Part 3 
Operational Requirements for Beer Wholesaling License 

 
32B-13-301 General operational requirements for beer wholesaling license. 
32B-13-302 Notifying the department of a change of ownership 
 
 

Part 1 
General Provisions 

 
32B-13-101.   Title. 
This chapter is known as the "Beer Wholesaling License Act."       
  
32B-13-102.   Definitions. 
Reserved 
 

Part 2 
Beer Wholesaling License Process 

 
32B-13-201.   Commission's power to issue beer wholesaling license. 
(1) (a)  Before a person may purchase, store, sell, offer for sale, distribute, or import beer to a person who sells 
at retail or acts in any way as a beer wholesaler, the person shall first obtain a beer wholesaling license issued 
by the commission in accordance with this chapter. 

 (b)  A violation of Subsection (1)(a) is a class A misdemeanor. 
  
(2) (a)  The commission may issue a beer wholesaling license for the purchase, storage, sale, 
distribution, transportation, and import of beer. 
 (b)  A beer wholesaling license entitles the beer wholesaler licensee to: 
  (i)  purchase and import beer into the state; 
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  (ii)  store beer in an approved warehouse; and 
  (iii)  sell and distribute beer directly to: 
   (A)  a beer retailer; or 
   (B)  an event permittee. 
  
(3)  Nothing in this section precludes a small brewer from selling beer the small brewer 
manufactures directly to: 
 (a)  a retail licensee; 
 (b)  an off-premise beer retailer; or 
 (c)  an event permittee. 
  
32B-13-202.   Application requirements for beer wholesaling license. 
To obtain a beer wholesaling license, a person shall submit to the department: 
(1)  a written application in a form prescribed by the department; 
  
(2)  a nonrefundable $300 application fee; 
  
(3)  an initial license fee of $2,300 that is refundable if a beer wholesaling license is not issued; 
  
(4)  written consent of the local authority; 
  
(5)  a copy of the person's current business license; 
  
(6)  a bond as specified in Section 32B-13-206; 
  
(7)  a statement of the brands of beer the person is authorized to sell and distribute; 
  
(8)  a statement of the one or more sales territories in which the person is authorized to sell and 
distribute beer under an agreement required by Section 32B-11-201 or 32B-11-503; 
  
(9)  evidence that the person is carrying public liability insurance in an amount and form 
satisfactory to the department; 
  
(10)  a signed consent form stating that the beer wholesaling licensee will permit any authorized 
representative of the commission, department, or any law enforcement officer to have 
unrestricted right to enter the licensed premises; 
  
(11)  if the person is an entity, proper verification evidencing that a person who signs the 
application is authorized to sign on behalf of the entity; and 
  
(12)  any other information that the commission or department may require. 
  
32B-13-203.   Renewal requirements for beer wholesaling license. 
(1)  A beer wholesaling license expires on December 31 of each year. 
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(2)  To renew a beer wholesaling license, a person shall submit to the department by no later than 
November 30 of the year the license expires: 
 (a)  a completed renewal application in a form prescribed by the department; and 
 (b)  a renewal fee in the following amount: 

 Case Sales in Previous License Year for the Licensee Renewal Fee 

  under 500,000 cases $1,200 

  equals or exceeds 500,000 cases but less than 1,000,000 cases $2,350 

  equals or exceeds 1,000,000 cases $3,500. 

  
(3)  Failure to meet the renewal requirements results in an automatic forfeiture of the beer 
wholesaling license effective on the date the existing beer wholesaling license expires. 
 
32B-13-204Specific qualifications for beer wholesaling license. 
(1)  The commission may not issue a beer wholesaling license to a person who: 
 (a)  is disqualified under Section 32B-1-304; or 
 (b)  does not meet any applicable federal requirement for beer wholesaling. 
  
(2) (a)  The commission may not issue one of the following licenses to a beer wholesaler licensee 
simultaneously with the beer wholesaling license, and a beer wholesaler licensee may not, 
directly or indirectly, hold, through a wholly or partially owned subsidiary or otherwise, one of 
the following licenses: 
  (i)  a brewery manufacturing license; or 
  (ii)  a beer retailer license. 
 (b)  The commission may not issue to a beer retailer, and a beer retailer, directly or 
indirectly, may not hold, through a wholly or partially owned subsidiary or otherwise, a beer 
wholesaling license. 
  
(3)  If a person to whom a beer wholesaling license is issued under this chapter no longer 
possesses the qualifications required by this title for obtaining that beer wholesaling license, the 
commission may suspend or revoke that beer wholesaling license.  
  
32B-13-205.   Commission and department duties before issuing beer wholesaling license. 
(1) (a)  Before the commission may issue a beer wholesaling license, the department shall 
conduct an investigation and may hold public hearings to gather information and make 
recommendations to the commission as to whether a beer wholesaling license should be issued. 
 (b)  The department shall forward the information and recommendations described in 
Subsection (1)(a) to the commission to aid in the commission's determination. 
  
(2)  Before issuing a beer wholesaling license, the commission shall: 
 (a)  determine that the person filed a complete application and is in compliance with 
Sections 32B-13-202 and 32B-13-204; 
 (b)  determine that the person is not disqualified under Section 32B-1-304; 
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 (c)  consider the physical characteristics of the licensed premises where it is proposed that 
beer be stored by the person, such as: 
  (i)  location; 
  (ii)  proximity to transportation; and 
  (iii)  condition, size, and security of the licensed premises; 
 (d)  consider the person's ability to manage and operate a beer wholesaling operation, 
including: 
  (i)  management experience; 
  (ii)  past wholesaling experience; 
  (iii)  the brands the person intends to wholesale; and 
  (iv)  the means the person intends to use to distribute beer; and 
 (e)  consider any other factor that the commission considers necessary. 
  
32B-13-206.   Bond for a beer wholesaling license. 
(1) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee shall post a cash bond or surety bond in the penal sum of 
$10,000 payable to the department. 
 (b)  A beer wholesaler licensee shall procure and maintain a bond required by this section 
for as long as the beer wholesaler licensee continues to operate as a beer wholesaler licensee. 
  
(2)  A bond posted under this section shall be: 
 (a)  in a form approved by the attorney general; and 
 (b)  conditioned upon a beer wholesaler licensee's faithful compliance with this title and 
the rules of the commission. 
  
(3)  If a surety bond posted by a beer wholesaler licensee under this section is canceled due to a 
beer wholesaler licensee's negligence, the department may assess a $300 reinstatement fee. 
  
(4)  No part of a bond posted under this section may be withdrawn during the period the beer 
wholesaling license is in effect. 
  
(5) (a)  A bond posted under this section by a beer wholesaler licensee may be forfeited if the 
beer wholesaling license is revoked. 
 (b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(a), the department may make a claim against a bond 
posted by a beer wholesaler licensee for money owed the department under this title without the 
commission first revoking the beer wholesaling license. 
 

Part 3 
Operational Requirements for Beer Wholesaling License 

 
32B-13-301General operational requirements for beer wholesaling license. 
(1) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee and staff of the beer wholesaler licensee shall comply with 
this title and the rules of the commission. 
 (b)  Failure to comply as provided in Subsection (1)(a) may result in disciplinary action 
in accordance with Chapter 3, Disciplinary Actions and Enforcement Act, against: 
  (i)  a beer wholesaler licensee; 
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  (ii)  individual staff of a beer wholesaler licensee; or 
  (iii)  both a beer wholesaler licensee and staff of the beer wholesaler licensee. 
  
(2) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee shall make and maintain the records required by the 
department. 
 (b)  Section 32B-1-205 applies to a record required to be made or maintained in 
accordance with this Subsection (2). 
  
(3)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not employ a minor to handle an alcoholic product. 
  
(4)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not sell, transfer, assign, exchange, barter, give, or attempt 
in any way to dispose of the beer wholesaling license to a person, whether for monetary gain or 
not, unless it is done: 
 (a)  in accordance with the commission rules; and 
 (b)  after written consent is given by the commission. 
  
(5)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not wholesale a beer manufactured within the state by a 
brewer who is not licensed by the commission as a brewery manufacturing licensee. 
  
(6)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not wholesale a beer manufactured out of state by a brewer 
who has not obtained a certificate of approval from the department. 
  
(7) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not sell or distribute beer to a person within the state 
except to: 
  (i)  a retail licensee; 
  (ii)  an off-premise beer retailer; or 
  (iii)  an event permittee. 
 (b)  A violation of this Subsection (7) is a class A misdemeanor. 
  
(8) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not sell or distribute a beer to a person who sells the beer 
at retail outside of a sales territory designated on its application and authorized by an agreement 
described in Subsection 32B-13-202(8), except that if a beer wholesaler licensee is temporarily 
unable to supply a person within the beer wholesaler licensee's authorized sales territory, the 
department may grant temporary authority to another beer wholesaler licensee who distributes 
the same brand in another sales territory to supply: 
  (i)  a retail licensee; or 
  (ii)  an off-premise beer retailer. 
 (b)  A violation of this Subsection (8) is a class B misdemeanor. 
  
(9) (a)  A beer wholesaler licensee shall own, lease, or otherwise control and maintain a 
warehouse facility located in this state for the receipt, storage, and further distribution of beer 
sold by the beer wholesaler licensee to a person within the state. 
 (b)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not sell beer to a person in this state, other than the 
department, unless the beer is first: 
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  (i)  physically removed from the vehicle used to transport the beer from the 
supplier to the beer wholesaler licensee; and 
  (ii)  delivered into the actual possession and control of the beer wholesaler 
licensee in its warehouse or other facility. 
  
(10)  A beer wholesaler licensee may not sell or distribute an alcoholic product that has not had 
its label and packaging approved by the department in accordance with Chapter 1, Part 6, Malted 
Beverage Act. 
  
(11)  The commission may prescribe by policy or rule, consistent with this title, the general 
operational requirements of a beer wholesaling licensee relating to: 
 (a)  physical facilities; and 
 (b)  the conditions of importation, purchase, storage, sale, offering for sale, distribution, 
or transportation of beer within the state.  
  
32B-13-302.   Notifying the department of a change of ownership. 
The commission may suspend or revoke a beer wholesaling license if a beer wholesaler licensee 
does not immediately notify the department of change in: 
(1)  ownership of the beer wholesaler licensee; 
  
(2)  for a corporate owner, the: 
 (a)  corporate officers or directors; or 
 (b)  shareholders holding at least 20% of the total issued and outstanding stock of the 
corporation; or 
  
(3)  for a limited liability company: 
 (a)  managers; or 
 (b)  members owning at least 20% of the limited liability company.  
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Part 1 
General Provisions 

 
32B-14-101.   Title -- Legislative intent. 
(1)  This chapter is known as the "Utah Beer Industry Distribution Act." 
  
(2) (a)  It is the policy of the Legislature to regulate and control the importation, sale, and 
distribution of beer within the state in the exercise of its powers under the Twenty-first 
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States and pursuant to the Utah Constitution. 
  
 
 (b)  In furtherance of the policy described in Subsection (2)(a), this chapter is enacted to: 
  (i)  promote good faith and fair dealing in the business relationships between 
suppliers, wholesalers, and retailers of beer; and 
  (ii)  provide for the establishment and maintenance of an orderly system for the 
distribution of beer in accordance with the laws of the state regulating the sale and distribution of 
beer to the public.  
32B-14-102.   Definitions. 
As used in this chapter: 
(1)  "Affected party" means a supplier or wholesaler who is a party to a distributorship 
agreement that a terminating party seeks to terminate or not renew. 
  
(2) (a)  "Distributorship agreement" means a written agreement between a supplier and a 
wholesaler pursuant to which the wholesaler has the right to purchase, resell, and distribute in a 
designated geographical area any brand of beer manufactured, imported, or distributed by the 
supplier. 
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 (b)  For purposes of this chapter, a separate agreement between a supplier and a 
wholesaler is considered to be part of a distributorship agreement if it relates to: 
  (i)  the relationship between the supplier and the wholesaler; or 
  (ii)  the duties of either the supplier or the wholesaler under a distributorship 
agreement. 
  
(3)  "Good cause" means the material failure by a supplier or a wholesaler to comply with an 
essential, reasonable, and lawful requirement imposed by a distributorship agreement if the 
failure occurs after the supplier or wholesaler acting in good faith provides notice of deficiency 
and an opportunity to correct in accordance with Part 2, Termination. 
  
(4)  "Good faith" is as defined in Subsection 70A-1a-201(2)(t). 
  
(5)  "Retailer" means a beer retailer. 
  
(6)  "Sales territory" means the geographic area of distribution and sale responsibility designated 
by a distributorship agreement. 
  
(7)  "Supplier," notwithstanding Section 32B-1-102, means a brewer or other person who sells 
beer to a wholesaler for resale in this state. 
  
(8)  "Terminating party" means a supplier or wholesaler who: 
 (a)  is a party to a distributorship agreement; and 
 (b)  seeks to terminate or not renew the distributorship agreement. 
  
32B-14-103.   Modifying statutory requirements not permitted. 
(1)  Nothing in this chapter is intended to restrict the right of a supplier to contractually require 
its wholesaler to comply with the supplier's operational standards of performance that are: 
 (a)  consistent with this chapter; and 
 (b)  uniformly established for its wholesalers according to the supplier's good faith 
business judgment. 
  
(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), the requirements of this chapter may not be modified by 
agreement. 
  
(3)  An agreement that by its terms modifies the requirements of this chapter is void and 
unenforceable to the extent it attempts to modify the requirements of this chapter. 
  

Part 2 
Terminations 

 
32B-14-201.   Termination of distributorship agreements. 
(1)  Except as provided in Subsection (2) or (3), a supplier or wholesaler may not: 
 (a)  terminate a distributorship agreement; or 
 (b)  fail to renew a distributorship agreement. 
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(2)  A supplier or wholesaler may take an action prohibited by Subsection (1) if: 
 (a)  the supplier or wholesaler has good cause for the action; and 
 (b)  if notification is required by Section 32B-14-202: 
  (i)  the terminating party provides the affected party prior notification in 
accordance with Section 32B-14-202; and 
  (ii)  the affected party has not eliminated the reasons specified in the notification 
as the reasons for the action within 90 days after the date the notification is mailed in accordance 
with Section 32B-14-202. 
  
(3)  A supplier may take an action prohibited by Subsection (1) if: 
 (a)  the supplier gives the wholesaler 30 days written notice before termination or 
nonrenewal; 
 (b)  the supplier discontinues production or discontinues distribution throughout the state 
of all brands of beer sold by the supplier to the wholesaler; and 
 (c)  the termination or nonrenewal does not violate the distributorship agreement. 
  
32B-14-202.   Notice of termination. 
(1)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a terminating party may not take an action described in 
Subsection 32B-14-201(1) unless the terminating party provides prior notification in accordance 
with Subsection (2) to the affected party. 
  
(2) (a)  A terminating party shall provide the notification required under Subsection (1): 
  (i)  in writing; 
  (ii)  by registered mail, return receipt requested; and 
  (iii)  to the affected party not less than 90 days before the date on which the 
distributorship agreement will be terminated or not renewed. 
  
 (b)  A terminating party shall state in the notification required under Subsection (1): 
  (i)  the intention to terminate or not renew; 
  (ii)  the reasons for the termination or nonrenewal; and 
  (iii)  the date, not less than 90 days from the date of mailing, on which the 
termination or nonrenewal shall take effect if the reasons for the action are not eliminated by that 
date. 
  
(3)  A supplier or wholesaler may take an action described in Subsection 32B-14-201(1) without 
furnishing prior notification if: 
 (a)  the affected party is insolvent, bankrupt, in dissolution, or in liquidation; 
 (b)  the affected party makes an assignment for the benefit of creditors or similar 
disposition of substantially all of the assets of the affected party's business; or 
 (c)  the affected party or a person owning more than 10% of the stock or other ownership 
interest in the affected party: 
  (i)  is convicted of, pleads guilty to, or pleads no contest to a felony under federal 
law or a law of this state that in the reasonable, good faith judgment of the terminating party 
materially and adversely affects the good will or business of the terminating party; 



Effective July 1, 2011 v7.18 Page 21 of 63 
 

  (ii)  has its license or permit revoked or suspended for a period of 31 days or 
more; or 
  (iii)  engages in intentional fraudulent conduct in its dealings with the terminating 
party that in the reasonable, good faith judgment of the terminating party materially and 
adversely affects the good will or business of the terminating party. 
  
(4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(c)(i), a supplier may not take an action under Subsection 
(3)(c)(i) because of a conviction or plea by an owner of the affected party, if: 
 (a)  any other approved owner of the affected party purchases the ownership interest of 
the offending owner; 
 (b)  the offending owner was not materially involved in the management of the affected 
party; and 
 (c)  the purchase described in Subsection (4)(a) is completed within 90 days after the 
conviction or plea. 
  
(5)  Subsection (3)(c)(iii) does not apply to conduct by a non-owner employee or representative 
of the affected party if the conduct occurred without the prior knowledge or consent of an owner 
of the affected party. 
 

Part 3 
Operational Provisions 

  
32B-14-301.   Distributorship agreements in general. 
A distributorship agreement may be for a definite or indefinite period. 
  
32B-14-302.   Prohibited conduct of supplier. 
(1)  A supplier may not: 
 (a)  induce or coerce, or attempt to induce or coerce, a wholesaler to engage in an illegal 
act or course of conduct; 
 (b)  impose a requirement that is discriminatory by its terms or in the methods of 
enforcement as compared to requirements imposed by the supplier on similarly situated 
wholesalers; 
 (c)  prohibit a wholesaler from selling a product of another supplier; 
 (d)  fix or maintain the price at which a wholesaler may resell beer; 
 (e)  fail to execute with each wholesaler of its brands a written distributorship agreement; 
 (f)  require a wholesaler to accept delivery of beer or any other item that is not voluntarily 
ordered by the wholesaler; 
 (g)  restrict or inhibit, directly or indirectly, the right of a wholesaler to participate in an 
organization representing interests of wholesalers for a lawful purpose; 
 (h)  require a wholesaler to participate in or contribute to a local, regional, or national 
advertising fund or other promotional activity that: 
  (i)  is not used for an advertising or promotional activity in the wholesaler's sales 
territory; or 
  (ii)  would require a contribution by the wholesaler in excess of the amounts 
specified in the distributorship agreement; 
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 (i)  retaliate against a wholesaler that files a complaint with the department or the 
applicable federal agency regarding an alleged violation by the supplier of a state or federal 
statute or administrative rule; 
 (j)  require without good cause a change in the manager of a wholesaler who has 
previously been approved by the supplier; 
 (k)  if a wholesaler changes its approved manager, prohibit the change unless the new 
manager fails to meet the reasonable standards for similarly situated wholesalers of the supplier 
as stated in the distributorship agreement; or 
 (l)  refuse to deliver a beer product covered by a distributorship agreement to the 
wholesaler: 
  (i)  in a reasonable quantity; and 
  (ii)  within a reasonable time after receipt of the wholesaler's order. 
  
(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(l), the supplier may refuse to deliver a beer product if the 
refusal is due to: 
 (a)  the wholesaler's failure to pay the supplier pursuant to the distributorship agreement; 
 (b)  an unforeseeable event beyond the supplier's control; 
 (c)  a work stoppage or delay due to a strike or labor problem; 
 (d)  a bona fide shortage of materials; or 
 (e)  a freight embargo. 
  
32B-14-303.   Prohibited conduct of wholesaler. 
(1)  A wholesaler may not: 
 (a)  induce or coerce, or attempt to induce or coerce, a retailer to engage in an illegal act 
or course of conduct; 
 (b)  impose a requirement that is discriminatory by its terms or in the methods of 
enforcement as compared to requirements imposed by the wholesaler on similarly situated 
retailers; 
 (c)  prohibit a retailer from selling a product of another wholesaler; 
 (d)  fix or maintain the price at which a retailer may resell beer; 
  
 (e)  require a retailer to accept delivery of beer or any other item that is not voluntarily 
ordered by the retailer; 
 (f)  restrict or inhibit, directly or indirectly, the right of a retailer to participate in an 
organization representing interests of retailers for a lawful purpose; 
 (g)  require a retailer to participate in or contribute to a local, regional, or national 
advertising fund or other promotional activity; 
 (h)  retaliate against a retailer that files a complaint with the department or the applicable 
federal agency regarding an alleged violation by the wholesaler of a state or federal statute or 
administrative rule; and 
 (i)  refuse to deliver a beer product carried by the wholesaler to a properly licensed 
retailer who resides within the wholesaler's sales territory: 
  (i)  in a reasonable quantity; and 
  (ii)  within a reasonable time after receipt of the retailer's order. 
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(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(i), the wholesaler may refuse to deliver a beer product if the 
refusal is due to: 
 (a)  the retailer's failure to pay the wholesaler pursuant to Subsection 32B-4-704(6); 
 (b)  an unforeseeable event beyond the wholesaler's control; 
 (c)  a work stoppage or delay due to a strike or labor problem; 
 (d)  a bona fide shortage of materials; or 
 (e)  a freight embargo. 
  
32B-14-304.   Sale or transfer of business assets or ownership. 
(1)  Without the prior written approval of a sale or transfer by the supplier: 
 (a)  a wholesaler may not sell or transfer its business, or any portion of its business, 
including the distributorship agreement, to a successor in interest; and 
 (b)  the owner of an interest in a wholesaler may not sell or transfer all or part of the 
owner's interest in the wholesaler to a successor in interest. 
  
(2)  A supplier may not unreasonably withhold or delay its approval of a sale or transfer, 
including the wholesaler's rights and obligations under the terms of the distributorship 
agreement, if the person to be substituted meets reasonable standards that are imposed: 
 (a)  by the supplier pursuant to the distributorship agreement; and 
 (b)  on other wholesalers of that supplier of the same general class, taking into account 
the size and location of the sales territory and market to be served. 
  
(3)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), a wholesaler may not violate Subsection 32B-13-301(8). 
  
32B-14-305.   Sale or transfer of supplier's business. 
(1) (a)  For purposes of this section, "successor" means a supplier who obtains a distribution 
right of a brand that a wholesaler distributes in this state pursuant to a distributorship agreement 
with another supplier who previously had the distribution rights of the brand. 
 (b)  For purposes of Subsection (1)(a), the successor may obtain a distribution right: 
  (i)  by any means, including: 
   (A)  merger; 
   (B)  purchase of corporate shares; or 
   (C)  purchase of assets; and 
  (ii)  from: 
   (A)  a supplier; or 
   (B)  a person acting in an official capacity who is not a supplier including 
a nominee, representative, or fiduciary. 
  
(2) (a)  A successor to a supplier that acquires a supplier's product or brand in this state is bound 
by the terms and conditions of each distributorship agreement with a wholesaler in this state that 
was in effect on the date on which the successor receives the assets or rights of the previous 
supplier. 
 (b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(a), if the requirements of Subsection (2)(c) are met, a 
successor may contractually require the wholesaler to: 
  (i)  execute a new distributorship agreement; and 
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  (ii)  comply with the successor's operational standards of performance. 
 (c)  A successor may impose a requirement under Subsection (2)(b) if: 
  (i)  the operational standards of performance being required are consistent with 
this chapter; 
  (ii)  the operational standards of performance being required are uniformly 
imposed by the successor on similarly situated wholesalers; and 
  (iii)  the successor provides the wholesaler at least one year to: 
   (A)  execute a new distributorship agreement; and 
   (B)  comply with the operational standards of performance. 
  

 
 

Part 4 
Remedies 

 
32B-14-401.   Reasonable compensation -- Arbitration. 
(1) (a)  If a supplier violates Section 32B-14-201 or 32B-14-304, the supplier is liable to the 
wholesaler for the sum of: 
  (i)  the laid-in cost of inventory of the affected brands; and 
  (ii)  any diminution in the fair market value of the wholesaler's business with 
relation to an affected brand. 
 (b)  In determining fair market value, consideration shall be given to all elements of 
value, including good will and going concern value. 
  
(2) (a)  A distributorship agreement may require that any or all disputes between a supplier and a 
wholesaler be submitted to binding arbitration. 
 (b)  In the absence of an applicable arbitration provision in a distributorship agreement, 
either the supplier or the wholesaler may request arbitration if a supplier and a wholesaler are 
unable to mutually agree on: 
  (i)  whether good cause exists for termination or nonrenewal; 
 
  (ii)  whether the supplier unreasonably withheld approval of a sale or transfer 
under Section 32B-14-304; or 
  (iii)  the reasonable compensation to be paid for the value of the wholesaler's 
business in accordance with Subsection (1). 
 (c)  If a supplier or wholesaler requests arbitration under Subsection (2)(b) and the other 
party agrees to submit the matter to arbitration, an arbitration panel shall be created with the 
following members: 
  (i)  one member selected by the supplier in a writing delivered to the wholesaler 
within 10 business days of the date arbitration was requested under Subsection (2)(b); 
  (ii)  one member selected by the wholesaler in a writing delivered to the supplier 
within 10 business days of the date arbitration was requested under Subsection (2)(b); and 
  (iii)  one member selected by the two arbitrators appointed under Subsections 
(2)(c)(i) and (ii). 
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 (d)  If the arbitrators fail to choose a third arbitrator under Subsection (2)(c)(iii) within 10 
business days of the day on which the arbitrators under Subsections (2)(c)(i) and (ii) are selected, 
a judge of a district court in the county in which the wholesaler's principal place of business is 
located shall select the third arbitrator. 
 (e)  Arbitration costs shall be divided equally between the wholesaler and the supplier. 
 (f)  The award of the arbitration panel is binding on the parties unless appealed within 20 
days from the date of the award. 
 (g)  Subject to the requirements of this chapter, arbitration and a proceeding on appeal are 
governed by Title 78B, Chapter 11, Utah Uniform Arbitration Act. 
  
32B-14-402.   Judicial remedies. 
(1)  A supplier or wholesaler who is a party to a distributorship agreement may maintain a civil 
action against the supplier or wholesaler in a court of competent jurisdiction in the county in 
which the wholesaler's principal place of business is located if: 
 (a)  the supplier or wholesaler violates this chapter; or 
 (b) (i)  the supplier and wholesaler are not able to mutually agree on reasonable 
compensation under Section 32B-14-401; and 
  (ii)  the parties do not agree to submit the matter to arbitration in accordance with 
Section 32B-14-401 before or within 20 days following service of process on the electing party 
in the civil action. 
  
(2) (a)  The prevailing party in an action under Subsection (1) shall recover: 
  (i)  actual damages, including the value of the wholesaler's business as specified 
in Section 32B-14-401 if applicable; and 
  (ii)  reasonable attorney fees and court costs. 
 (b)  In addition to the amount awarded under Subsection (2)(a), the court may grant such 
relief in law or equity as the court determines to be necessary or appropriate considering the 
purposes of this chapter. 
  
(3)  If either party elects arbitration under Subsection (1)(b)(ii) following service of process, the 
civil action is stayed pending a decision by the arbitration panel. 
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R81.       Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration.   
R81-11.  Beer Wholesalers. 
 
R81-11-1.  Application. (proposed) 
 An application for a beer wholesaler license shall be 
included in the agenda of the monthly commission meeting for 
consideration for issuance of a beer wholesaler license when the 
requirements of Section [32A-11-102, -103 and -105] 32B-1-304 and 
32B-13-202, -204 and -206 have been met, and a completed 
application has been received by the department. 
 
R81-11-2.  Transfer of License. (existing) 
 The holder of one or more wholesaler licenses may assign and transfer the license to any 
qualified person in accordance with the provisions of these rules.  However, no assignment and 
transfer may result in both a change of license and change of location. 
 
R81-11-3.  Conditions of Transfer. (proposed) 
 (1)  The holder of the wholesaler license shall first 
execute a proposed assignment and transfer of the license.  The 
assignee/transferee shall apply to the commission for approval of 
the assignment and transfer, and shall furnish any information 
the commission may require. 
 (2)  The assignment and transfer shall not be of any force 
and effect until the commission has approved it. 
 (3)  The assignee/transferee shall not take possession of 
the premises, or exercise any of the rights of a license until 
the commission has approved the assignment and transfer. 
 (4)  No assignment and transfer shall be made within thirty 
days after the holder of a wholesaler license has been granted a 
change of location. 
 (5)  No change of location shall be granted within ninety 
days after assignment and transfer of a wholesaler license. 
 (6)  In approving any assignment and transfer of a 
wholesaler license, the commission may impose special conditions 
relating to any future connection of the former licensee or any 
of his employees with the business of the assignee or transferee. 
 (a) Prior to the imposition of any special conditions, the 
commission shall hold a hearing to allow the former licensee or 
any of his employees to attend and provide information to the 
commission. 
 (b)  The commission shall provide written notice to all 
parties involved at least ten days prior to the hearing. 
 (7) No wholesaler license may be assigned to any person who 
does not qualify for the license under Sections [32A-11-102, and 
-103]32B-1-304 and 32B-13-202 and -204. 
 
R81-11-4.  Change of Trade Name. (existing) 
 A change of trade name may coincide with the transfer of the wholesaler license, with the 
commission's approval.  Any licensed wholesaler may adopt a trade name or change the trade 
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name by applying to the commission on forms provided by the department and upon receiving 
the commission's approval. 
 
R81-11-5.  Change in Partners. (existing) 
 If the wholesaler licensee is a partnership, the sale of a partnership interest or any change 
in partners shall be considered an assignment and transfer of the wholesaler license held by one 
partnership within the meaning of R81-11-3.  However, if the wholesaler licensee is a 
partnership, and a partner should die dissolving the partnership, that partnership license shall 
remain in effect on a temporary basis for one month, unless or until the commission directs 
otherwise. 
 

  
TITLE 32B -  ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL ACT 

   CHAPTER 4 
CRIMINAL OFFENSES AND PROCEDURE ACT 

Effective July 1, 2011 
 

Part 1 General Provisions 
Section 
32B-4-101 Title 
32B-4-102 Definitions 
 

Part 2 Criminal Procedures 
 

32B-4-201 Applicability of Utah Code of Criminal Procedure 
32B-4-202 Duties to enforce this title. 
32B-4-203 Authority to inspect. 
32B-4-204 Arrests 
32B-4-205 Prosecutions. 
32B-4-206 Searches, seizures, forfeitures, and fines 
32B-4-207 Right of appeal 
32B-4-208 Nuisances 
32B-4-209 Lawful detention 
32B-4-210 Sentencing considerations 
 

Part 3 Criminal Offenses in General 
 
32B-4-301 Applicability of Utah Criminal Code 
32B-4-302 Criminal responsibility for conduct of another 
32B-4-303 Special burdens of proof -- Inferences and presumptions 
32B-4-304 Violation of title a misdemeanor 
32B-4-305 Additional criminal penalties 
 

Part 4 Sale, purchase, possession or consumption 
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32B-4-401 Unlawful sale or furnishing 
32B-4-402 Unauthorized sale, offer for sale, or furnishing 
32B-4-403 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to minor 
32B-4-404 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to intoxicated person 
32B-4-405 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to interdicted person 
32B-4-406 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing of an alcoholic product 
32B-4-407 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing during emergency 
32B-4-409 Unlawful purchase, possession, consumption by minor -- Measurable amounts in 

body. 
32B-4-410 Unlawful admittance or attempt to gain admittance by minor 
32B-4-411 Minor's unlawful use of proof of age 
32B-4-412 Unlawful purchase by intoxicated person 
32B-4-413 Unlawful purchase by interdicted person 
32B-4-414 Unlawful possession -- Exceptions 
32B-4-415 Unlawful bringing onto premises for consumption 
32B-4-416 Unlawful permitting of consumption by minor 
32B-4-417 Unlawful possession by licensee or permittee 
32B-4-418 Unlawful storage 
32B-4-419 Unlawful permitting of intoxication 
32B-4-420 Unlawful adulteration 
32B-4-421 Unlawful consumption in public place 
32B-4-422 Unlawful dispensing 
 

Part 5 Operations 
 
32B-4-501 Operating without a license or permit.  
32B-4-502 Storing or possessing pursuant to federal stamp 
32B-4-503 Tampering with a record 
32B-4-504 Making false statements  
32B-4-505 Obstructing a search, official proceeding, or investigation 
32B-4-508 Offering or soliciting bribe, gift, or profits 
32B-4-509 Forgery 
 

Part 6 Transportation and Distribution 
 
32B-4-601 Unlawful removal from conveyance or diversion of shipment  
32B-4-602 Unlawful transportation 
32B-4-603 Carriers' records 
 

Part 7 Trade Practices Act 
 

32B-4-701 Title 
32B-4-702 Definitions 
32B-4-703 Exclusive outlets 
32B-4-704 Tied house -- Prohibitions 
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32B-4-705 Exclusions from tied house prohibitions  
32B-4-706 Commercial bribery 
32B-4-707 Consignment sale 
32B-4-708 Unlawful act involving consumers 
 

Part 1 General Provisions 
32B-4-101.   Title. 
This chapter is known as the "Criminal Offenses and Procedure Act." 
  
32B-4-102.   Definitions. 
Reserved 
  

Part 2 Criminal Procedures 
 

32B-4-201.   Applicability of Utah Code of Criminal Procedure. 
Except as otherwise provided in this title, the procedure in a criminal case arising under this title 
is governed by Title 77, Utah Code of Criminal Procedure, and any other rules adopted by the 
Utah Supreme Court. 
  
32B-4-202.   Duties to enforce this title 
(1)  It is the duty of the following to diligently enforce this title in their respective capacities: 
 (a)  the governor; 
 (b)  a commissioner; 
 (c)  the director; 
 (d)  an official, inspector, or department employee; 
 (e)  a prosecuting official of the state or its political subdivisions; 
 (f)  a county, city, or town; 
 (g)  a peace officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, constable, marshal, or law enforcement 
official; 
 (h)  a state health official; and 
 (i)  a clerk of the court. 
  
(2)  Immediately upon conviction of a person for violation of this title or of a local ordinance 
relating to an alcoholic product, it is the duty of the clerk of the court to notify the department of 
the conviction in writing on forms supplied by the department. 
  
32B-4-203  Authority to inspect. 
 (1) (a)  This Subsection (1) applies to: 
 (i)  a commissioner; 
 (ii)  an authorized representative of the commission or department; or 
 (iii)  a law enforcement or peace officer. 
 (b)  An individual described in Subsection (1)(a): 
 (i)  shall be given access, ingress, and egress to and from premises or a conveyance used 
in the storage, sale, furnishing, manufacture, or transportation of an alcoholic product; 
 (ii)  may open a container containing, or supposed to contain, an article sold, or exposed 
for sale, held in possession, or manufactured with intent to sell in violation of this title or 
commission rules; and 
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 (iii)  may inspect the contents and take samples of the contents for analysis from a 
container described in this Subsection (1). 
 (2)  The following shall assist, when requested by a person described in Subsection (1), in 
tracing, finding, or discovering the presence of an article prohibited by this title or commission 
rules to the extent assistance would not infringe upon the person's federal and state constitutional 
rights: 
 (a)  a dealer; 
 (b)  a clerk; 
 (c)  a bookkeeper; 
 (d)  an express agent; 
 (e)  a railroad or airline official; 
 (f)  a common or other carrier; and 
 (g)  an employee of a person listed in this Subsection (2). 
  
32B-4-204.   Arrests. 
(1)  Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, an arrest of a person for a violation of this title 
shall be made in accordance with: 
 (a)  Title 77, Chapter 7, Arrest, by Whom, and How Made; and 
 (b)  Rules 6 and 7, Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure. 
  
(2)  A summons in lieu of a warrant of arrest shall be in accordance with Rule 6, Utah Rules of 
Criminal Procedure. 
  
32B-4-205.   Prosecutions 
(1) (a)  A prosecution for a violation of this title shall be in the name of the state. 
 (b)  A criminal action for violation of a county or municipal ordinance enacted in 
furtherance of this title shall be in the name of the governmental entity involved. 
  
(2) (a)  A prosecution for violation of this title shall be brought by the county attorney of the 
county or district attorney of the prosecution district where the violation occurs.  If a county 
attorney or district attorney fails to initiate or diligently pursue a prosecution authorized and 
warranted under this title, the attorney general shall exercise supervisory authority over the 
county attorney or district attorney to ensure prosecution is initiated and diligently pursued. 
 (b)  If a violation occurs within a city or town, prosecution may be brought by either the 
county, district, or city attorney, notwithstanding any provision of law limiting the powers of a 
city attorney. 
 (c)  A city or town prosecutor has the responsibility of initiating and diligently pursuing 
prosecutions for a violation of a local ordinance enacted in furtherance of this title or 
commission rules. 
  
(3) (a)  A prosecution for a violation of this title shall be commenced by the return of an 
indictment or the filing of an information with the district court of the county in which the 
offense occurs or where the premises are located upon which an alcoholic product is seized, if 
the offense involves an alcoholic product. 
 (b)  An offense prescribed by this title that is not described in Subsection (3)(a) shall be 
filed before a court having jurisdiction of the offense committed. 
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(4) (a)  Unless otherwise provided by law, an information may not be filed charging the 
commission of a felony or class A misdemeanor under this title unless authorized by a 
prosecuting attorney. 
 (b)  This Subsection (4) does not apply if the magistrate has reasonable cause to believe 
that the person to be charged may avoid apprehension or escape before approval can be obtained. 
  
(5) (a)  In describing an offense respecting the sale, keeping for sale, or other disposal of an 
alcoholic product, or the possessing, keeping, purchasing, consumption, or giving of an alcoholic 
product in an information, indictment, summons, judgment, warrant, or proceeding under this 
title, it is sufficient to state the possessing, purchasing, keeping, sale, keeping for sale, giving, 
consumption, or disposal of the alcoholic product without stating: 
  (i)  the name or kind of alcoholic product; 
  (ii)  the price of the alcoholic product; 
  (iii)  any person to whom the alcoholic product is sold or disposed of; 
  (iv)  by whom the alcoholic product is taken or consumed; or 
  (v)  from whom the alcoholic product is purchased or received. 
 (b)  It is not necessary to state the quantity of alcoholic product possessed, purchased, 
kept, kept for sale, sold, given, consumed, or disposed of, except in the case of an offense when 
the quantity is essential, and then it is sufficient to allege the sale or disposal of more or less than 
the quantity. 
  
(6)  If an offense is committed under a local ordinance enacted to carry out this title, it is 
sufficient if the charging document refers to the chapter and section of the ordinance under 
which the offense is committed. 
  
32B-4-206.   Searches, seizures, forfeitures, and fines. 
(1)  The following are subject to forfeiture pursuant to Title 24, Chapter 1, Utah Uniform 
Forfeiture Procedures Act: 
 (a)  an alcoholic product possessed, purchased, used, stored, sold, offered for sale, 
furnished, given, received, warehoused, manufactured, distributed, shipped, carried, transported, 
or adulterated in violation of this title or commission rules; 
 (b)  a container or property used or intended for use as a container for an alcoholic 
product in violation of this title or commission rules; 
 (c)  raw materials, products, and equipment used, or intended for use, in manufacturing, 
processing, delivering, importing, exporting, or adulterating an alcoholic product in violation of 
this title or commission rules; 
 (d)  implements, furniture, fixtures, or other personal property used or kept for a violation 
of this title or commission rules; 
 (e)  conveyances including an aircraft, vehicle, or vessel used or intended for use, to 
transport or in any manner facilitate the transportation, sale, receipt, possession, or concealment 
of property described in Subsection (1)(a), (b), (c), or (d); and 
 (f)  a record used or intended for use in violation of this title or commission rules. 
  
(2) (a)  Property subject to forfeiture under this title may be seized by a peace officer of this state 
or any other person authorized by law upon process issued by a court having jurisdiction over the 
property in accordance with the Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure relating to search warrants or 
administrative warrants. 
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 (b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(a), seizure without process may be made when: 
  (i)  the seizure is incident to an arrest or search under a search warrant or an 
inspection under an administrative inspection warrant; 
  (ii)  the property subject to seizure has been the subject of a prior judgment in 
favor of the state in a criminal injunction or forfeiture proceeding under this title; 
  (iii)  the peace officer or other person authorized by law has probable cause to 
believe that the property is directly or indirectly dangerous to health or safety; or 
  (iv)  the peace officer or other person authorized by law has probable cause to 
believe that the property is being or has been used, intended to be used, held, or kept in violation 
of this title or commission rules. 
  
(3)  If property is seized pursuant to a search or administrative warrant, a peace officer or other 
person authorized by law shall comply with the requirements of the Utah Rules of Criminal 
Procedure. 
  
(4) (a)  If property is seized without process: 
  (i)  the peace officer or other person authorized by law shall make a return of the 
peace officer's or person's acts without delay directly to the district court of the county in which 
the property was located; and 
  (ii)  the district court shall have jurisdiction of the case. 
 (b)  A return shall describe: 
  (i)  the property seized; 
  (ii)  the place where the property is seized; and 
  (iii)  any person in apparent possession of the property. 
 (c)  A peace officer or other person described in Subsection (4)(a) shall promptly: 
  (i)  deliver a written inventory of anything seized to any person in apparent 
authority at the premises where the seizure is made; or 
  (ii)  post a written inventory of anything seized in a conspicuous place at the 
premises. 
 (d)  A written inventory under this Subsection (4) shall state the place where the property 
is being held. 
  
(5)  Property taken or detained under this section is not repleviable but is considered in custody 
of the law enforcement agency making the seizure subject only to the orders of the court or the 
official having jurisdiction.  When property is seized under this title, the appropriate person or 
agency may: 
 (a)  place the property under seal; 
 (b)  remove the property to a place designated by: 
  (i)  the person or agency; or 
  (ii)  the warrant under which the property is seized; or 
 (c)  take custody of the property and remove the property to an appropriate location for 
disposition in accordance with law. 
  
(6)  When property is subject to forfeiture under this section, a proceeding shall be instituted in 
accordance with Title 24, Chapter 1, Utah Uniform Forfeiture Procedures Act. 
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(7)  When property is ordered forfeited under Title 24, Chapter 1, Utah Uniform Forfeiture 
Procedures Act, by a finding of a court that no person is entitled to recover the property, the 
property, if an alcohol container or product used as a container for an alcoholic product, shall be 
disposed of as follows: 
 (a)  An alcoholic product shall be sold in accordance with Section 24-1-17 if the 
alcoholic product is: 
  (i)  unadulterated, pure, and free from crude, unrectified, or impure form of 
ethylic alcohol, or any other deleterious substance or liquid; and 
  (ii)  otherwise in saleable condition. 
 (b)  If the alcoholic product is impure, adulterated, or otherwise unfit for sale, the 
department shall destroy the alcoholic product and its container under competent supervision. 
  
(8)  Except when otherwise provided, a fine or forfeiture levied under this title shall be paid to 
the county treasurer of the county in which the prosecution occurred. 
  
32B-4-207.   Right of appeal. 
In a case arising under this title, the commission or the state has the right of appeal as to a 
question of law. 
  
32B-4-208.   Nuisances. 
(1)  As used in this section, "nuisance" means: 
 (a)  a room, house, building, structure, place, aircraft, vehicle, vessel, or other 
conveyance where an alcoholic product is possessed, purchased, used, kept, stored, sold, offered 
for sale, furnished, given, received, warehoused, manufactured, distributed, shipped, carried, 
transported, or adulterated in violation of this title; or 
 (b)  an alcoholic product, container, equipment, or other property kept or used in 
maintaining an item or property described in Subsection (1)(a). 
  
(2)  A person who maintains or assists in maintaining a nuisance is guilty of a class B 
misdemeanor. 
  
(3)  If a person has knowledge that, or has reason to believe that the person's room, house, 
building, structure, place, aircraft, vehicle, vessel, or other conveyance is occupied or used as a 
nuisance, or allows it to be occupied or used as a nuisance, the nuisance property is subject to a 
lien for and may be sold to pay the fines and costs assessed against the person guilty of the 
common nuisance.  This lien may be enforced by action in a court having jurisdiction. 
  
(4) (a)  The department shall bring an action to abate a nuisance in the name of the department in 
a court having jurisdiction. 
 (b)  An action brought under this Subsection (4) is an action in equity. 
 (c)  The department may not be required to post a bond to initiate an action under this 
Subsection (4). 
 (d)  A court may issue: 
  (i)  if it appears that a nuisance exists, a temporary writ of injunction restraining 
the defendant from conducting or permitting the continuance of the nuisance until the conclusion 
of the trial; and 
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  (ii)  an order restraining the defendant and any other person from removing or 
interfering with an alcoholic product, container, equipment, or other property kept or used in 
violation of this title or commission rules. 
 (e)  In an action to abate or enjoin a nuisance, the court need not find that the property 
involved is being unlawfully used at the time of the hearing. 
 (f)  On finding that a material allegation of a petition or complaint is true, the court shall 
order that an alcoholic product may not be possessed, purchased, used, kept, stored, sold, offered 
for sale, furnished, given, received, warehoused, manufactured, distributed, shipped, carried, 
transported, or adulterated, in any portion of the room, house, building, structure, place, aircraft, 
vehicle, vessel, or other conveyance. 
 (g)  Upon judgment of a court ordering abatement of the nuisance, the court may order 
that the premises or conveyance in question may not be occupied or used for any purpose for one 
year, except under Subsection (4)(h). 
 (h)  A court may permit premises or conveyance described in Subsection (4)(g) to be 
occupied or used: 
  (i)  if its owner, lessee, tenant, or occupant gives bond in an appropriate amount 
with sufficient surety, approved by the court, payable to the state; 
  (ii)  on the condition that an alcoholic product will not be present in or on the 
premises or the conveyance; and 
  (iii)  on the condition that payment of the fines, costs, and damages assessed for 
violation of this title or commission rules will be made. 
  
(5)  If a tenant of the premises uses the premises or any part of the premises in maintaining a 
nuisance, or knowingly permits use by another, the lease is void and the right to possession 
reverts to the owner or lessor who is entitled to the remedy provided by law for forcible 
detention of the premises. 
  
(6)  A person is guilty of assisting in maintaining a nuisance as provided in Section 76-10-804, if 
that person: 
 (a)  knowingly permits a building or premises owned or leased by the person, or under 
the person's control, or any part of a building or premises, to be used in maintaining a nuisance; 
or 
 (b)  after being notified in writing by a prosecutor or other citizen of the unlawful use, 
fails to take all proper measures to: 
  (i)  abate the nuisance; or 
  (ii)  remove the one or more persons from the premises. 
  
32B-4-209.   Lawful detention. 
(1) (a)  To inform a peace officer of a suspected violation and subject to the requirements of 
Subsection (1)(c), a person described in Subsection (1)(b) may: 
  (i)  detain a person; and 
  (ii)  hold any form of identification presented by the person. 
 (b)  The following may take an action described in Subsection (1)(a): 
  (i)  a state store employee; 
  (ii)  a package agent; 
  (iii)  a licensee or permittee; 
  (iv)  a beer retailer; or 
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  (v)  staff of a person described in Subsections (1)(b)(ii) through (iv). 
 (c)  A person described in Subsection (1)(b) may take an action described in Subsection 
(1)(a) only: 
  (i)  if that person has reason to believe that the person against whom the action is 
taken is: 
   (A)  in a facility where liquor or beer is sold; and 
   (B)  in violation of Section 32B-4-409, 32B-4-412, or 32B-4-413; 
  (ii)  in a reasonable manner; and 
  (iii)  for a reasonable length of time. 
  
(2)  Unless the detention is unreasonable under all circumstances, the detention or failure to 
detain does not create criminal or civil liability for: 
 (a)  false arrest; 
 (b)  false imprisonment; 
 (c)  slander; or 
 (d)  unlawful detention. 
  
32B-4-210.   Sentencing considerations. 
(1)  In sentencing an actor for a misdemeanor violation of Section 32B-4-403 or Subsection 32B-
4-409(1), the court shall consider the elements under Subsection (2) as a mitigating factor. 
  
(2)  The mitigating factor referred to in Subsection (1) is: 
 (a)  the actor committed an offense under Subsection (1) in the course of the same event 
regarding which the actor contacted a law enforcement agency for emergency assistance for a 
person whom the actor reasonably believed was, at the time the call was made, in need of 
medical care due to having apparently consumed an excessive amount of alcohol; 
 (b)  the actor was younger than 21 years of age at the time of the offense; 
 (c)  the actor was present during the incident of alcohol consumption that resulted in the 
actor's call to law enforcement under this section, but the actor was not involved in coercing or 
encouraging the endangered person to consume alcohol; and 
 (d)  the actor was not charged with any other criminal conduct during the incident when 
the actor committed the offense listed under Subsection (1). 
 

Part 3 Criminal Offenses in General 
  
32B-4-301.   Applicability of Utah Criminal Code 
Except as otherwise provided, Title 76, Chapters 1, 2, 3, and 4, apply to the prosecution of a 
criminal offense defined in this chapter or expressly identified as a criminal offense in this title. 
  
 
 
 
32B-4-302.   Criminal responsibility for conduct of another 
In addition to Title 76, Chapter 2, Part 2, Criminal Responsibility for Conduct of Another, the 
following principles apply to a violation of this title: 
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(1) (a)  If a violation of this title is committed by a person in the employ of the occupant of 
premises in which the offense is committed, or by a person who is required by the occupant to be 
or remain in or upon the premises, or to act in any way for the occupant, notwithstanding the fact 
that the offense is committed by a person who is not proved to have committed it under or by the 
direction of the occupant, the occupant is: 
  (i)  prima facie considered a party to the offense committed; and 
  (ii)  liable as a principal offender. 
 (b)  This section does not relieve the person actually committing the offense from 
liability. 
  
(2) (a)  If a violation of this title is committed by a corporation, association, partnership, or 
limited liability company, an officer or agent of the corporation or association, a partner of the 
partnership, or a manager or member of the limited liability company in charge of the premises 
in which the offense is committed is: 
  (i)  prima facie considered a party to the offense committed; and 
  (ii)  personally liable to the penalties prescribed for the offense as a principal 
offender. 
 (b)  This section does not relieve the corporation, association, partnership, or limited 
liability company, or the person who actually committed the offense from liability. 
  
32B-4-303.   Special burdens of proof -- Inferences and presumptions 
(1)  In a prosecution of an offense defined in this title or in a proceeding brought to enforce this 
title: 
 (a)  it is not necessary that the state or commission establish: 
  (i)  the precise description or quantity of an alcoholic product; or 
  (ii)  the precise consideration, if any, given or received for an alcoholic product; 
 (b)  there is an inference, absent proof to the contrary, that an alcoholic product in 
question is an alcoholic product if the witness describes it: 
  (i)  as an alcoholic product; 
  (ii)  by a name that is commonly applied to an alcoholic product; or 
  (iii)  as intoxicating; 
 (c)  if it is alleged that an entity for which a record is required to be filed with the 
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code to be organized or conduct business in this state 
has violated this title, the fact of the entity is presumed absent proof to the contrary; 
 (d)  a record signed or purporting to be signed by a state chemist, assistant state chemist, 
or state crime laboratory chemist, as to the analysis or ingredients of an alcoholic product is: 
  (i)  prima facie evidence: 
   (A)  of the facts stated in that record; and 
   (B)  of the authority of the person giving or making the record; and 
  (ii)  admissible in evidence without proof of appointment or signature absent 
proof to the contrary; and 
 (e)  a copy of an entry made in a record of the United States internal revenue collector, 
certified by the collector or a qualified notary public, showing the payment of the United States 
internal revenue special tax for the manufacture or sale of an alcoholic product is prima facie 
evidence of the manufacture or sale by the party named in the entry within the period set forth in 
the record. 
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(2) (a)  In proving the unlawful purchase, sale, gift, or disposal, gratuitous or otherwise, or 
consumption of an alcoholic product, it is not necessary that the state or commission establish 
that money or other consideration actually passed or that an alcoholic product is actually 
consumed if the court or trier of fact is satisfied that: 
  (i)  a transaction in the nature of a purchase, sale, gift, or disposal actually occurs; 
or 
  (ii)  consumption of an alcoholic product is about to occur. 
 (b)  Proof of consumption or intended consumption of an alcoholic product on premises 
on which consumption is prohibited, by some person not authorized to consume an alcoholic 
product on those premises, is evidence that an alcoholic product is sold, given to, or purchased 
by the person consuming, about to consume, or carrying away the alcoholic product as against 
the occupant of the premises. 
  
(3)  For purposes of a provision applicable under this chapter to a retail licensee or staff of a 
retail licensee, the provision is applicable to a resort licensee or a person operating under a 
sublicense of the resort licensee. 
  
(4)  Notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, a criminal offense identified in this title 
as a criminal offense may not be enforced under this chapter if the criminal offense relates to a 
violation: 
 (a)  of a provision in this title related to intoxication or becoming intoxicated; and 
 (b)  if the violation is first investigated by a law enforcement officer, as defined in 
Section 53-13-103, who has not received training regarding the requirements of this title related 
to responsible alcoholic product sale or furnishing. 
  
32B-4-304.   Violation of title a misdemeanor. 
(1)  Unless otherwise provided in this title, a person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor if that 
person violates: 
 (a)  this chapter; or 
 (b)  a provision of this title that is expressly identified as a criminal offense. 
  
(2)  This section is not applicable to an adjudicative proceeding under Chapter 3, Disciplinary 
Actions and Enforcement Act, but only: 
 (a)  makes a violation described in Subsection (1) a criminal offense; and 
 (b)  establishes a penalty for a violation described in Subsection (1) that is prosecuted 
criminally. 
  
32B-4-305.   Additional criminal penalties 
(1) (a)  For purposes of this section, "business entity" means a corporation, partnership, 
association, limited liability company, or similar entity. 
 (b)  In addition to the penalties provided in Title 76, Chapter 3, Punishments, this section 
applies. 
  
(2)  Upon a defendant's conviction of an offense defined in this title, the court may order the 
defendant to make restitution or pay costs in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 32a, Defense 
Costs. 
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(3) (a)  Upon a business entity's conviction of an offense defined in this title, and a failure of the 
business entity to pay a fine imposed upon it: 
  (i)  if it is a domestic business entity, the powers, rights, and privileges of the 
business entity may be suspended or revoked; and 
  (ii)  if it is a foreign business entity, it forfeits its right to do intrastate business in 
this state. 
 (b)  The department shall transmit the name of a business entity described in Subsection 
(3)(a) to the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.  Upon receipt of the information, 
the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code shall immediately record the action in a 
manner that makes the information available to the public. 
 (c)  A suspension, revocation, or forfeiture under this Subsection (3) is effective from the 
day on which the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code records the information. 
 (d)  A certificate of the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code is prima facie 
evidence of a suspension, revocation, or forfeiture. 
 (e)  This section may not be construed as affecting, limiting, or restricting a proceeding 
that otherwise may be taken for the imposition of any other punishment or the modes of 
enforcement or recovery of fines or penalties. 
  
(4) (a)  Upon the conviction of a business entity required to have a business license to operate its 
business activities, or upon the conviction of any of its staff of any offense defined in this title, 
with the knowledge, consent, or acquiescence of the business entity, the department shall 
forward a copy of the judgment of conviction to the appropriate governmental entity responsible 
for issuing and revoking the business license. 
 (b)  A governmental entity that receives a copy of a judgment under this Subsection (4) 
may institute appropriate proceedings to revoke the business license. 
 (c)  Upon revocation under this Subsection (4), a governmental entity may not issue a 
business license to the business entity for at least one year from the date of revocation. 
 (d)  Upon the conviction for a second or other offense, the governmental entity may not 
issue a business license for at least two years from the date of revocation. 
  
(5) (a)  Upon conviction of one of the following of an offense defined in this title, the department 
shall forward a certified copy of the judgment of conviction to the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing: 
  (i)  a health care practitioner; or 
  (ii)  an individual licensed as a veterinarian under Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary 
Practice Act. 
 (b)  The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing may bring a proceeding in 
accordance with Title 58, Occupations and Professions, to revoke the license issued under Title 
58 of an individual described in Subsection (5)(a). 
 (c)  Upon revocation of a license under Subsection (5)(b): 
  (i)  the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing may not issue a 
license to the individual under Title 58 for at least one year from the date of revocation; and 
  (ii)  if the individual is convicted of a second or subsequent offense, the Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing may not issue a license to the individual under Title 
58 for at least two years from the date of revocation. 
  

Part 4 Sale, purchase, possession or consumption 
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32B-4-401.   Unlawful sale or furnishing. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a retail licensee, a permittee, or staff of a retail licensee or permittee to 
keep for sale, or to directly or indirectly, sell, offer for sale, or furnish to another, an alcoholic 
product, except as otherwise provided by this title. 
  
(2)  It is unlawful for a person in the business of selling liquor, a manufacturer, a supplier, an 
importer of liquor, or staff of the person, manufacturer, supplier, or importer to sell, ship, 
transport, or cause to be sold, shipped, or transported liquor from an out-of-state location directly 
or indirectly into this state except to the extent authorized by this title to: 
 (a)  the department; 
 (b)  a military installation; 
 (c)  a holder of a special use permit, to the extent authorized in the special use permit; or 
 (d)  a liquor warehouser licensee licensed to distribute and transport liquor to: 
  (i)  the department; or 
  (ii)  an out-of-state wholesaler or retailer. 
  
(3) (a)  It is unlawful for a person in the business of selling beer, a manufacturer, a supplier, an 
importer of beer, or staff of the person, manufacturer, or importer to sell, ship, transport, or cause 
to be sold, shipped, or transported beer from an out-of-state location directly or indirectly into 
this state except to the extent authorized by this title to: 
  (i)  a beer wholesaler licensee; 
  (ii)  a military installation; or 
  (iii)  a holder of a special use permit, to the extent authorized in the special use 
permit. 
 (b)  Subsection (3)(a) does not preclude a small brewer that holds a certificate of approval 
from selling, shipping, or transporting beer to the extent authorized by Subsection 32B-11-503(5) 
directly to: 
  (i)  a beer retailer; or 
  (ii)  an event permittee. 
  
(4) (a)  It is unlawful for a manufacturer, supplier, or importer of liquor in this state, or staff of 
the manufacturer, supplier, or importer to sell, ship, transport, or cause to be sold, shipped, or 
transported liquor directly or indirectly to a person in this state except to the extent authorized by 
this title to: 
  (i)  the department; 
  (ii)  a military installation; 
  (iii)  a holder of a special use permit, to the extent authorized in the special use 
permit; or 
  (iv)  a liquor warehouser licensee who is licensed to distribute and transport liquor 
to: 
   (A)  the department; or 
   (B)  an out-of-state wholesaler or retailer. 
 (b)  Subsection (4)(a) does not preclude a winery manufacturing licensee located in this 
state from selling wine to a person on its winery premises: 
  (i)  to the extent authorized by Subsection 32B-11-303(4)(c); or 
  (ii)  under a package agency issued by the commission on the winery premises. 
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(5) (a)  It is unlawful for a manufacturer, supplier, or importer of beer in this state, or staff of the 
manufacturer, supplier, or importer to sell, ship, transport, or cause to be sold, shipped, or 
transported beer directly or indirectly to a person in this state except to the extent authorized by 
this title to: 
  (i)  a beer wholesaler licensee; 
  (ii)  a military installation; or 
  (iii)  a holder of a special use permit, to the extent authorized in the special use 
permit. 
 (b)  Subsection (5)(a) does not preclude: 
  (i)  a small brewer who is a brewery manufacturing licensee located in this state 
from selling, shipping, and transporting beer to the extent authorized by Subsection 32B-11-
503(5) directly to one of the following in this state: 
   (A)  a beer retailer; or 
   (B)  an event permittee; or 
  (ii)  a brewery manufacturing licensee from selling beer to a person on its 
manufacturing premises under Subsection 32B-11-503(4)(c). 
  
(6)  It is unlawful for a person other than a person described in Subsection (2) or (3) to sell, ship, 
transport, or cause to be sold, shipped, or transported an alcoholic product from an out-of-state 
location directly or indirectly into this state, except as otherwise provided by this title. 
  
(7)  It is unlawful for a person in this state other than a person described in Subsection (4) or  
(5) to sell, ship, transport, or cause to be sold, shipped, or transported an alcoholic product 
directly or indirectly to another person in this state, except as otherwise provided by this title. 
  
(8) (a)  A violation of Subsection (1) is a class B misdemeanor, except when otherwise provided 
by this title. 
 (b)  A violation of Subsection (2), (3), (4), or (5) is a third degree felony. 
 (c)  A violation of Subsection (6) or (7) is a class B misdemeanor. 
  
32B-4-402.   Unauthorized sale, offer for sale, or furnishing. 
A person authorized by this title to sell an alcoholic product and staff of that person may not sell, 
offer for sale, or furnish, an alcoholic product in any place, or at any day or time other than as 
authorized by this title or the rules of the commission. 
  
32B-4-403.   Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to minor. 
(1)  A person may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product to a minor. 
  
(2) (a) (i)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor if 
the person who violates Subsection (1) negligently or recklessly fails to determine whether the 
recipient of the alcoholic product is a minor. 
  (ii)  As used in this Subsection (2)(a), "negligently" means with simple 
negligence. 
 (b)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if 
the person who violates Subsection (1) knows the recipient of the alcoholic product is a minor. 
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(3)  This section does not apply to the furnishing of an alcoholic product to a minor in 
accordance with this title: 
 (a)  for medicinal purposes by: 
  (i)  the parent or guardian of the minor; or 
  (ii)  the health care practitioner of the minor, if the health care practitioner is 
authorized by law to write a prescription; or 
 (b)  as part of a religious organization's religious services. 
  
32B-4-404.   Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to intoxicated person. 
(1)  A person may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product to: 
 (a)  a person who is actually or apparently intoxicated; or 
 (b)  a person whom the person furnishing the alcoholic product knows or should know 
from the circumstances is actually or apparently intoxicated. 
  
(2) (a)  A person who negligently or recklessly violates Subsection (1) is guilty of a class B 
misdemeanor. 
 (b)  A person who knowingly violates Subsection (1) is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 
  
(3)  As used in Subsection (2)(a), "negligently" means with simple negligence. 
  
32B-4-405.   Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing to interdicted person. 
(1)  A person may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product to a known interdicted 
person. 
  
(2)  This section does not apply to the sale, offer for sale, or furnishing of an alcoholic product to 
an interdicted person: 
 (a)  under an order of a health care practitioner who is authorized by law to write a 
prescription; or 
 (b)  administered by a hospital or health care practitioner authorized by law to administer 
the alcoholic product for medicinal purposes. 
  
32B-4-406.   Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing of an alcoholic product. 
(1)  Except as provided in Subsection (2): 
 (a)  a person may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer to the general public in a 
container that exceeds two liters; and 
 (b)  a person may not purchase or possess beer in a container that exceeds two liters. 
  
(2) (a)  A retail licensee may sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer on draft subject to the 
requirements of Section 32B-5-304. 
 (b)  A retail licensee may purchase or possess beer in a container that exceeds two liters 
to be dispensed on draft for consumption subject to the requirements of Section 32B-5-304. 
 (c)  A beer wholesaler licensee may sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer in a container that 
exceeds two liters to a retail licensee described in Subsection (2)(a). 
  
(3)  On or after October 1, 2011: 
 (a)  A person may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish heavy beer in a container that exceeds 
two liters. 
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 (b)  A person may not purchase or possess heavy beer in a container that exceeds two 
liters. 
  
32B-4-407.   Unlawful sale, offer for sale, or furnishing during emergency. 
During a period of emergency proclaimed by the governor to exist in an area of the state, it is 
unlawful for a person to sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product in that area if the 
director publicly announces and directs that in that area a person may not sell, offer for sale, or 
furnish an alcoholic product in that area during the period of emergency. 
  
32B-4-408.   Unlawful purchase or acceptance. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a person or the person's staff to purchase, take, or accept an alcoholic 
product from another person, except as provided by this title or the rules of the commission 
adopted under this title. 
  
(2)  An act is unlawful under Subsection (1) if it is taken: 
 (a)  directly or indirectly; or 
 (b)  upon a pretense or device. 
  
32B-4-409.   Unlawful purchase, possession, consumption by minor -- Measurable amounts in 
body. 
(1)  Unless specifically authorized by this title, it is unlawful for a minor to: 
 (a)  purchase an alcoholic product; 
 (b)  attempt to purchase an alcoholic product; 
 (c)  solicit another person to purchase an alcoholic product; 
 (d)  possess an alcoholic product; 
 (e)  consume an alcoholic product; or 
 (f)  have measurable blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration in the minor's body. 
  
(2)  It is unlawful for the purpose of purchasing or otherwise obtaining an alcoholic product for a 
minor for: 
 (a)  a minor to misrepresent the minor's age; or 
 (b)  any other person to misrepresent the age of a minor. 
  
(3)  It is unlawful for a minor to possess or consume an alcoholic product while riding in a 
limousine or chartered bus. 
  
(4)  If a minor is found by a court to have violated this section and the violation is the minor's 
second or subsequent violation of this section, the court: 
 (a)  shall order the minor to participate in an educational series as defined in Section 41-
6a-501; and 
 (b)  may order the minor to participate in a screening as defined in Section 41-6a-501. 
  
(5) (a)  When a minor who is at least 18 years old, but younger than 21 years old, is found by a 
court to have violated this section, except as provided in Section 32B-4-411, the court hearing 
the case shall suspend the minor's driving privileges under Section 53-3-219. 
 (b)  Notwithstanding the provision in Subsection (5)(a), the court may reduce the 
suspension period required under Section 53-3-219 if: 
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  (i)  the violation is the minor's first violation of this section; and 
  (ii)  the minor completes an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501. 
  
(6)  When a minor who is at least 13 years old, but younger than 18 years old, is found by the 
court to have violated this section, Section 78A-6-606 applies to the violation. 
  
(7)  When a court issues an order suspending a person's driving privileges for a violation of this 
section, the Driver License Division shall suspend the person's license under Section 53-3-219. 
  
(8)  When the Department of Public Safety receives the arrest or conviction record of a person 
for a driving offense committed while the person's license is suspended pursuant to this section, 
the Department of Public Safety shall extend the suspension for an additional like period of time. 
  
(9)  This section does not apply to a minor's consumption of an alcoholic product in accordance 
with this title: 
 (a)  for medicinal purposes if: 
  (i)  the minor is at least 18 years old; or 
  (ii)  the alcoholic product is furnished by: 
   (A)  the parent or guardian of the minor; or 
   (B)  the minor's health care practitioner, if the health care practitioner is 
authorized by law to write a prescription; or 
 (b)  as part of a religious organization's religious services. 
 
  
32B-4-410.   Unlawful admittance or attempt to gain admittance by minor. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a minor to gain admittance or attempt to gain admittance to the premises 
of: 
 (a)  a tavern; or 
 (b)  a social club licensee, except to the extent authorized by Section 32B-6-406.1. 
  
(2)  A minor who violates this section is guilty of a class C misdemeanor. 
  
(3)  If a minor is found by a court to have violated this section and the violation is the minor's 
second or subsequent violation of this section, the court: 
 (a)  shall order the minor to participate in an educational series as defined in Section 41-
6a-501; and 
 (b)  may order the minor to participate in a screening as defined in Section 41-6a-501. 
  
(4) (a)  When a minor who is at least 18 years old, but younger than 21 years old, is found by a 
court to have violated this section, except as provided in Section 32B-4-411, the court hearing 
the case shall suspend the minor's driving privileges under Section 53-3-219. 
 (b)  Notwithstanding the provision in Subsection (4)(a), the court may reduce the 
suspension period required under Section 53-3-219 if: 
  (i)  the violation is the minor's first violation of this section; and 
  (ii)  the minor completes an educational series as defined in Section 41-6a-501. 
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(5)  When a minor who is at least 13 years old, but younger than 18 years old, is found by a court 
to have violated this section, Section 78A-6-606 applies to the violation. 
  
(6)  When a court issues an order suspending a person's driving privileges for a violation of this 
section, the Driver License Division shall suspend the person's license under Section 53-3-219. 
  
(7)  When the Department of Public Safety receives the arrest or conviction record of a person 
for a driving offense committed while the person's license is suspended pursuant to this section, 
the Department of Public Safety shall extend the suspension for an additional like period of time. 
  
32B-4-411.   Minor's unlawful use of proof of age. 
(1)  As used in this section, "proof of age violation" means a violation by a minor of: 
 (a)  Chapter 1, Part 4, Proof of Age Act; or 
 (b)  if as part of the violation the minor uses a proof of age in violation of Chapter 1, Part 
4, Proof of Age Act: 
  (i)  Section 32B-4-409; or 
  (ii)  Section 32B-4-410. 
  
(2)  If a court finds a minor engaged in a proof of age violation, notwithstanding the penalties 
provided for in Subsection (1): 
 (a) (i)  for a first violation, the minor is guilty of a class B misdemeanor; 
  (ii)  for a second violation, the minor is guilty of a class A misdemeanor; and 
  (iii)  for a third or subsequent violation, the minor is guilty of a class A 
misdemeanor, except that the court may impose: 
   (A)  a fine of up to $5,000; 
   (B)  screening, assessment, or substance abuse treatment, as defined in 
Section 41-6a-501; 
   (C)  an educational series, as defined in Section 41-6a-501; 
   (D)  alcoholic product related community service or compensatory service 
work program hours; 
  (E)  fees for restitution and treatment costs; 
  (F)  defensive driver education courses; or 
  (G)  a combination of these penalties; and 
 (b) (i)  for a minor who is at least 13 years old, but younger than 18 years old: 
   (A)  the court shall forward to the Driver License Division a record of an 
adjudication under Title 78A, Chapter 6, Juvenile Court Act of 1996, for a violation under this 
section; and 
   (B)  the provisions regarding suspension of a driver license under Section 
78A-6-606 apply; and 
  (ii)  for a minor who is at least 18 years old, but younger than 21 years old: 
   (A)  the court shall forward to the Driver License Division a record of 
conviction for a violation under this section; and 
   (B)  the Driver License Division shall suspend the person's license under 
Section 53-3-220. 
  
(3)  When the Department of Public Safety receives the arrest or conviction record of an 
individual for a driving offense committed while the individual's license is suspended pursuant to 
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this section, the Department of Public Safety shall extend the suspension for an additional like 
period of time. 
  
(4)  A court may not fail to enter a judgment of conviction under this section under a plea in 
abeyance agreement. 
  
32B-4-412.   Unlawful purchase by intoxicated person. 
A person may not purchase an alcoholic product if the person is intoxicated. 
  
32B-4-413.   Unlawful purchase by interdicted person. 
A person may not purchase or possess an alcoholic product if that person is an interdicted 
person, except: 
(1)  under an order of a health care practitioner who is authorized by law to write a prescription; 
or 
  
(2)  when administered by a hospital or health care practitioner authorized by law to administer 
the alcoholic product for medicinal purposes. 
  
32B-4-414.   Unlawful possession -- Exceptions. 
(1)  A person may not possess liquor within this state unless authorized by this title or the rules 
of the commission, except that: 
 (a)  a person who clears United States Customs when entering this country may possess 
for personal consumption and not for sale or resale, a maximum of two liters of liquor purchased 
from without the United States; 
 (b)  a person who moves the person's residence to this state from outside of this state may 
possess for personal consumption and not for sale or resale, liquor previously purchased outside 
the state and brought into this state during the move, if the person: 
  (i)  obtains department approval before moving the liquor into the state; and 
  (ii)  pays the department a reasonable administrative handling fee as determined 
by the commission; 
 (c)  a person who inherits liquor as a beneficiary of an estate that is located outside the 
state, may possess the liquor and transport or cause the liquor to be transported into the state if 
the person: 
  (i)  obtains department approval before moving the liquor into the state; 
  (ii)  provides sufficient documentation to the department to establish the person's 
legal right to the liquor as a beneficiary; and 
  (iii)  pays the department a reasonable administrative handling fee as determined 
by the commission; or 
 (d)  a person may transport or possess liquor if: 
  (i)  the person transports or possesses the liquor: 
   (A)  for personal household use and consumption; and 
   (B)  not for: 
    (I)  sale; 
    (II)  resale; 
    (III)  gifting to another; or 
    (IV)  consumption on premises licensed by the commission; 
  (ii)  the liquor is purchased from a store or facility on a military installation; and 
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  (iii)  the maximum amount the person transports or possesses under this 
Subsection (1)(d) is: 
   (A)  two liters of: 
    (I)  spirituous liquor; 
    (II)  wine; or 
    (III)  a combination of spirituous liquor and wine; and 
   (B) (I)  one case of heavy beer that does not exceed 288 ounces; or 
    (II)  one case of a flavored malt beverage that does not exceed 288 
ounces. 
  
(2) (a)  Approval under Subsection (1)(b) may be obtained by a person who: 
  (i)  is transferring the person's permanent residence to this state; or 
  (ii)  maintains separate residences both in and out of this state. 
 (b)  A person may not obtain approval to transfer liquor under Subsection (1)(b) more 
than one time. 
   
32B-4-415.   Unlawful bringing onto premises for consumption. 
(1)  Except as provided in Subsection (4), a person may not bring an alcoholic product for on-
premise consumption onto the premises of: 
 (a)  a retail licensee or person required to be licensed under this title as a retail licensee; 
 (b)  an establishment that conducts a business similar to a retail licensee; 
 (c)  an event where an alcoholic product is sold, offered for sale, or furnished under a 
single event permit or temporary beer event permit issued under this title; or 
 (d)  an establishment open to the general public. 
  
(2)  Except as provided in Subsection (4), the following may not allow a person to bring onto its 
premises an alcoholic product for on-premise consumption or allow consumption of an alcoholic 
product brought onto its premises in violation of this section: 
 (a)  a retail licensee or a person required to be licensed under this title as a retail licensee; 
 (b)  an establishment that conducts a business similar to a retail licensee; 
 (c)  a single event permittee or temporary beer event permittee; 
 (d)  an establishment open to the general public; or 
 (e)  staff of a person listed in Subsections (2)(a) through (d). 
  
(3)  Except as provided in Subsection (4)(c)(i)(A), a person may not consume an alcoholic 
product in a limousine or chartered bus if the limousine or chartered bus drops off a passenger at 
a location from which the passenger departs in a private vehicle. 
  
(4) (a)  A person may bring bottled wine onto the premises of the following and consume the 
wine pursuant to Subsection 32B-5-307: 
  (i)  a full-service restaurant licensee; 
  (ii)  a limited restaurant licensee; 
  (iii)  a club licensee; or 
  (iv)  a person operating under a resort spa sublicense. 
 (b)  A passenger of a limousine may bring onto, possess, and consume an alcoholic 
product on the limousine if: 
  (i)  the travel of the limousine begins and ends at: 
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   (A)  the residence of the passenger; 
   (B)  the hotel of the passenger, if the passenger is a registered guest of the 
hotel; or 
   (C)  the temporary domicile of the passenger; and 
  (ii)  the driver of the limousine is separated from the passengers by partition or 
other means approved by the department. 
 (c)  A passenger of a chartered bus may bring onto, possess, and consume an alcoholic 
product on the chartered bus: 
  (i) (A)  but may consume only during travel to a specified destination of the 
chartered bus and not during travel back to the place where the travel begins; or 
   (B)  if the travel of the chartered bus begins and ends at: 
    (I)  the residence of the passenger; 
    (II)  the hotel of the passenger, if the passenger is a registered guest 
of the hotel; or 
    (III)  the temporary domicile of the passenger; and 
  (ii)  if the chartered bus has a nondrinking designee other than the driver traveling 
on the chartered bus to monitor consumption. 
  
(5)  A person may bring onto any premises, possess, and consume an alcoholic product at a 
private event. 
  
(6)  The restrictions of Subsections (2) and (3) apply to a resort licensee or person operating 
under a sublicense in relationship to: 
 (a)  the boundary of a resort building; or 
 (b)  a sublicense premises. 
  
32B-4-416.   Unlawful permitting of consumption by minor. 
(1)  A person may not permit a minor to consume an alcoholic product in a chartered bus or 
limousine of which the person is the owner or operator. 
  
(2)  A violation of Subsection (1) is an infraction. 
  
32B-4-417.   Unlawful possession by licensee or permittee. 
Except as authorized by Section 32B-4-415, other provisions of this title, or the rules of the 
commission, a licensee or permittee may not possess, store, or allow consumption of liquor on its 
premises if the liquor is not purchased from: 
(1)  the department; 
  
(2)  a state store; or 
  
(3)  a package agency. 
  
32B-4-418.   Unlawful storage. 
It is unlawful for a person to store liquor on premises for which the person is authorized to sell 
beer for on-premise consumption, but for which the person is not licensed under this title to sell 
liquor. 
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32B-4-419.   Unlawful permitting of intoxication. 
(1)  A person may not permit another person to become intoxicated or an intoxicated person to 
consume an alcoholic product in: 
 (a)  premises of which the person is the owner, tenant, or occupant; or 
 (b)  a chartered bus or limousine of which the person is the owner or operator. 
  
(2)  A violation of Subsection (1) is a class C misdemeanor. 
  
32B-4-420.   Unlawful adulteration. 
(1)  For purposes of this section, "tamper" means to do one or more of the following to the 
contents of a container: 
 (a)  fortify; 
 (b)  adulterate; 
 (c)  contaminate; 
 (d)  dilute; 
 (e)  change its character or purity; or 
 (f)  otherwise change. 
  
(2)  A person may not, for any purpose, mix or allow to be mixed with an alcoholic product sold 
or supplied by the person as a beverage any of the following: 
 (a)  a drug; 
 (b)  methylic alcohol; 
 (c)  a crude, unrectified, or impure form of ethylic alcohol; or 
 (d)  another deleterious substance. 
  
(3) (a)  The following may not engage in an act listed in Subsection (3)(b): 
  (i)  a package agent; 
  (ii)  a retail licensee; 
  (iii)  a permittee; 
  (iv)  a beer wholesaler licensee; 
  (v)  a liquor warehouser licensee; 
  (vi)  a supplier; or 
  (vii)  an importer. 
 (b)  A person listed in Subsection (3)(a) may not: 
  (i)  tamper with the contents of a container of alcoholic product as originally 
marketed by a manufacturer; 
  (ii)  refill or partly refill with any substance the contents of an original container 
of alcoholic product as originally marketed by a manufacturer; 
  (iii)  misrepresent the brand of an alcoholic product sold or offered for sale; or 
  (iv)  sell or furnish a brand of alcoholic product that is not the same as that 
ordered by a purchaser without first advising the purchaser of the difference. 
  
32B-4-421.   Unlawful consumption in public place. 
(1)  A person may not consume liquor in a public building, park, or stadium, except as provided 
by this title. 
  
(2)  A violation of this section is a class C misdemeanor. 
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32B-4-422.   Unlawful dispensing. 
(1)  For purposes of this section: 
 (a)  "Primary spirituous liquor" means the main distilled spirit in a beverage. 
 (b)  "Primary spirituous liquor" does not include a secondary alcoholic product used as a 
flavoring in conjunction with the primary distilled spirit in a beverage. 
  
(2)  A retail licensee licensed under this title to sell, offer for sale, or furnish spirituous liquor for 
consumption on the licensed premises, or staff of the retail licensee may not: 
 (a)  sell, offer for sale, or furnish a primary spirituous liquor to a person on the licensed 
premises except in a quantity that does not exceed 1.5 ounces per beverage dispensed through a 
calibrated metered dispensing system approved by the department; 
 (b)  sell, offer for sale, or furnish more than a total of 2.5 ounces of spirituous liquor per 
beverage; 
 (c)  allow a person on the licensed premises to have more than a total of 2.5 ounces of 
spirituous liquor at a time; or 
 (d) (i)  except as provided in Subsection (2)(d)(ii), allow a person to have more than two 
spirituous liquor beverages at a time; or 
  (ii)  allow a person on the premises of the following to have more than one 
spirituous liquor beverage at a time: 
   (A)  a full-service restaurant licensee; 
   (B)  a person operating under a full-service restaurant sublicense; 
   (C)  an on-premise banquet licensee; 
   (D)  a person operating under an on-premise banquet sublicense; or 
   (E)  a single event permittee. 
  
(3)  A violation of this section is a class C misdemeanor. 
 

Part 5 Operations 
  
32B-4-501.   Operating without a license or permit. 
(1)  A person may not operate the following businesses without first obtaining a license under 
this title if the business allows a person to purchase or consume an alcoholic product on the 
premises of the business: 
 (a)  a restaurant; 
 (b)  an airport lounge; 
 (c)  a business operated in the same manner as a club licensee; 
 (d)  a resort; 
 (e)  a business operated to sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer for on-premise consumption; 
 (f)  a business operated as an on-premise banquet licensee; or 
 (g)  a business similar to one listed in Subsections (1)(a) through (f). 
  
(2)  A person conducting an event that is open to the general public may not directly or indirectly 
sell, offer for sale, or furnish an alcoholic product to a person attending the event without first 
obtaining an event permit under this title. 
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(3)  A person conducting a private event may not directly or indirectly sell or offer for sale an 
alcoholic product to a person attending the private event without first obtaining an event permit 
under this title. 
  
(4)  A person may not operate the following businesses in this state without first obtaining a 
license under this title: 
 (a)  a winery manufacturer; 
 (b)  a distillery manufacturer; 
 (c)  a brewery manufacturer; 
 (d)  a local industry representative of: 
  (i)  a manufacturer of an alcoholic product; 
  (ii)  a supplier of an alcoholic product; or 
  (iii)  an importer of an alcoholic product; 
 (e)  a liquor warehouser; or 
 (f)  a beer wholesaler. 
  
(5)  A person may not operate a public conveyance in this state without first obtaining a public 
service permit under this title if that public conveyance allows a person to purchase or consume 
an alcoholic product: 
 (a)  on the public conveyance; or 
 (b)  on the premises of a hospitality room located within a depot, terminal, or similar 
facility at which a service is provided to a patron of the public conveyance. 
  
32B-4-502.   Storing or possessing pursuant to federal stamp. 
(1)  Except as otherwise provided by this title, it is unlawful for a person who holds a stamp 
issued by the Bureau of Internal Revenue of the United States as a retail dealer in fermented malt 
liquor, or the person's operator or staff, to possess, hold, or store liquor in or on premises 
described in the stamp while the stamp remains in effect unless that person is: 
 (a)  acting for the commission; or 
 (b)  licensed under this title. 
  
(2)  This section may not be construed to prevent a person from possessing and consuming, but 
not storing, liquor on premises described by the fermented malt liquor stamp, if that person is 
not: 
 (a)  an owner or operator of a retail dealer described in Subsection (1); or 
 (b)  a staff member of either the owner or operator. 
  
32B-4-503.   Tampering with a record. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a person who has custody of a record required to be filed or deposited with 
the commission or the department under this title to: 
 (a)  steal, falsify, alter, willfully destroy, mutilate, deface, remove, or conceal in whole or 
in part that record; or 
 (b)  knowingly permit another person to take an action described in Subsection (1)(a). 
  
(2) (a)  Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), a person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. 
 (b)  A person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of a third degree felony if that person 
is a commissioner, the director, or a department employee. 
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32B-4-504.   Making false statements. 
(1) (a)  A person who makes a false material statement under oath or affirmation in an official 
proceeding before the commission or the department is guilty of a second degree felony. 
 (b)  As used in Subsection (1)(a), "material" statement is as defined in Section 76-8-501. 
  
(2)  A person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor if that person knowingly: 
 (a)  makes a false statement under oath or affirmation in an official proceeding before the 
commission or the department; 
 (b)  makes a false statement with a purpose to mislead a public servant in performing that 
public servant's official functions under this title; 
 (c)  makes a false statement and the statement is required by this title to be sworn or 
affirmed before a notary or other person authorized to administer oaths; 
 (d)  makes a false written statement on or pursuant to a record required by this title; 
 (e)  creates a false impression in a record required by this title by omitting information 
necessary to prevent a statement in them from being misleading; 
 (f)  makes a false written statement with intent to deceive a public servant in the 
performance of that public servant's official functions under this title; or 
 (g)  submits or invites reliance on a record required under this title which that person 
knows to lack authenticity. 
  
(3)  A person is not guilty under Subsection (2) if that person retracts the falsification before it 
becomes apparent that the falsification is or will be exposed. 
  
32B-4-505.   Obstructing a search, official proceeding, or investigation. 
(1)  A person who is in the premises or has charge over premises may not refuse or fail to admit 
to the premises or obstruct the entry of any of the following who demands entry when acting 
under this title: 
 (a)  a commissioner; 
 (b)  an authorized representative of the commission or department; or 
 (c)  a law enforcement officer. 
  
(2)  A person who is in the premises or has charge of the premises may not interfere with any of 
the following who is conducting an investigation under this title at the premises: 
 (a)  a commissioner; 
 (b)  an authorized representative of the commission or department; or 
 (c)  a law enforcement officer. 
  
(3)  A person is guilty of a second degree felony if, believing that an official proceeding or 
investigation is pending or about to be instituted under this title, that person: 
 (a)  alters, destroys, conceals, or removes a record with a purpose to impair its verity or 
availability in the proceeding or investigation; or 
 (b)  makes, presents, or uses anything that the person knows to be false with a purpose to 
deceive any of the following who may be engaged in a proceeding or investigation under this 
title: 
  (i)  a commissioner; 
  (ii)  an authorized representative of the commission or department; 
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  (iii)  a law enforcement officer; or 
  (iv)  other person. 
  
32B-4-508.   Offering or soliciting bribe, gift, or profits. 
(1)  If a person sold, sells, offered for sale, or offers to sell an alcoholic product to the 
commission or department, that person may not offer, make, tender, or in any way deliver or 
transfer to a commissioner, the director, a department employee, or a law enforcement officer 
responsible for the enforcement of this title the following: 
 (a)  a bribe; 
 (b)  a gift, as defined in Section 67-16-5; or 
 (c)  a share of profits. 
  
(2)  A commissioner, the director, a department employee, or a law enforcement officer 
responsible for the enforcement of this title may not knowingly solicit, receive, accept, take, or 
seek, directly or indirectly, any of the following from a person who sold, sells, offered for sale, 
or offers to sell an alcoholic product: 
 (a)  a commission; 
 (b)  compensation, as defined in Section 67-16-3; 
 (c)  a gift, as defined in Section 67-16-5; or 
 (d)  a loan. 
  
(3)  A violation of this section is punishable under Section 67-16-12. 
  
32B-4-509.   Forgery. 
(1) (a)  A person who with a purpose to defraud the commission or the department, or who with 
knowledge that the person is facilitating a fraud to be perpetrated by anyone, forges a record 
required under this title, is guilty of forgery as provided under Section 76-6-501. 
 (b)  A violation of Subsection (1)(a) is a second degree felony. 
  
(2)  A person who with intent to defraud the commission or the department knowingly possesses 
a record that is a forgery as defined in Section 76-6-501 is guilty of a third degree felony. 
 

Part 6 Transportation and Distribution 
  
32B-4-601.   Unlawful removal from conveyance or diversion of shipment. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a person transporting an alcoholic product, including a motor carrier, in 
interstate or other commerce intended for, or consigned to, or claimed to be intended for or 
consigned to a person outside of this state, to remove or to permit a person to remove the 
alcoholic product or any part of the alcoholic product from the conveyance in which it is carried 
while within this state. 
  
(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), removal of an alcoholic product from a conveyance may be 
allowed if the person described in Subsection (1) notifies the department in writing at least 24 
hours before the intended removal and complies with the instructions given by the department. 
  
(3)  It is unlawful for a person to receive for storage or another purpose, or to possess an 
alcoholic product, that is removed from a vehicle or other conveyance in violation of this section. 
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(4)  It is unlawful for a person, including a motor vehicle, to divert to any place within this state, 
or to deliver to any person in this state, an alcoholic product that is consigned for shipment to 
any place without this state, unless the person: 
 (a)  first notifies the department in writing at least 24 hours before the intended diversion 
or delivery; and 
 (b)  complies with the instructions given by the department. 
  
(5)  Upon receiving a notice under Subsection (2) or (4), the department shall take precautions as 
necessary to ensure compliance with the laws of this state relating to an alcoholic product. 
  
32B-4-602.   Unlawful transportation. 
(1)  It is unlawful for a person, including a motor carrier, or staff of the person to order or 
purchase an alcoholic product or to cause an alcoholic product to be shipped, carried, or 
transported into this state, or from one place to another within this state except as otherwise 
authorized by this title. 
  
(2)  This section does not prohibit a person, including a motor carrier, from: 
 (a)  transporting an alcoholic product in the course of export from the state; or 
 (b)  transporting an alcoholic product across any part of this state while in transit pursuant 
to a bona fide consignment of the alcoholic product to a person outside of this state. 
  
32B-4-603.   Carriers' records. 
(1) (a)  A person, including a motor carrier, transporting an alcoholic product into or within this 
state shall make and maintain a record in which is entered, immediately on the receipt of an 
alcoholic product: 
  (i)  the name of every person to whom the alcoholic product is consigned; 
  (ii)  the amount and kind of alcoholic product received; and 
  (iii)  the date when the alcoholic product is delivered. 
 (b) (i)  Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), a consignee shall sign the consignee's 
name. 
  (ii)  If the consignee is a corporation, partnership, or limited liability company, an 
agent authorized in writing shall sign the record described in Subsection (1)(a). 
  
(2)  A person described in Subsection (1) shall make the record open to inspection by an 
authorized official of the state or local authority at any time during the person's business hours. 
  
(3)  A record under this section constitutes prima facie evidence of the facts stated in the record 
and is admissible as evidence in a court proceeding to enforce this title. 
 
Part 7 - Trade Practices Act  
32B-4-701.   Title. 
This part is known as the "Trade Practices Act." 
  
32B-4-702.   Definitions. 
As used in this part: 
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(1) (a)  For purposes of Section 32B-4-703, "exclusion" is as defined in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 8.51 
through 8.54. 
 (b)  For purposes of Section 32B-4-704, "exclusion" is as defined in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.151 
through 6.153. 
  
(2) (a)  "Industry member" means: 
  (i)  an alcoholic product manufacturer; 
  (ii)  a producer; 
  (iii)  a supplier; 
  (iv)  an importer; 
  (v)  a wholesaler; 
  (vi)  a bottler; 
  (vii)  a warehouser and bottler; or 
  (viii)  for a person described in Subsections (2)(a)(i) through (vii), any of its: 
   (A)  affiliates; 
   (B)  subsidiaries; 
   (C)  officers; 
   (D)  directors; 
   (E)  partners; 
   (F)  agents; 
   (G)  employees; or 
   (H)  representatives. 
 (b)  "Industry member" does not include: 
  (i)  the commission; 
  (ii)  a commissioner; 
  (iii)  the director; 
  (iv)  the department; or 
  (v)  a department employee. 
  
(3)  "Product" means an alcoholic product or item associated with an alcoholic product. 
  
(4)  "Retailer" means: 
 (a)  the holder of a license or permit issued by the commission or by a local authority to 
allow the holder to engage in the sale of an alcoholic product to a patron whether for 
consumption on or off the premises; or 
 (b)  an agent, officer, director, shareholder, partner, or employee of a holder described in 
Subsection (4)(a). 
  
32B-4-703.   Exclusive outlets. 
(1)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
require, by agreement or otherwise, that the department or a retailer purchase a product from the 
industry member or the department to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product that is sold 
or offered for sale by another person. 
  
(2) (a)  Subsection (1) applies only to a transaction between: 
  (i)  one or more industry members; and 
  (ii) (A)  the department; or 
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   (B)  one or more retailers. 
 (b)  Subsection (1) does not apply to a transaction between two or more industry 
members, including between a manufacturer and a wholesaler. 
  
(3)  Subsection (1) includes purchases coerced by an industry member through an act or threat of 
physical or economic harm, as well as through a voluntary industry member-retailer purchase 
agreement. 
  
(4) (a)  Subsection (1) includes a contract or agreement, written or unwritten, that has the effect 
of requiring the department or retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry 
member beyond a single sales transaction. 
 (b)  Examples of a contract or agreement described in Subsection (4)(a) include: 
  (i)  an advertising contract between an industry member and a retailer with the 
express or implied requirement of the purchase of the advertiser's product; or 
  (ii)  a sales contract awarded on a competitive bid basis that has the effect of 
prohibiting the department or retailer from purchasing from another industry member by: 
   (A)  requiring that the retailer purchase a product or line of products 
exclusively from the industry member for the period of the agreement; or 
   (B)  requiring that the retailer purchase a specific or minimum quantity 
during the period of the agreement. 
  
(5) (a)  Subsection (1) includes a contract, agreement, or other arrangement between an industry 
member and a third party nonretailer that requires the department or a retailer to purchase the 
industry member's product to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for 
sale by another person. 
 (b)  This Subsection (5) applies whether a contract, agreement, or other arrangement 
originates with the industry member or the third party. 
 (c)  Examples of a contract, agreement, or other arrangement described in this Subsection 
(5) include: 
  (i)  a contract, agreement, or arrangement: 
   (A)  with a third party, such as a ball club or municipal or private 
corporation, that is not a retailer; 
   (B)  under which the third party leases the concession rights and is able to 
control the purchasing decisions of a retailer; and 
   (C)  that requires the retailer to purchase the industry member's product to 
the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another person; or 
  (ii)  a contract, agreement, or arrangement with a third party nonretailer that 
requires a retailer to purchase the industry member's product to the exclusion in whole or in part 
of a product sold or offered for sale by another person in return for which the third party provides 
a service or other thing of value such as: 
   (A)  sponsoring radio or television broadcasting; 
   (B)  paying for advertising; or 
   (C)  providing other services or things of value. 
  
32B-4-704.   Tied house -- Prohibitions. 
(1) (a)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
induce a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry member or from the 
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department to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another 
person by acquiring or holding an interest in a license with respect to the premises of a retailer, 
except when the license is held by a retailer that is completely owned by the industry member. 
 (b)  Interest in a retail license includes an interest acquired by a corporate official, 
partner, employee, or other representative of the industry member. 
 (c)  An interest in a retail license acquired by a separate corporation in which the industry 
member or the industry member's officials hold ownership or are otherwise affiliated is an 
interest in a retail license. 
 (d)  Less than complete ownership of a retail business by an industry member constitutes 
an interest in a retail license within the meaning of Subsection (1)(a). 
  
(2) (a)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
induce a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry member or from the 
department to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another 
person by acquiring an interest in real or personal property owned, occupied, or used by the 
retailer in the conduct of the retailer's business. 
 (b)  For purposes of Subsection (2)(a): 
  (i)  "interest" does not include complete ownership of a retail business by an 
industry member; 
  (ii)  interest in retail property includes an interest acquired by a corporate official, 
partner, employee, or other representative of the industry member; 
  (iii)  any interest in a retail license acquired by a separate corporation in which the 
industry member or its officials hold ownership or are otherwise affiliated is an interest in the 
retailer's property; 
  (iv)  less than complete ownership of a retail business by an industry member 
constitutes an interest in retail property; 
  (v)  the acquisition of a mortgage on a retailer's real or personal property by an 
industry member constitutes an interest in the retailer's property; and 
  (vi)  the renting of display space by an industry member at a retail establishment 
constitutes an interest in the retailer's property. 
  
(3) (a)  Subject to Section 32B-4-705, it is unlawful for an industry member, directly or 
indirectly, or through an affiliate, to induce a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the 
industry member or from the department to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or 
offered for sale by another person by furnishing, giving, renting, lending, or selling to the retailer 
equipment, a fixture, a sign, supplies, money, a service, or other thing of value. 
 (b) (i)  For purposes of this Subsection (3), indirect inducement includes: 
   (A)  furnishing a thing of value to a third party when the benefit resulting 
from the thing of value flows to an individual retailer; and 
   (B)  making a payment for advertising to a retailer association or a display 
company when the resulting benefits flow to an individual retailer. 
  (ii)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(b)(i), an indirect inducement does not arise 
if: 
   (A)  the thing of value is furnished to a retailer by the third party without 
the knowledge or intent of the industry member; or 
   (B)  the industry member does not reasonably foresee that the thing of 
value would be furnished to a retailer. 
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 (c)  Anything that may lawfully be furnished, given, rented, lent, or sold by industry 
members to retailers under Section 32B-4-705 may be furnished directly by a third party to a 
retailer. 
 (d) (i)  A transaction in which equipment is sold to a retailer by an industry member, 
except as provided in Section 32B-4-705, is the selling of equipment within the meaning of 
Subsection (3)(a) regardless of how the equipment is sold. 
  (ii)  The negotiation by an industry member of a special price to a retailer for 
equipment from an equipment company is the furnishing of a thing of value within the meaning 
of Subsection (3)(a). 
 (e)  The furnishing of free warehousing by delaying delivery of an alcoholic product 
beyond the time that payment for the product is received, or if a retailer is purchasing on credit, 
delaying final delivery of products beyond the close of the period of time for which credit is 
lawfully extended, is the furnishing of a service or thing of value within the meaning of 
Subsection (3)(a). 
 (f)  A financial, legal, administrative, or influential assistance given a retailer by an 
industry member in the retailer's acquisition of the retailer's license is the furnishing of a service 
or thing of value within the meaning of Subsection (3)(a). 
  
(4)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to induce 
a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry member or from the department to 
the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another person by 
paying or crediting the retailer for an advertising, display, or distribution service: 
 (a)  as defined in and to the extent restricted by 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.51 through 6.56; and 
 (b)  subject to the exceptions: 
  (i)  for newspaper cuts listed in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.92; and 
  (ii)  for advertising services listed in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.98. 
  
(5)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to induce 
a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry member or from the department to 
the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another person by 
guaranteeing a loan or the repayment of a financial obligation of the retailer. 
  
(6) (a)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
induce a retailer to purchase beer from the industry member to the exclusion in whole or in part 
of a beer product sold or offered for sale by another person by extending to a retailer credit for a 
period in excess of 15 days from the date of delivery to the date of full legal discharge from all 
indebtedness arising from the transaction by the retailer paying cash or its equivalent, unless: 
  (i)  beer purchased or delivered during the first 15 days of any month is paid for in 
cash or its equivalent on or before the 25th day of the same month; and 
  (ii)  beer purchased or delivered after the 15th day of any month is paid for in 
cash or its equivalent on or before the 10th day of the next succeeding month. 
 (b)  A first party in-state check is considered cash payment if the check is: 
  (i)  honored on presentment; and 
  (ii)  received under the terms prescribed in Subsection (6)(a). 
 (c)  An extension of credit for product purchased by an industry member to a retailer 
whose account is in arrears does not constitute a violation of Subsection (6)(a) if the retailer pays 
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in advance or on delivery an amount equal to or greater than the value of each order, regardless 
of the manner in which the industry member applies the payment in its records. 
  
(7) (a)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
induce a retailer to purchase an alcoholic product from the industry member or from the 
department to the exclusion in whole or in part of a product sold or offered for sale by another 
person by requiring: 
  (i)  the department to take and dispose of a certain quota of a product; or 
  (ii)  a beer retailer to take and dispose of a certain quota of a beer product. 
 (b) (i)  It is an unlawful means to induce to require: 
   (A)  the department to purchase one product in order to purchase another 
product; or 
   (B)  a beer retailer to purchase one beer product in order to purchase 
another beer product. 
  (ii)  This Subsection (7)(b) includes: 
   (A)  the requirement to take a minimum quantity of a product in standard 
packaging in order to obtain the same product in some type of premium container such as: 
    (I)  a distinctive decanter; or 
    (II)  a wooden or tin box; or 
   (B)  combination sales if one or more products may be purchased only in 
combination with another product and not individually. 
 (c)  This Subsection (7) does not preclude the selling, at a special combination price, of 
two or more kinds or brands of products so long as the department or beer retailer: 
  (i)  has the option of purchasing either product at the usual price; and 
  (ii)  is not required to purchase a product the department or beer retailer does not 
want. 
 (d)  An industry member may package and distribute an alcoholic product in combination 
with other nonalcoholic items. 
 (e)  A combination package shall be designed to be delivered intact to the consumer and 
the additional cost incurred by the industry member shall be included in the cost to the 
department or beer retailer. 
  
32B-4-705.   Exclusions from tied house prohibitions. 
(1)  Notwithstanding Subsection 32B-4-704(3), a thing of value may be furnished by an industry 
member to a retailer under the conditions and within the limitations prescribed in: 
 (a)  this section; and 
 (b)  the applicable federal laws cited in this section. 
  
(2)  The following may be furnished by an industry member: 
 (a)  a product display as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.83; 
 (b)  point of sale advertising material or a consumer advertising specialty as provided in 
27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.84; 
 (c)  a thing of value to a temporary retailer to the extent allowed in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.85; 
 (d)  equipment and supplies as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.88; 
 (e)  combination packaging as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.93; 
 (f)  an educational seminar as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.94; 
 (g)  a consumer promotion as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.96; 
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 (h)  an advertising service as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.98; 
 (i)  stocking, rotation, and pricing service as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.99; 
 (j)  merchandise as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.101; and 
 (k)  an outside sign as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.102. 
  
(3)  The following exceptions provided in federal law are not applicable: 
 (a)  the exception for a sample as provided in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.91; 
 (b)  the exception for a consumer tasting or sampling at a retail establishment as provided 
in 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.95; and 
 (c)  the exception for participation in a retailer association activity provided in 27 C.F.R. 
Sec. 6.100. 
  
(4)  To the extent required by 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.81(b) an industry member shall maintain a record: 
 (a)  of an item furnished to a retailer; 
 (b)  on the premises of the industry member; and 
 (c)  for a three-year period. 
  
(5)  A sample of liquor may be provided to the department under the following conditions: 
 (a)  With the department's permission, an industry member may submit a department 
sample to the department for product testing, analysis, and sampling. 
 (b)  No more than two department samples of a particular type, vintage, and production 
lot of a particular branded product may be submitted to the department for department testing, 
analysis, and sampling within a consecutive 120-day period. 
 (c) (i)  A department sample may not exceed 1 liter. 
  (ii)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(c)(i), a department sample of the following 
may not exceed 1.5 liters unless that exact alcoholic product is only commercially packaged in a 
larger size, not to exceed 5 liters: 
   (A)  wine; 
   (B)  heavy beer; or 
   (C)  a flavored malt beverage. 
 (d)  A department sample submitted to the department: 
  (i)  shall be shipped prepaid by the industry member by common carrier; and 
  (ii)  may not be shipped by United States mail directly to the department's central 
administrative warehouse office. 
 (e)  A department sample may not be shipped to any other location within the state. 
 (f)  The industry member shall submit with a department sample submitted to the 
department a letter from the industry member that clearly: 
  (i)  identifies the product as a "department sample"; and 
  (ii)  states the FOB case price of the product. 
 (g) (i)  The department may transfer a listed item from current stock: 
   (A)  for use as a comparison control sample; or 
   (B)  to verify product spoilage as considered appropriate. 
  (ii)  The department shall charge back a sample transferred under this Subsection 
(5)(g) to the respective industry member. 
 (h)  The department shall: 
  (i)  account for, label, and record a department sample received or transferred; 
  (ii)  account for the department sample's disposition; and 
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  (iii)  maintain a record of the sample and its disposition for a two-year period. 
 (i)  The department shall affix to each container of a department sample a label clearly 
identifying the product as a "department sample." 
 (j)  The department shall dispose of a department sample delivered to the department or 
transferred from the department's current stock in one of the following ways as chosen by the 
department: 
  (i)  test and analyze the department sample, with the remaining contents destroyed 
under controlled and audited conditions established by the department; 
  (ii)  destroy the entire contents of the department sample under controlled and 
audited conditions established by the department; or 
  (iii)  add the department sample to the inventory of the department for sale to the 
public. 
 (k)  A person other than an authorized department official may not be in possession of a 
department sample except as otherwise provided. 
 (l)  The department shall handle a liquor item received by the department from a supplier 
that is not designated as a sample by the supplier, but that is an item not specifically listed on a 
department purchase order, in accordance with this Subsection (5). 
 (m)  The department may not use its money to pay freight or charges on a sample or a 
liquor item: 
  (i)  shipped to the department by a supplier; and 
  (ii)  not listed on a department purchase order. 
  
(6)  A sample of beer may be provided by a beer industry member to a retailer under the 
conditions listed in this Subsection (6). 
 (a)  A sample of beer may be provided by an industry member only to a retailer who has 
not purchased the brand of beer from that industry member within the last 12 months. 
 (b)  For each retailer, the industry member may give not more than three gallons of any 
brand of beer, except that if a particular product is not available in a size within the quantity 
limitation, an industry member may furnish the next largest size. 
  
(7)  An educational seminar may involve an industry member under the conditions listed in this 
Subsection (7). 
 (a)  An industry member may provide or participate in an educational seminar: 
  (i)  involving: 
   (A)  the department; 
   (B)  a retailer; 
   (C)  a holder of a scientific or educational special use permit; 
   (D)  another industry member; or 
   (E)  an employee of a person listed in Subsections (7)(a)(i)(A) through 
(D); and 
  (ii)  regarding a topic such as: 
   (A)  merchandising and product knowledge; 
   (B)  use of equipment; and 
   (C)  a tour of an alcoholic product manufacturing facility. 
 (b)  An industry member may not pay the expenses of or compensate a person who is a 
department employee, a retailer, or a permittee for attending a seminar or tour described in 
Subsection (7)(a). 
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(8) (a)  A liquor industry member may conduct a tasting of a liquor product of the industry 
member: 
  (i)  for the department, at the department's request; and 
  (ii)  for a licensed industry representative, but only at the department's central 
administrative warehouse office. 
 (b)  A liquor industry member may only use a department sample or industry 
representative sample when conducting a tasting of the industry member's liquor product. 
 (c)  A beer industry member may conduct a tasting of a beer product for a beer retailer 
either at: 
  (i)  the industry member's premises; or 
  (ii)  a retail establishment. 
 (d)  Except to the extent authorized by commission rule, an alcoholic product industry 
member may not conduct tasting or sampling activities with: 
  (i)  a retailer; or 
  (ii)  a member of the general public. 
  
(9)  A beer industry member may participate in a beer retailer association activity to the extent 
authorized by 27 C.F.R. Sec. 6.100. 
  
(10) (a)  An industry member may contribute to a charitable, civic, religious, fraternal, 
educational, or community activity, except the contribution may not be given to influence a 
retailer in the selection of a product that may be sold at the activity. 
 (b)  An industry member or retailer violates this Subsection (10) if: 
  (i)  the industry member's contribution influences, directly or indirectly, the 
retailer in the selection of a product; and 
  (ii)  a competitor's product is excluded in whole or in part from sale at the activity. 
  
(11) (a)  An industry member may lease or furnish equipment listed in Subsection (11)(b) to a 
retailer if: 
  (i)  the equipment is leased or furnished for a special event; 
  (ii)  a reasonable rental or service fee is charged for the equipment; and 
  (iii)  the period for which the equipment is leased or furnished does not exceed 30 
days. 
 (b)  This Subsection (11) applies to the following equipment: 
  (i)  a picnic pump; 
  (ii)  a cold plate; 
  (iii)  a tub; 
  (iv)  a keg box; 
  (v)  a refrigerated trailer; 
  (vi)  a refrigerated van; or 
  (vii)  a refrigerated draft system. 
  
(12) (a)  A liquor industry member may assist the department in: 
  (i)  ordering, shipping, and delivering merchandise; 
  (ii)  new product notification; 
  (iii)  listing and delisting information; 
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  (iv)  price quotations; 
  (v)  product sales analysis; 
  (vi)  shelf management; and 
  (vii)  an educational seminar. 
 (b) (i)  A liquor industry member may, to acquire a new listing: 
   (A)  solicit an order from the department; and 
   (B)  submit to the department a sample of the liquor industry member's 
products under Subsection (5) and price lists. 
  (ii) (A)  An industry member is confined to the customer areas when the industry 
member visits a state store or package agency unless otherwise approved. 
   (B)  An industry member is confined to the office area of a state 
warehouse when the industry member visits a state warehouse unless otherwise approved. 
  
(13)  A beer industry member may assist a beer retailer in: 
 (a)  ordering, shipping, and delivering beer merchandise; 
 (b)  new product notification; 
 (c)  listing and delisting information; 
 (d)  price quotations; 
 (e)  product sales analysis; 
 (f)  shelf management; and 
 (g)  an educational seminar. 
  
(14)  A beer industry member may, to acquire a new listing: 
 (a)  solicit an order from a beer retailer; and 
 (b)  submit to a beer retailer a sample of the beer industry member's beer products under 
Subsection (5) and price lists. 
  
32B-4-706.   Commercial bribery. 
This section adopts and makes applicable to an industry member, including a beer industry 
member, doing business in this state, 27 U.S.C. Sec. 205(c) and 27 C.F.R. Sec. 10.1 through 
10.54, which make it unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an 
affiliate, to induce a wholesaler or retailer engaged in the sale of an alcoholic product to purchase 
the industry member's products, to the complete or partial exclusion of alcoholic beverages sold 
or offered for sale by other persons, by commercial bribery, or by offering or giving a bonus, 
premium, compensation, or other thing of value, to any officer, employee, or representative of 
the wholesaler or retailer. 
  
32B-4-707.   Consignment sale. 
(1)  This section adopts and makes applicable to an industry member, including a beer industry 
member, doing business in this state, 27 U.S.C. Sec. 205(d) and 27 C.F.R. Sec. 11.1 through 
11.46, which make it unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an 
affiliate to sell, offer for sale, or contract to sell to any wholesaler or retailer engaged in the sale 
of an alcoholic product, or for any wholesaler or retailer to purchase, offer to purchase, or 
contract to purchase any of those products on consignment or under conditional sale or with the 
privilege of return or on any basis otherwise than a bona fide sale, or where any part of the 
transaction involves, directly or indirectly, the acquisition by that person from the wholesaler or 
retailer or that person's agreement to acquire from the wholesaler or retailer other alcoholic 
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beverages, if the sale, purchase, offer, or contract is made in the course of interstate or foreign 
commerce, or if the person or wholesaler or retailer engages in such practice to an extent so as 
substantially to restrain or prevent transactions in interstate or foreign commerce in any of those 
products or if the direct effect of the sale, purchase, offer, or contract is to prevent, deter, hinder, 
or restrict other persons from selling or offering for sale any of those products to the wholesaler 
or retailer in interstate or foreign commerce. 
  
(2)  This section does not apply to a transaction involving solely the bona fide return of 
merchandise for ordinary and usual commercial reasons arising after the merchandise has been 
sold. 
  
 
32B-4-708.   Unlawful act involving consumers. 
(1) (a)  It is unlawful for an industry member, directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate, to 
give away any of its product to a person except for testing, analysis, and sampling purposes by 
the department or local industry representative licensee to the extent authorized by this title. 
 (b)  This Subsection (1) does not preclude an industry member from serving its product to 
others at a private event hosted by the industry member in the industry member's home or 
elsewhere so long as the product is not served: 
  (i)  as part of a promotion of the industry member's product; or 
  (ii)  as a subterfuge to provide a sample to a person for product testing, analysis, 
or sampling purposes. 
  
(2)  It is unlawful for an industry member or retailer, directly or indirectly, or through an 
affiliate, to engage in an advertisement or promotional scheme that requires the purchase or sale 
of an alcoholic product, or consumption of an alcoholic product, in order to participate in a 
promotion, program, or other activity. 
  
(3)  It is unlawful for an industry member or retailer, directly or indirectly, or through an 
affiliate, to pay, give, or deliver to a person money or any other thing of value, including a 
rebate, refund, or prize, on the basis of the purchase, display, use, sale, or consumption of an 
alcoholic product. 
  
(4)  It is unlawful for an industry member or retailer to sponsor or underwrite an athletic, 
theatrical, scholastic, artistic, or scientific event that: 
 (a)  overtly promotes the consumption of a product; 
 (b)  offers a product to the general public without charge; or 

 (c)  takes place on the premises of a school, college, university, or other educational institution. 
 
 

 
 


