UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AL COHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
1625 South 900 West ¢ PO Box 30408 e Salt Lake City, Utah e 84130-0408 (801) 977-6800 e Fax 977-6888
website: www.abc.utah.gov

SPECIAL USE PERMIT
(RELIGIOUS WINE)
APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Dear Applicant:

The items below must be completed and submitted by the 10" of the month before any action
can be taken by the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission. You will be notified of the
next monthly commission meeting at which your application will be considered for issuance of a
license.

1. Completed application (form enclosed).

2. Local Consent from either city/town council if premises in incorporated area, or county
commission if unincorporated area (form enclosed).

3. $125.00 initial fee (refundable if permit not granted). Make check payable to
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

Enclosed for your information are copies of the Utah Code and the Utah Department of
Alcoholic Beverage Control Rules pertaining to Special Use permits. If you have any questions,
please contact Licensing and Compliance at (801) 977-6800.
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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL USE PERMIT

(Religious Wine)

1. Church or Religious Organization:

2. Address:

Street PO Box City State Zip

3. Phone: fax: e-mail;

4. Person (s) to Contact; clergy, director, and/or manager.

TITLE NAME HOME ADDRESS

HOME PHONE# DR LIC# SS# DOB %OWNED___
Are you a United States Citizen? If no, must attach a copy of residency status.

TITLE NAME HOME ADDRESS

HOME PHONE# DR LIC# SS# DOB %OWNED___
Are you a United States Citizen? If no, must attach a copy of residency status.

5. Criminal History. The law prohibits persons who have been convicted of certain crimes from holding
alcoholic beverage licenses or permits. This applies to any applicant, proprietor, partner, managing agent,
director, or officer of the organization. This also applies to any stockholder owning at least 20% of the
corporation stock, or if a limited liability company, any member owning at least 20% of the company.
Please list all criminal offenses other than minor traffic offenses of which you or any of these persons have
ever been convicted.

NAME CRIMINAL OFFENSE DATE OF CONVICTION

In addition, a criminal history background check must be furnished on each person listed above and in
subparagraph 4. This may be done as follows:

a. Utah residents: If any person listed has been a resident of Utah for at least two years, he/she shall
submit a fingerprint card to the DABC and consent to a fingerprint criminal background check by the Utah
Bureau of Criminal Identification.

b. Non Residents: Out of state residents or persons who have resided in Utah for less than two years
shall submit a fingerprint card to the DABC and consent to a fingerprint criminal background check by the
Federal Bureau of Investigation (F.B.1).

An informed consent and release of liability form is included with this application.
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Fingerprint cards are available at law enforcement agencies. You may download the fingerprint card
at this web address: http://www.fbi.gov/ha/cjisd/pdf/fpcardb.pdf

Submit the form(s) to the DABC with a processing fee of:
* $20.00 per card for BCI background checks, or
* $39.25 per card for FBI background checks.

In the case of an undue delay in the processing of a B.C.I or F.B.I. criminal background check, here are the rules
and procedures for obtaining a third-party national background check: An application that requires a B.C.1 or
F.B.1. criminal history background report(s) may be included on a commission meeting agenda, and may be
considered by the commission for issuance of a license, permit, or package agency if:

1). the applicant has completed all requirements to apply for the license, permit, or package agency other
than the department receiving the B.C.I or F.B.I. criminal history background report(s);

2). the applicant attests in writing that he or she is not aware of any criminal conviction of any person
identified in the application that would disqualify the applicant from applying for and holding the license, permit,
or package agency;

3). the applicant has submitted to the DABC the necessary fingerprint card(s) required for the application
and consented to the fingerprint criminal background check(s) by the B.C.1. or F.B.1.

4). the applicant at the time of application supplies the department with a current criminal history
background report conducted by a third-party background check reporting service on any person for which an
F.B.1. background check is required; and

5). the applicant stipulates in writing that if a B.C.I. or F.B.I. report shows a criminal conviction that would
disqualify the applicant from holding the license, permit, or package agency, the applicant shall immediately
surrender the license, permit, or package agency to the department.

A suggested attestation/stipulation letter that satisfies the above requirements is enclosed.

A third-party national criminal background check can be obtained by;

« searching the yellow pages under Background Screening

» searching the internet under Background Screening or Background Checks

Because the DABC is State Agency, we cannot recommend any one background screening service over another.
It is your responsibility however, to obtain the most complete, nationwide, criminal history available for the
application process.

6. List the types of alcoholic products to be used and the purpose:

7. List the location for storage of alcoholic products:

8. By signing below, the applicant attests that:
a) the applicant is at least 21 years of age.

b) consent is granted to representatives of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Department, Commission,
State Bureau of Investigation (Bureau of Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement), and other law

Effective 7.1.11 v7.18 page 3 of 16



enforcement agencies to be admitted immediately and permitted without hindrance or delay to inspect
the entire premises and all records of the permit holder.

c) he/she has read and will abide by the provisions of Section 32B-10, Utah Code and all rules and
directives of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control; and understands that failure to adhere
thereto shall constitute grounds for removal of said permit.

d) the applicant does not and will not discriminate against persons on the basis of race, color, sex,
religion, ancestry, or national origin.

e) he/she has read and understands the statements made herein; that execution thereof is done voluntarily
and by authorization of said organization, and that any false statement made on this application or any
related document is a second degree felony.

9. The undersigned hereby makes application to the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission for a
Special Use (Religious Wine) permit and certifies that the information contained herein to be true and
correct.

Dated this day
STATE OF
of , 20
COUNTY OF
Subscribed & sworn to before me this day
Applicant/Organization of

Authorized Signature Notary Public

SEAL:

Name/Title
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LOCAL CONSENT
SPECIAL USE PERMIT

(Religious Wine)

Date:

Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Licensing and Compliance Section

1625 South 900 West

PO Box 30408

Salt Lake City, Utah 84130

Gentlemen:

(City)(Town)(County)

hereby grants its consent to the issuance of a Special Use permit to

, Special Use permittee, located

at , pursuant to the provisions

of Section 32B-10, Utah Code for the purpose of purchase, storage and/or other
lawful use of alcoholic products as authorized by the Utah Department of Alcoholic
Beverage Control.

Sincerely,

Authorized Signature

Name/Title
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INFORMED CONSENT AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY

PURPOSE: To determine, in accordance with Utah Code 32B-1-305, 306, and 307, if an applicant with the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control has been:

- convicted of a felony under federal or state law;

- convicted of a violation of a federal law, state law, or local ordinance concerning the sale,
manufacture, distribution, warehousing, or transportation of an alcoholic beverage;

- convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude;

- convicted on two or more occasions within the previous five years, driving under the influence of
alcohol, a drug, or the combined influence of alcohol and a drug.

RELEASE

I hereby authorize the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) to investigate my criminal history records to
ascertain any and all information which may be pertinent to my qualifications as an applicant with the DABC. The
release of any and all information is authorized whether it is of record or not, and | do hereby release all persons, firms,
agencies, companies, groups or installations, whomsoever, from any damages of or resulting from, furnishing such
information to the DABC. | further agree that a copy of this release will remain in my application file.

/
Name (please print; last, first, middle initial) ~ Driver License# or ID card# / state issued

Formerly used last names (please print) Applicant/ doing business as

Signature Date
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(suggested attestation/stipulation letter to the DABC for a third-party national criminal background check)

Date:

To whom it may concern:

1, , attest:

1. That I have submitted to the DABC the necessary fingerprint card(s) required for the application and
consented to the fingerprint criminal background check(s).

2. That I am not aware of any criminal conviction that would disqualify me from applying for and
holding a Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control license or permit.

| stipulate that if a criminal history report shows a criminal conviction that would disqualify me from
holding the license, permit, or package agency, | shall immediately surrender the license, permit, or
package agency to the department.

I am enclosing a national criminal history background report from a third party background check
reporting service.

Signature

Name/Title
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Sales Tax Information for Liquor License Holders

The prices of liquor, wine, and heavy beer at the liquor stores and package agencies do not include sales tax.
The sales tax is added at the cash register when members of the general public shop in a liquor store or
package agency and bring their purchases to the cash register. License holders (licensees) that make
purchases at the cash register will be charged sales tax just like the general public.

Licensees may purchase liquor from the department without paying the sales tax under these two conditions:

1. The licensee must file tax commission form TC-721 with the DABC. A copy of this form is
included in this application packet. Once filed, the licensee can buy liquor, wine, and heavy beer
exempt from sales tax at any DABC owned and operated state liquor store. If the licensee buys
from a local package agency that is a “contracted store” (not owned or operated by the DABC), the
licensee has to file form TC-721 with the package agency in order to be able to purchase “sales tax
exempt”; and

2. The licensee must adhere to the liquor order procedures established by the DABC commission as
follows:
(&) Commission rule requires that orders must be placed in advance to allow department
personnel sufficient time to assemble the order. The order shall include the business name of
the licensee, department permit number, and list the products ordered specifying each product
by code number and quantity. The order may be telephoned or faxed to the store or agency.

(b) The licensee shall allow at least four hours for department personnel to assemble the order
for pick-up. When the order is complete, the licensee will be notified by phone and given the
total cost of the order. The licensee may pay for the product in cash, company check, cashier’s
check, or debit card with a PIN.

(c) The licensee or the licensee’s designee shall examine and sign for the order before it leaves
the store, agency or satellite warehouse to verify that the product has been received.

(d) Merchandise shall be supplied to the licensee on request when it is available on a first come
first serve basis. Discounted items and limited items may, at the discretion of the department,
be provided to a licensee on an allocated basis.

The following licensees and permittees qualify to buy tax exempt:

o full-service restaurants

® |imited restaurants

® private clubs

® airport lounges

® on-premise banquet licensees

® holders of single event permit, public service permits and educational special use permits
that buy for resale

® holders of religious wine permits

Each licensee or permittee will be responsible for collecting the sales tax on the liquor, wine and heavy beer
they resell and remitting the tax directly to the State Tax Commission.
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Utah State Tax Commission
E ion Certifi TC-721
xemption Certificate
{Sales, Use, Tourlsm and Motor Vehicle Rental Tax) Rev. 5/06
Name of business or institution claiming exemption Telephone Number
(purchaser)
City State ZIP Code
Street Address
Authorized Signature Name (please print)
Title
Date
Name of Seller or Supplier: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

The person signing this certificate MUST check the applicable box showing the basis for which the exemption is being claimed.
Questions should be directed (preferably in writing) to Taxpayer Services, Utah State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City,
UT 84134. Telephone (801) 297-2200, or toll free 1-800-662-4335.

DO NOT SEND THIS CERTIFICATE TO THE TAX COMMISSION

Keep it with your records in case of an audit.

Sales tax account numbers with an “H” prefix are not to be used for tax-free purchases for resale or re-lease.

a RESALE OR RE-LEASE
Sales Tax License No.

| certify | am a dealer in tangible personal property or services that is for resale or re-lease. If | use or consume any
tangible personal property or services | purchase tax free for resale, or if my sales are of food, beverages, dairy
products and similar confections dispensed from vending machines (see Rule R865-19S-74), | will report and pay
sales tax on the proper cost thereof directly to the Tax Commission on my next regular sales and use tax return.

O  COMMERCIAL AIRLINES 0O RELIGIOUS OR CHARITABLE INSTITUTION

| certify the food and beverages purchased are by a Sales Tax ExemptionNo. N ____
commercial airline for in-flight consumption; or, any parts —_—
or equipment purchased are for use in aircraft operated

by common carriers in interstate or foreign commerce. | certify the tangible personal property or services
purchased will be used or consumed for essential

religious or charitable purposes. This exemption can
only be used on purchases totaling $1,000 or more,
unless the sale is pursuant to a contract between the
seller and purchaser.

To be valid this certificate must be filled in completely, including a check mark in the proper box.

A sales tax license number is required only where specifically indicated.

Please sign, date and, if applicable, include your license or exemption number.

NOTE TO SELLER: Keep this certificate on file since it must be available for audit review.

NOTE TO PURCHASER: Keep a copy of this certificate for your records. You are responsible to notify the seller of

cancellation, modification, or limitation of the exemption you have claimed.

DO NOT SEND THIS CERTIFICATE TO THE TAX COMMISSION
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TITLE 32B - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL ACT

(Updated through July 2011)

Part 1
General Provisions

32B-10-101. Title.
This chapter is known as the "Special Use Permit Act."”

32B-10-102. Definitions.

As used in this chapter, "special use permit" means a special use permit issued under this
chapter, including:

(1) areligious wine use permit;

(2) an industrial or manufacturing use permit;
(3) ascientific or educational use permit; and
(4) a public service permit.

Part 2
Commission's power to issue special use permit

32B-10-201. Commission's power to issue special use permit.

(1) Before a person may purchase, use, store, sell, offer for sale, allow consumption, or
manufacture an alcoholic product in a manner that requires a special use permit, the person shall
first obtain a special use permit in accordance with this chapter.

(2) (a) The commission may issue a special use permit for the purchase, use, storage, sale, offer
for sale, consumption, or manufacture of an alcoholic product for a limited purpose specified by
this chapter and the rules of the commission.

(b) A special use permit authorizes the special use permittee to purchase, use, store, sell,
offer for sale, consume, or manufacture an alcoholic product only in the quantity, in a type, and
for a purpose stated in the special use permit.

32B-10-202. Application for special use permit -- Qualifications.
(1) To obtain a special use permit, a person shall submit to the department:
(a) awritten application in a form prescribed by the department;
(b) a nonrefundable application fee, if required by the relevant part of this chapter
applicable to the type of special use permit for which the person applies;
(c) aninitial permit fee:
(1) if required by the relevant part of this chapter applicable to the type of special
use permit for which the person applies; and
(i) that is refundable if a special use permit is not issued;
(d) a one-time special use permit fee if required by a section of this chapter:
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(i) applicable to the type of special use permit for which the person applies; and
(i) that is refundable if a special use permit is not issued;

(e) astatement of the purpose for which the person applies for the special use permit;

(F) a description of the types of alcoholic product the person intends to use under
authority of the special use permit;

(g) written consent of the local authority;

(h) if required, a bond as provided in Section 32B-10-205;

(i) afloor plan of the immediate area within the premises in which the person proposes
that an alcoholic product will be used, mixed, stored, sold, or consumed if required by the
relevant part of this chapter applicable to the type of special use permit for which the person
applies;

(j) asigned consent form stating that the special use permittee will permit any authorized
representative of the commission, department, or any other law enforcement officer to have
unrestricted right to enter the special use permittee's premises;

(k) if the person is an entity, proper verification evidencing that a person who signs the
application is authorized to sign on behalf of the entity; and

(I) any other information the commission or department may require.

(2) (a) The commission may issue a special use permit only to a person who qualifies as follows:
(i) the commission may issue a religious wine use permit to a religious
organization;
(ii) the commission may issue an industrial or manufacturing use permit to a
person engaged in an industrial or manufacturing pursuit;
(iii) the commission may issue a scientific or educational use permit to a person
engaged in a scientific or educational pursuit; and
(iv) the commission may issue a public service permit to an operator of an airline,
railroad, or other public conveyance.
(b) The commission may not issue a special use permit to a person who is disqualified
under Section 32B-1-304.
(c) If a person to whom a special use permit is issued no longer possesses the
qualifications required by this title for obtaining that special use permit, the commission may
suspend or revoke that special use permit.

32B-10-203. Renewal of special use permit.
(1) A special use permit expires on December 31 of each year unless otherwise provided on the
special use permit.

(2) To renew a renewable special use permit, a person shall submit a completed renewal
application to the department:

(@) no later than November 30; and

(b) in a form prescribed by the department.

(3) Failure to meet the renewal requirements results in an automatic forfeiture of the special use
permit, effective on the date the existing special use permit expires.
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32B-10-204. Duties of commission and department before issuing special use permit.
(1) (a) Before the commission issues a special use permit, the department shall conduct an
investigation and may hold public hearings to gather information and make recommendations to
the commission as to whether a special use permit should be issued.
(b) The department shall forward the information it gathers and its recommendations to
the commission to aid in the commission's determination.
(2) Before issuing a special use permit, the commission shall:
(a) determine that the person filed a complete application and is in compliance with:
(i) Section 32B-10-202; and
(i) the relevant part under this chapter that applies to the special use permit for
which the person is applying;
(b) determine that the person is not disqualified under Section 32B-1-304;
(c) consider the physical characteristics of the premises where an alcoholic product is
proposed to be used, mixed, stored, sold, offered for sale, or furnished such as:
(i) the condition of the premises;
(i) public visibility; and
(iii) safety considerations;
(d) consider the person's ability to properly use the special use permit within the
requirements of this title and the commission rules including:
(i) the proposed use of the special use permit; and
(ii) the nature and type of person making use of the special use permit;
(e) consider specific factors regarding the specific type of special use permit sought by
the person;
() approve of the location and equipment used by the person to distill alcohol for
experimental testing purposes or use as a fuel; and
(g) consider any other factor the commission considers necessary.

32B-10-205. Bond for special use permit.
(1) A special use permittee shall post a cash bond or surety bond only if the relevant part under
this chapter for the type of special use permit requires posting of a bond.

(2) (a) If a special use permittee is required to post a bond as provided in Subsection (1), the
special use permittee shall procure and maintain the bond for as long as the special use permittee
continues to operate under the special use permit.
(b) A bond required under this section shall be:
(i) inaform approved by the attorney general; and
(if) conditioned upon the special use permittee's faithful compliance with this title
and the rules of the commission.

(3) Ifasurety bond posted by a special use permittee under this section is canceled due to a
special use permittee's negligence, the department may assess a $300 reinstatement fee.

(4) No part of a bond posted by a special use permittee under this section may be withdrawn
during the period that the special use permit is in effect.
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(5) (@) A bond posted by a special use permittee under this section may be forfeited if the special
use permit is revoked.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(a), the department may make a claim against a bond
posted by a special use permittee for money owed the department under this title without the
commission first revoking the special use permit.

32B-10-206. General operational requirements for special use permit.
(1) (a) A special use permittee and staff of the special use permittee shall comply with this title
and rules of the commission, including the relevant part of the chapter that applies to the type of
special use permit held by the special use permittee.
(b) Failure to comply as provided in Subsection (1)(a) may result in disciplinary action
in accordance with Chapter 3, Disciplinary Actions and Enforcement Act, against:
(i) aspecial use permittee;
(i) individual staff of a special use permittee; or
(i) a special use permittee and staff of the special use permittee.
(c) The commission may suspend or revoke a special use permit with or without cause.

(2) (a) If there is a conflict between this part and the relevant part under this chapter for the
specific type of special use permit, the relevant part under this chapter governs.

(b) Notwithstanding that this part may refer to "liquor™ or an "alcoholic product,” a
special use permittee may only purchase, use, store, sell, offer for sale, allow consumption, or
manufacture an alcoholic product authorized for the special use permit that is held by the special
use permittee.

(c) Notwithstanding that this part or the relevant part under this chapter for the type of
special use permit held by a special use permittee refers to "special use permittee," a person
involved in the purchase, use, store, sell, offer for sale, allow consumption, or manufacture of an
alcoholic product for which the special use permit is issued is subject to the same requirement or
prohibition.

(3) (a) A special use permittee shall make and maintain a record, as required by commission
rule, of any alcoholic product purchased, used, sold, or manufactured.

(b) Section 32B-1-205 applies to a record required to be made or maintained in
accordance with this Subsection (3).

(4) (a) Except as otherwise provided in this title, a special use permittee may not purchase liquor
except from a state store or package agency.

(b) A special use permittee may transport liquor purchased by the special use permittee
in accordance with this Subsection (4) from the place of purchase to the special use permittee's
premises.

(c) A special use permittee shall purchase liquor at prices set by the commission.

(d) When authorized by a special use permit, a special use permittee may purchase and
receive an alcoholic product directly from a manufacturer for a purpose that is industrial,
educational, scientific, or manufacturing.

(e) A health care facility may purchase and receive an alcoholic product directly from a
manufacturer for use at the health care facility.
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(5) A special use permittee may not use, mix, store, sell, offer for sale, furnish, manufacture, or
allow consumption of an alcoholic product in a location other than as designated in a special use
permittee’'s application.

(6) Except as otherwise provided, a special use permittee may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish
an alcoholic product to:

(a) aminor,

(b) a person actually, apparently, or obviously intoxicated;

(c) a known interdicted person; or

(d) a known habitual drunkard.

(7) A special use permittee may not employ a minor to handle an alcoholic product.

(8) (a) The location specified in a special use permit may not be transferred from one location to
another location, without prior written approval of the commission.

(b) A special use permittee may not sell, transfer, assign, exchange, barter, give, or
attempt in any way to dispose of the permit to another person whether for monetary gain or not.

(9) A special use permittee may not purchase, use, mix, store, sell, offer for sale, furnish,
consume, or manufacture an alcoholic product for a purpose other than that authorized by the
special use permit.

(10) The commission may prescribe by policy or rule consistent with this title, the general
operational requirements of a special use permittee relating to:

(@) physical facilities;

(b) conditions of purchase, use, storage, sale, consumption, or manufacture of an
alcoholic product;

(c) purchase, storage, and sales quantity limitations; and

(d) other matters considered appropriate by the commission.

32B-10-207. Notifying department of change of ownership.

The commission may suspend or revoke a special use permit if a special use permittee does not
immediately notify the department of a change in:

(1) ownership of the permittee's business;

(2) for a corporate owner, the:

(a) corporate officers or directors; or

(b) shareholders holding at least 20% of the total issued and outstanding stock of the
corporation; or

(3) for a limited liability company:

(a) managers; or
(b) members owning at least 20% of the limited liability company.
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Part 6
Religious Use of Alcoholic Products

32B-10-601Title.

This part is known as "Religious Use of Alcoholic Products."
32B-10-602. Definitions.

Reserved

32B-10-603. Specific application requirements for religious wine use permit.
(1) To purchase an alcoholic product from the department at the department's cost plus freight
charges, a religious organization shall obtain a religious wine use permit.

(2) To obtain a religious wine permit, a person shall comply with Section 32B-10-202.
(3) The one-time special use permit fee for a religious wine use permit is $125.

32B-10-604. Specific operational requirements for religious wine use permit.
(1) (a) In addition to complying with Section 32B-10-207, a religious wine permittee and staff
of the religious wine permittee shall comply with this section.
(b) Failure to comply as provided in Subsection (1)(a) may result in disciplinary action
in accordance with Chapter 3, Disciplinary Actions and Enforcement Act, against:
(i) areligious wine permittee;
(i) individual staff of a religious wine permittee; or
(iii) areligious wine permittee and staff of the religious wine permittee.

(2) A religious wine use permittee may purchase wine from a state store as the department may
designate at the department's cost plus freight charges.

(3) A religious wine use permittee may not use wine purchased under a religious wine use
permit for a purpose other than a religious purpose.

32B-10-605. Religious organization exemption.
(1) A religious organization that provides or allows to be provided an alcoholic product to a
person as part of the religious organization's religious services:

(a) does not violate this title by providing or allowing the provision of an alcoholic
product as part of a religious service; and

(b) is not required to hold a license or special use permit to provide or allow the
provision of an alcoholic product for religious services.

(2) This exemption does not exempt a religious organization from complying with this title with respect to an

alcoholic product purchased by the religious organization for a purpose other than one purpose stated in
Subsection (1).
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R81. Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration.
R81-6. Special Use Permits.

R81. Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration.
R81-6. Special Use Permits.

R81-6-1. Application. (proposed)

An application for a special use permit shall be included in the agenda of the monthly commission
meeting for consideration for issuance of a special use permit when the requirements of Sections [32A-6-102
and -103] 32B-1-304 and 32B-10-202, -205 have been met, and a completed application has been received by
the department.

R81-6-2. Warning Sign. (existing)
All public service permittees which utilize a hospitality room shall display in a prominent place therein a
"warning sign" as defined in R81-1-2.

R81-6-3. Direct Delivery. (existing)

Industrial, manufacturing, scientific, educational, and health care special use permittees may purchase
alcohol directly from the manufacturer and have it shipped directly to the permittee's address, provided the
alcohol is used for industrial, manufacturing, scientific, educational, or health care purposes.

R81-6-6. Religious Wine Permits. (existing)

(1) Purpose. This rule outlines the procedures for a religious wine permit holder to purchase wine for
religious purposes, and the procedures department personnel shall follow to process the purchase.

(2) Application of Rule.

(a) The permit holder may purchase any generally listed wine directly off of the shelf of any state store
or package agency at a charge of cost plus freight. The cashier shall first verify that the purchasing religious
organization is a holder of a permit on file in the department’s licensee/permittee data base. The cashier shall
determine the cost plus freight price of the wine. The wine may be purchased only with cash or a check
belonging to the religious organization, and not with an individual’s personal check or credit card. Checks shall
be deposited in the ordinary course of business with other checks. [If wines are purchased by the case, the
cases must be opened and the individual bottles marked with the state label.]*

(b) The permit holder may order wine for religious purposes directly from the winery and have the
winery ship the wine prepaid at a charge of cost plus freight to the department’s central administrative
warehouse. The warehouse shall deliver the wine to the state store or package agency nearest to the permit
holder’s church. [The state store or package agency shall open any cases and mark individual bottles with the
state label.]* The state store or package agency shall notify the permit holder when the product is available for
pick-up.

(c) The permit holder may place a special order for wines not generally listed by the department only if
the winery will not sell directly to the permit holder. Special orders may be placed only with the special order
clerk at the department’s administrative office. No special orders may be placed with a state store or package
agency. The special order clerk shall verify that the purchasing religious organization is on file in the
department’s licensee/permittee data base, place the order, assign it a special order code number, assess a
charge of cost plus freight, and have the wine delivered to the state store or package agency nearest to the
permit holder’s church. The state store or package agency shall notify the permit holder when the product is
available for pick-up. All procedures for processing the purchase that are outlined in (a) above shall be
followed by the state store or package agency to complete the sale.

* not applicable

Effective 7.1.11 v.7.18 page 16 of 16



