Who We Are

DABC Commission

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission is comprised of seven part-time members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. The commission shall act as the general policymaking body on the subject of alcoholic product control. The commission sets policy and makes rules, and is responsible for the issuance of licenses and permits, and the suspension or revocation of existing licenses for infractions of the law. As a commission they act as a governing board in reviewing the activities of the staff on the day to day operations of the department.

The DABC Commission holds monthly public meetings. The meeting dates are announced on the state's Utah Public Meeting website.

The present commissioners are:

Name of Commissioner Term Ends
Thomas Jacobson, Chairman June 30, 2025
Jacquelyn Orton June 30, 2022
Stanley B. Parrish June 30, 2023
Juliette Tennert June 30, 2023
Tara Thue June 30, 2024
Natalie Randall June 30, 2025
Jennifer Tarazon June 30, 2025

Advisory Board

Representing Member Name Appointment Term
Retail Alcohol Industry Zane Holmquist - Stein Erikson July 1 2019 - June 30 2023
Wholesaler Industry Brett Birt - Golden Beverage July 1 2021 - June 30 2025
Manufacturing Industry Rob Sergent - Alpine Distilling Oct 29 2019 - June 30 2023
Restaurant Industry Fred Boutwell - Gastronomy July 1 2021 - June 30 2025
Utah Substance Use and Mental Health Advisory Council Elizabeth F Klc Statute Appointment
Alcohol or Drug Related Enforcement Sgt. Mike Holt - DPS/SBI September 1 2021 - June 30 2025
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Doug Thomas Statute Apointment
Alcohol or Drug Abuse Prevention and Education Vacant