Utah Dept of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Skip to Content
Home - Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Special Event Permits

When a Special Event Permit is required

A permit is required for any event, private or public, where alcohol is sold, either directly or indirectly. 
Note that it is not legal to serve alcohol to the general public for free.

If alcohol is sold:

  • Directly at a cash bar
  • Indirectly as part of a ticket, admission, donation, or registration price, or
  • If you invite the general public to attend, whether by word of mouth, social media or through public advertising.

You will need a permit.

Event Permits are issued by the DABC Director contingent on review of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission. Each permit has a fee, requires you to get the written consent of the local jurisdiction where the event will be held, and that you pay a cash bond to DABC or obtain a surety bond for the duration of the event. Please note that each local jurisdiction has its own procedures for issuing local consent. You will find local consent and bond forms are in the application packets on the DABC website.

Please work with your locality to ensure that local consent is given to you in time for DABC processing.

Complete applications should be submitted to DABC at least 30 days prior to the event. Applications submitted outside of these guidelines risk non-issuance of a permit. Additionally, Due to statutory restrictions, applications received less than 7 business days prior to the event will not be considered.

Deciding Which Permit You Need

1. TEMPORARY BEER EVENT PERMITS

If you only want to sell beer (beer is defined by Utah Statute as 3.2% by weight) at your event, you will need a "Temporary Beer Event Permit" from the DABC in addition to any that are required by a city, town, or county in which the event is held. Each Temporary Beer Event permit cannot exceed 30 days. The sale of beer under a series of permits issued to the same person may not exceed 90 days in any one calendar year. Permits costs $100 and the refundable bond is $500.00 for the duration of the event.

>> Detailed Temporary Special Event Beer Permit Summary

>> More information on Temporary Special Event Beer Permit

2. SINGLE EVENT PERMITS

If you want to sell beer and/or liquor (distilled spirits, wine and full-strength beer) at your event you must obtain a "Single Event Permit" from the DABC in addition to any that are required by a city, town, or county in which the event is held. There are some limitations associated with these permits:

  • Single Event Permits are only available to bona fide corporations, partnerships, limited liability corporations, incorporated associations, churches, and political organizations that are conducting a convention, civic or community enterprise and have been in existence for at least one year prior to the date of application.  They are also available to recognized subordinate lodges, chapters, or other local units of these entities.
  • Each qualified organization may have up to 4 permits per calendar year for a time period that that does not exceed 120 consecutive hours (5 days) for each permit; or
  • Up to 12 permits per calendar year for a time period that does not exceed 72 consecutive hours each (3 days) for each permit.
  • Each permit costs $125.00 and the refundable bond is $1000.00 for the duration of the event.

>> Detailed Single Event Permit Summary

>> More information on Single Event Permit

 

 

Select a Topic