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UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
P.O. Box 30408 • Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 • Ph: 801-977-6800 • Fax: 801-977-6889 

website: www.abc.utah.gov 
 

Club Liquor License Summary 
Note: This is general information only and should not be considered conclusive.  For further detail, please 

consult Title 32B of the Utah Code (http://le.utah.gov/UtahCode/chapter.jsp?code=32B) 
or the Rules of the Commission (http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081.htm) 

 
A club liquor license allows the sale, storage, service, and consumption of alcoholic beverages 
(liquor, wine, heavy beer, and beer) on the premises.  Licenses run from July 1 to June 30.  The 
total number of licenses allowed by law is one per 7,850 people in the state.   
 
There are four types of clubs 

 Equity clubs such as country clubs. 
 Fraternal clubs such as mutual benefit associations that are organized under a lodge 

system such as fraternal or patriotic clubs. 
 Dining clubs:   

o must have a portion of the premises used for a dining area, and adequate culinary 
facilities to serve full meals,  

o Effective July 1, 2011: dining clubs must maintain at least 60% of their 
overall sales in food sales except that any dining club that was licensed on or before 
June 30, 2011 may maintain 50% food sales until July 1, 2012, but must then 
maintain 60%.  Expensive wines in excess of $250 per bottle are not included in 
calculating the food to alcohol ratio. 

 Social clubs include any other club that does not qualify as an equity, fraternal or dining  
club, such as a social drinking club that does less than 50% of its business from the sale of 
food. 

 
Club Structure 
● Licenses may be issued to sole proprietors, partnerships, corporations, or limited liability 
companies. 
● An equity or fraternal club must have a governing body comprised of at least three members that 
holds regular meetings to approve memberships (and conducts any other business required by the 
club’s bylaws or house rules). 
●Dining and social clubs are open to the public but the club licensee may choose to restrict access 
to only those who are on a list and/or pay a fee. 
 
Membership Requirements are only applicable to Equity and Fraternal Clubs 
● Qualifications for membership are set in the club's bylaws or house rules, however a member 
must be an individual who is 21 years of age or older. 
● Membership Applications.   A club may admit an individual as a member only on written 
application signed by the applicant subject to investigation, vote and approval of the governing 
body. The applicant must pay an application fee and membership dues as established in the club’s 
bylaws or house rules.    
● A member=s spouse is entitled to all rights and privileges of the member to the extent permitted 
by the bylaws or house rules of the club, except to the extent restricted by law (i.e. a spouse who is 
a minor, cannot be in a bar area, purchase or consume alcohol, etc.). 
● A minor child of a member is entitled to all rights and privileges of the member to the extent 
permitted by the club=s bylaws or house rules, except to the extent restricted by law (i.e. cannot be 
in a bar area, purchase or consume alcohol, etc.). 
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● A patron, in order to be admitted to or use the premises of an equity or fraternal club, and/or to 
purchase alcoholic beverages at the club, must be a club member, or guest of a member to the 
extent permitted in the clubs bylaws or house rules. (see below: Guest Hosting applicable to Equity 
and Fraternal Clubs) 
 
Guest Hosting applicable to Equity and Fraternal Clubs 
● Guests  

 must be previously authorized by a member;  
 allowed to use the premises to the extent permitted by the club’s bylaws or house rules; 
 have only those privileges derived from the host for the duration of the guest=s visit.   

● The club and its employees may not enter into an agreement or arrangement with a member to 
indiscriminately host members of the general public into the club as guests. 
● An individual is allowed as a guest without a host: 
  ● in an equity club, if the individual is member of another equity club that has reciprocal guest 
privileges with the equity club licensee, or 
 ● in a fraternal club, if the individual is a member of the same fraternal organization as the 
fraternal club licensee. 
 
Sale and Service of Alcoholic Beverages: 
(1)  Liquor Sales 
(a) The primary liquor in a mixed drink may be dispensed from any size bottle, but only in 
quantities not to exceed 1.5 ounces through a department approved calibrated metered 
dispensing system or device.  The club must post a list of types and brands of liquor dispensed 
through the dispensing system.    
(b) Liquor used as a secondary flavoring need not be dispensed through the dispensing 
system.  Liquor stored and used as flavorings must be clearly labeled "flavoring".   
(c) The total amount of spirituous liquor in a beverage (including both the primary liquor and 
any secondary flavorings) may not exceed 2.5 ounces of spirituous liquor.  
(d) Each patron may have no more than a total of 2.5 ounces of spirituous liquor (including 
flavorings) at a time before the patron. 
 
(2)  Wine Sales 
(a) Wine may be sold and served by the bottle or container in sizes not exceeding 1.5 liters to 
tables of four or more.  For tables of less than four, the size can not be larger than 750 ml.  
(b) Wine may be served by the glass or individual portion in quantities not exceeding 5 ounces.  
An individual portion (i.e. “flights”) may be served to a patron in more than one glass as long as the 
total amount of wine in the individual portion does not exceed 5 ounces. An individual portion of 
wine is considered one alcoholic beverage. 
(c) Wine may be poured by the glass from any size bottle or container and need not be 
dispensed through a dispensing device. 
(d) Unfinished wine may be removed from a club by a patron if the bottle is re-corked or 
recapped. 
 
(3)  Heavy Beer Sales:  Heavy beer may be served in original containers not exceeding one liter. 
 
(4)  Flavored Malt Beverage Sales: Flavored malt beverages may be served in original containers 
not exceeding one liter. 
 
(5)  Beer Sales:  Light beer may be served in any size container not exceeding 2 liters and on 
draft.  Beer may be sold to an individual patron only in a container that does not exceed one liter.  
A pitcher (larger than one liter and up to two liters) may only be sold to parties of two or more.  
Beer may be sold to go in sealed containers. 
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Limitation on Total Number of Drinks 
● Each club patron may have no more than two alcoholic beverages of any kind at a time before 
the patron subject to the following limitations: 
 If two spirituous drinks are in front of a patron, one may not be the same primary liquor 
dispensed as a shot-on-the-side (previously referred to as a “side car”).  Also, the two drinks can 
not contain a total of more than 2.5 ounces of liquor at a time before the patron.  
 
Price List 
● A club must have readily available for its patrons a printed alcoholic beverage price list or menu 
containing current prices of all alcoholic beverages. 
 
Discounting Practices Prohibited 

● Alcoholic beverages may not be sold at a discount at any time. 
● Discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-consumption of alcohol (i.e. Ahappy 
hours@, Atwo for ones@, combination pricing, Aall you can drink for a set price@, free alcohol, or 
selling at less than cost). 
● A club licensee or employee may not purchase an alcoholic beverage for a patron.   
 
“Brown Bagging” 
● Patrons may not bring in or store spirituous liquor, heavy beer, or beer (3.2% alcohol by weight) 
on the premises, however at the licensee’s discretion a patron may bring in bottled wine for 
consumption on the premises. 
● Wine brought in must be immediately delivered to a server or an employee of the club. 
● A wine service may then be performed, and patrons may serve themselves or others at the table. 
 
Food Availability 
● Clubs must offer a variety of food prepared and served in connection with dining 
accommodations. 
● Food must be available at all times when alcohol is sold, served, or consumed. 
 
Advertising 
● Signs advertising alcoholic beverages may be displayed inside and outside the club. 
● Alcohol advertising by the club must comply with the guidelines in Rule R81-1-17 which may be 
viewed at http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081-01.htm#T16.  
● Public advertising by a Fraternal or Equity club must identify the club as being “a club for 
members”. 
 
Sales and Consumption Hours 
● Alcoholic beverages may be sold on any day from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m.  
● A patron may not remove an open container primarily used for drinking purposes and containing 
an alcoholic beverage, from the club premises. 
● Clubs must remain open an extra hour after alcohol sales and service have ended to allow a 
patron to finish consuming: 

 ● a single drink containing spirituous liquor; 
       ● a single serving of wine not exceeding five ounces; 
       ● a single serving of heavy beer; 

● a single serving of beer not exceeding 26 ounces; or 
 ● a single serving of a flavored malt beverage. 

● Clubs do not have to remain open after all patrons have vacated the premises, or during an 
emergency.   
● Hours of Consumption. Consumption of alcohol in clubs is prohibited between the hours of 2 a.m. 
and 10 a.m.  
● The liquor storage area must remain locked at times when liquor sales are not permitted. 
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Employees 
● Any employee handling alcoholic beverages must be twenty one years of age or older. 
● Servers of alcohol must wear a unique identification badge showing the employee's first name, 
initials, or a number assigned by the employer.   
● Employees, while on duty, may not consume alcoholic beverages or be intoxicated. 
 
Alcohol Training and Education Seminar Required 
● Managers, supervisors, and employees who serve alcohol must take and pass an alcohol server 
training seminar every three years and must complete the training within 30 days of commencing 
employment. 
 
Employee Fines 
●  The commission is authorized to assess an administrative fine against an officer, employee, or 
agent of a licensee for a violation of the alcoholic beverage laws.   
 
Electronic Age Verification by Dining & Social Club Licensees (ID Scanners) 
● ID scanners are not required for equity clubs and fraternal clubs. 
● The ID scanner requirement applies to all dining and social clubs whether or not the dining or 
social club chooses to restrict access by way of a membership or an access restriction that is 
imposed by the club. 
● Social Clubs and Dining Clubs must electronically verify age before anyone who appears to be 
35 years of age or younger may gain admittance to a social club, or obtain an alcoholic beverage 
in a dining club. 
● Social Clubs and Dining Clubs must be able to read, print, or download the data in the ID 
scanners.  Club owners/managers should have the knowledge and capability to produce the data 
upon request of a peace officer or authorized representative of the DABC. 
● The DABC does not provide a list of approved scanners.  ID scanners (electronic age verification 
devices) are available from multiple manufacturers and vendors.  An ID scanner selected by a 
social or dining club licensee must meet the requirements of rule R81-5-18 which may be viewed 
at http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081-05.htm#T16 
and is summarized below.  
● An electronic age verification device: 
a) must contain the technology to read a magnetic stripe and a two dimensional (“2d”) stack 
symbology (bar code), or an alternate technology capable of electronically verifying the proof of 
age; and 
b) shall be capable of reading a valid state issued driver’s license, a valid state issued identification 
card, a valid military identification card, or a valid passport; 
c) shall have a screen that displays no more than a person’s name, age, ID number, birth date, 
gender, ID status & expiration date; and 
d) shall have the capability of electronically storing the name, age, ID number, birth date, gender, 
ID status & expiration date for seven days (168 hours) including the time and date the proof of age 
was scanned. 
● If the proof of age cannot be scanned electronically, an alternative method of verifying an 
individual’s proof of age shall include a record or log showing the type, number, and expiration date 
of the ID; the date the ID was presented, the individual’s name and date of birth. 
● Any data collected either electronically or otherwise, may only be used for the purpose of 
verifying an individual’s proof of age and may not be retained by the licensee in a data base for 
mailing, advertising, or promotional activity, to acquire personal information to make inappropriate 
personal contact with the individual, and shall be retained for a period of seven days from the date 
on which it was acquired, after which it must be deleted.  The data collected may be acquired by 
law enforcement, or other investigative agencies. 
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Minors in Equity, Fraternal, and Dining Clubs 
● Minors may not be on the premises of a lounge or bar area of any club.   
● Minors may not be on the premises of a dining club unless accompanied by an individual who is 
21 years of age or older. 
● Minors may not be on the premises of any club that provides sexually oriented adult 
entertainment. 
● Minors may be employed by an equity, fraternal, or dining club, but may not work in any lounge 
or bar area, or sell, serve or handle alcoholic beverages. 
● Minors who are least 16 years of age may work at a cash register in an equity or dining club to 
ring up the sale of alcoholic beverages. 
 
Minors in Social Clubs 
● Minors may not be employed on the premises of a social club. 
● Minors may not be admitted into, use, or be on the premises of a social club.  
● A narrow exception exists for minors to be allowed in certain areas of social clubs that were 
granted a “dance or concert hall permit” before May 12, 2009. 
● Local governments may be more restrictive of a minor’s admittance, use of, or presence on the 
premises of any private club. 
 
Bad Checks 
● The DABC may immediately suspend the club license if it receives a bad check as payment for 
liquor, for licensing or bond fees, fines and costs for violations, etc. 
 
Warning Sign 

● Each club licensee shall display, in a prominent place, a sign no smaller than eight and 
one half inches high by eleven inches wide stating: “WARNING - Drinking alcoholic beverages 
during pregnancy can cause birth defects and permanent brain damage for the child. Call the Utah 
Department of Health at 1-800-822-2229 with questions or for more information. Driving under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime that is prosecuted aggressively in Utah.”  The two 
warning messages shall be in the same font size but different font styles that are no smaller than 
36 point bold.  The font size for the health department contact information shall be no smaller than 
20 point bold. 
 
Prohibited Conduct  
$ Lewd acts, attire, and sexually oriented conduct of employees and entertainers that are 
considered contrary to public welfare and morals are prohibited on the premises. See Utah Code 
Section 32B-1-501 through 506 which may be viewed at: 
http://www.le.utah.gov/UtahCode/section.jsp?code=32B-1 
$ Gambling – Licensees may not engage in or permit any form of gambling on its premises. 
$ Illegal drugs or drug paraphernalia - A retail licensee may not knowingly allow a person on the 
licensed premises to sell, distribute, possess, or use a controlled substance; or use, deliver, or 
possess with the intent to deliver drug paraphernalia. See Utah Code Section 32B-5-301(5) which 
may be viewed at: http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE32B/htm/32B05_030100.htm 
 


