
Utah
Department of
Alcoholic
Beverage
Control

In This Issue

  Licensing Newsletter

Updates from the UDABC

   Volume 13 Number 1 Winter 2004/2005
   

 

On-Premise Beer License Renewals
Neil Cohen’s annual renewal reminder for
taverns and on-premise beer licenses...Page 1

Communication is Key
Tom Zdunich makes some sobering suggestions for
curbing consumption problems...Page 2

Guest Article from the Department of Public Safety
The three pronged approach to law enforcement...Page 2

A Violation Fund
Tom Zdunich says that feeding the kitty may soften the
blow...Page 3 

Can you I.D. an I.D.?
Keith Zuspan tells you how to work through
TEARS...Page 4

65% of Kids...
Stephne Hanson fills in the blanks of the DABC public
awareness campaign...Page 5

Web Links
Helpful hints for surfing our website...Page 5

Violations and Penalties
Chris Johnson provides a summary of the adjudicated
violations...Page 6

Licensee Liquor Ordering Procedures
Al Potvien provides an update on the laws...Page 7

It’s Chicha Time!
Read John Bryant’s article to find out...Page 7 

Strange Brew
Earl Dorius presents news from other states...Page 8

Keg Parties?
Abe Kader taps into the subject...Page 9

Hit-Up for a Handout?
Abe Kader explains that industry members may not
donate alcoholic products...Page 9 

 

 

Beer License Renewals
by Neil Cohen

On premise beer licensees will receive a renewal
application in early January.  The renewal
documents and fees are due on Monday,

January 31, 2005.

The renewal fee is $200 for on-premise beer retailers
that are not taverns.  The renewal fee for taverns is
$1000. 

Important license renewal items to remember: 
1. Due date is Monday, January 31, 2005.
2. We will notify you if you have delinquent taxes or
are otherwise not in good standing with the Utah Tax
Commission (sales tax/payroll withholding), Labor
Commission, Division of Industrial Accidents (workers
compensation coverage), or The Department of
Workforce Services (unemployment insurance tax
requirements).  These delinquencies must be cleared
before your license can be renewed.
3. Get any background checks needed for new
managers.
4. Have servers and managers take the Alcohol
Server Training Class.
5. Sign the renewal application and have it notarized.
6. Have your insurance agent send us a certificate of
general and liquor liability insurance  .
7. If you mail in your renewal, remember to put the
renewal payment in the envelope.

If you have a state beer license and do not receive a
renewal packet or if you have any questions about the
renewal process, please call the licensing and
compliance division at 801-977-6800.Ë

The Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission usually meets once a month
towards the end of each month. Meeting
dates and times are subject to change.  

The regular December meeting is
scheduled for Tuesday, December 21st  at
1:00 p.m.

The meetings are open to the
public and are held in the board room at
the DABC office building: 1625 S 900 W,
Salt Lake City.  
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Communicate those Consumption Problems
By Tom Zdunich

Recently a  DABC + COPS + CLUBS training
was held that included management and
servers from one of our Ogden licensees.

During that training, some very interesting
operational policies surfaced that we felt were
worth passing along to other licensees.

This particular club pays a great deal of
attention to transferring information about patrons
and their alcohol consumption from one employee
to another.  The staff in this club holds daily shift
change meetings that address issues about
alcohol consumption and other concerns.

These meetings generally include the
door person, roamers, servers and bartenders. It
has been noted that since more emphasis has
been placed on these meetings and the desired
results, a number of the “problem drinkers” have
stopped coming into the club.

Additionally, more attention has been

placed on what goes on in the parking lot
adjacent to the club. 

Many of the potential problems that could
work their way into the club are stopped at the
entrance because of the communication that goes
on between the “roamer” in the parking lot and
the door person.

It is this club’s perception that
communication between members of staff about
possible alcohol related problems can help stop a
violation that could result in a suspension or
possible loss of a private club license.Ë

A Guest Article from:

Three Pronged Approach to Liquor Law Enforcement
by Sgt. Greg Willmore

Enforcement of state alcohol laws helps
to ensure a safe environment for citizens.  The
Utah Department of Public Safety is initiating a
three pronged approach to liquor law enforcement
to include (1) a statewide approach, (2) criminal
prosecution and administrative action, and (3)
shared responsibility between licensees, DABC,
and law enforcement.  

The first prong is a statewide approach. 
As part of DPS the Utah Highway Patrol has over
300 troopers throughout the state.  These

troopers will assist field agents with all aspects of
liquor law enforcement, including inspections,
investigations, and operations throughout the
entire state.

Criminal, as well as administrative action,
constitute the second prong.  Enforcement action
by DPS has mainly focused on administrative
action (i.e. the referral of a licensee to DABC
when a violation occurs).  Violations of the
Alcohol Control Act are prosecutable in criminal
court.  When an investigation conducted by DPS
indicates that laws were violated by a licensee,
especially when the result of the violation involves
death or serious injury, criminal prosecution and
administrative action will be taken against the
licensee.

The third prong encourages a shared
responsibility between licensees, DABC, and law
enforcement.  Together we will identify ways to
ensure that the consumption and service of
alcohol in Utah is done responsibly.  We look
forward to this partnership.Ë

Communication between members of
staff about possible alcohol related
problems can help stop a violation.

The mission of the Utah Department of
Public Safety (DPS) is to provide a safe
environment for the citizens of the state
of Utah. 

The Licensing Newsletter is published every four months by the State of Utah, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, P.O. Box 30408, Salt Lake City Ut, 84130-0408. 
Telephone: 801-977-6800, Fax: 801-977-6888, e-mail: abcmain.hotline@utah.gov  Website: http://www.abc.utah.gov

Governor: Olene Walker, Director: Kenneth F. Wynn, Newsletter Editor: Earl F. Dorius, Newsletter Coordinator: Neil Cohen, Contributing Editors: John Bryant, Keith
Zuspan, Stephne Hanson, Chris Johnson, Abe Kader, Tom Zdunich, Al Potvien.
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Is a Violation Fund the Answer?
By Tom Zdunich

Have you ever considered
creating a violation fund
to help cover fines for a

violation of the liquor laws? 
Suppose the unthinkable
happens and you find your
organization faced with a fine
and possible suspension of
the liquor license.

Monthly contributions
that were made throughout the
year by your employees and

managers could help soften
the blow.  A mere $5 monthly
contribution per person could
add up quickly.

Since most licensees
do not receive violations
throughout the year, the fund
could be used to create a

positive impact on your
operation. 

Monthly contributions
create a constant reminder to
staff that attention needs to be
paid to liquor laws and that it
is a team effort that attains the
goal of being violation free.  

Additionally, there is
the possibility of having a nice
company party at the end of
the year with the collected
funds if no violations occur.Ë

Checking Identification
by Keith Zuspan

To prevent acceptance of fake or false
identification, training of your staff to detect
is extremely important. The days of crudely

assembled, cut-and-paste IDs are gone replaced
by the internet and desktop publishing
technology. These new fake IDs are more difficult
to detect than ever before. The servers should
routinely examine all identification of customers
who do not appear to be of legal drinking age. 

In examining the license, the server should
practice TEARS:
Touch the ID. Look for:

-' glue lines or bumpy surfaces by the
picture or birth date.
-' pin holes on the surface.
-' thickness of an ID. If it's been re-
laminated, it may be thicker. 
-' any edges that can be lifted or peeled

Examine:
-' the photo and physical description.
They should match the person handing
you the ID.
-' the expiration date. You CANNOT
accept an expired ID.
-' the birth date. Do your math. Are they 21?
-' whether or not the ID is a duplicate. If
it is, ask for another form of ID.
-' the state logo. If it's partially missing
or appears altered, the ID might be fake.
-' the hologram. Is it a genuine
hologram or a basic hologram added to a
fake ID?
-' the card's reverse side lettering.
Some ID-makers neglect the back side of
the ID.  Look for blurred lettering or a cut
out piece of paper.
-' whether it is an out-of-state license.
Use an ID checking guide when you're

looking at an unfamiliar license. A
Driver's License Booklet is available from
your beer distributor.

Ask:
-' about basic items on the card, such
as the birth date, middle initial, zip code,
age, etc.
-' for a second form of ID. People with
fakes rarely carry back-up identification.
-' them to complete and sign a Proof of
Valid and True Identification form, if their
age is still question, in accordance with
Utah Code 32A-1-303 and 32A-1-304
(see box below).

Return:
-' the ID if you are satisfied that the
proof of age is valid, you may permit the
individual to be served.

Stop the process:
-'if you're not convinced, do not serve
them.

Note: A copy of this form is provided on the next
page.  If you would like to use this form, please
make duplicate copies to have on hand at your
establishment.Ë

It is a team effort that attains the
goal of being violation free.

*32A-1-303 (1) In addition to requesting the presentation of
proof of age under Section 32A-1-302, any person
authorized to sell or otherwise handle alcoholic beverages or
products shall require any person whose age is in question
to sign a statement of age on the form provided under
Subsection (2) that includes:
     (a) the date the statement of age is signed; and
     (b) the number assigned to the person's proof of age by
the issuing authority.
(2) (a) At the request of a licensee, the commissioner of
public safety shall provide to a licensee under this title the
form for the statement of age described in Subsection (1).
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PROOF OF VALID & TRUE IDENTIFICATION
As per UCA 32A-1-303 and 32A-1-304

(Completed by Licensee)
FULL LEGAL
NAME: ________________________________________________________________________________________________________

LAST FIRST MIDDLE TITLE
RESIDENCE
ADDRESS: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Number/Street/Apartment City State Zip Code

WEIGHT: __________ EYE COLOR: ______________ DATE OF BIRTH: _________________________________________________
Month/Day/Year

HEIGHT: ________ FEET ________ INCHES      SEX: ___________   HAIR COLOR:________________________________________

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: __________- ________- __________ or TAX ID NUMBER: _______ __________________________

TYPE OF IDENTIFICATION PRESENTED 

DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER: ____________________________________________________ STATE: _______________________

IDENTIFICATION CARD: ________________________________________________________ STATE: _______________________

MILITARY IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: ___________________________________________ BRANCH: _____________________

PASSPORT NUMBER: __________________________________________________ISSUING COUNTRY: ______________________

NO IDENTIFICATION HOWEVER APPEARS TO BE OVER 30 YEARS OF AGE: __________________________________________

I am currently ______________ as of today's date
                                       Print current age

I ____________________________________________, the undersigned, state I and the individual described above 
                                                               print full name
on this form and that the information recorded herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I am fully 
aware that if it is found that I knowingly provided false information on this form that I would be subject to criminal
prosecution.

_____________________________________________________  Date: ______________________________
                Signature of above described individual                                                                                                                                  Month/Day/Year

WITNESS:  If they have no identification and are in the company of someone who has proper identification 
that person may attest below as per UCA 32A-1-303

I, ______________________________________, the undersigned do attest that the information recorded above on 
                              print full name

this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I am fully aware that if the above information is found to 
be knowingly false that I would be subject to criminal prosecution.

_____________________________________________________  Date: _______________________________
                Signature of above stated witness                                                                                                                                         Month/Day/Year

Accepted by:  __________________________________________ Title: ________________________________
                                                                Printed name of Liquor Licensee Employee

_____________________________________________________  Date: _______________________________
                Signature of Liquor Licensee Employee                                                                                                                                  Month/Day/Year

This form shall be filed in alphabetical order and maintained for 3 years. This document is subject to examination by peace officers, representatives of State Bureau of Investigation and
 authorized employees of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (UCA 32A-1-303)
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Let’s Do Our Part
By Stephne Hanson

The UDABC has launched a public
awareness campaign to raise the awareness
among parents and the public about how

kids get the alcohol they drink.  By now you may
have noticed the billboards throughout the Salt
Lake valley about alcohol and kids.  At first, the
billboards read:  65% of kids.   After weeks of
anticipation, the rest of the billboard message
was finally revealed!!  If you haven’t seen the
billboards, the message is:  “65% of kids get
alcohol from family and friends.  Let’s work
together to keep kids alcohol-free.”

The Century Council, a national not-for-
profit organization is funded by America’s leading
distillers.  The organization which is dedicated to
fighting drunk driving and underage drinking, has

partnered with organizations to unveil the new
public awareness campaign designated to
prevent underage drinking and discourage
attempts to purchase alcohol by minors.

The goal of this campaign is to raise the
awareness among parents and the public about
how 65% of kids get the alcohol they drink.  
Parents are the most influential persons in a
child’s decision not to drink alcohol.

A little known fact is that of the kids who
drink, 65% say they get their alcohol from family
and friends.  7% obtain alcohol at licensed
establishments that don’t check ID.  28% report
other sources (obtaining fake IDs and the good
ole’ asking a stranger routine).

At the Utah Department of Alcoholic
Beverage Control, we’re in the alcohol business
to control the sale/distribution of alcohol in a
responsible manner.  It is also the responsibility
of licensees to play a role in the fight against
lowering underage drinking in Utah.Ë

Information on the web
By Neil Cohen

The DABC website is www.abc.utah.gov.  There you will find the following links:
Kcomplete price list: http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/Products/products_main.html
Kapplication packets: http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/license_permit/lic_app.html
Kserver training information:
http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/license_compliance/serv_train.html
Kserver training classes: http://www.hsdsa.utah.gov/stateapprovedproviders.htm
Khow to look up a server’s training record: http://www.hsdsa.utah.gov/beverageserverreports.htm
Kliquor store locations: http://www.abc.utah.gov/Stores/locate_store.html
Kpast issues of this newsletter: http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/license_permit/newsletter_main.htm
Kthe DABC annual report: http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/Background/annual_rpt.html
Klinks to other government sites: http://www.alcbev.state.ut.us/links.html

And lots more!!  Jump on in and surf around!

How DO kids get the alcohol they drink?
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Violations and Penalties 
by Chris Johnson

Below is a list of the most recent violations and penalties assessed for all licensees.  Please review the violations listed
below with your staff to prevent similar violations from occurring in your own establishment.  As you can see by the number
of alcoholic violations listed, law enforcement agencies have been very active.  PLEASE BE CAREFUL!! 

CL = Private Club Liquor OPB = On-Premise Beer TV = Taverns
RE = Full Service Restaurant RL = Limited Service Restaurant TB = Temporary Beer permitees
SE = Single Event Permitees BW = Beer Wholesaler * = Prior Violation History  

License
Type

Name of Establishment Description of Violation(s) Penalty Assessed

CL Cruzrs Saloon, Salt Lake Non-member entry & sale Written warning
     BE La Macarena #2 Restaurant, Salt Lake No ID badge Fine of $100.00 plus costs

     RE Paris, Salt Lake and Emanual Labarek
(employee)

Free-pouring 5 day suspension plus costs

CL Brewski=s, Ogden and Miles Moore
(employee)

Sale to minors
Non-member entry & sale

Fine of $3,000.00 plus costs
Dismissed

RL Jumbo Buffet, Midvale Sale to minors *
No ID badge

12 day suspension plus costs

RE Café Silvestre, Midvale Unlocked storage Written warning
RE Café Terigo, Park City Unlocked storage

Liquor not affixed to metering system
Dismissed
Fine of $500.00 plus costs

TB Event Services, Salt Lake Sale to minors
Sold more than 2 A/B to a person at one time
Failure to maintain proof of age location at event
Operational restrictions not posted

Fine of $600.00
Fine of $600.00 plus costs
Written warning
Written warning

CL Flirts, Lehi and Stacy Olsen (employee) Sale to intoxicated persons 12 day suspension plus costs
CL Gatorz, Midvale Giving away free drinks Fine of $250.00 plus costs
RE Mi Ranchito, American Fork and Maria

Ramirez (employee)
Sale to minors* 10 day suspension plus costs

TV Radio City, Salt Lake and Sam Snow
(employee)

Sale to minors 5 day suspension plus costs

     RE Red Lobster, Murray and Shelly Isom
(employee)

Sale to minors Fine of $3,000.00 plus costs
Fine of $100.00 Bemployee

     BE Romero Restaurant, Pleasant Grove
and Janeth Jimenez (employee)

Sale to minors
No ID badge

5 day suspension plus costs
Written warning

    BE The Tee Shoppe, Salt Lake and Kevin
McCain (employee)

Sale to minors 5 day suspension plus costs

    CL Three Alarm, Midvale and Brett
Bangerter and Alisha Jackson
(employees)

Sale of liquor on election day
Unlocked storage

Fine of $200.00 plus costs

    RE Tgi Friday,s Provo and Kelsey Phelps
(employee)

Sale to minors 5 day suspension plus costs

    CL Tip Top, Centerfield and Darin Roberts
and Charles Allred (employees)

Sale to minors
Allowing minors on the premises of a class AD@
club 
Employee consuming on duty
Non-member entry & sale

7 day suspension B ct. 1 & 2
Dismissed
Written warning

    CL Utopia, Salt Lake Non-member entry & sale Fine of $450.00 plus costs
    BE Winger=s, North Logan Liquor on the premises of an OPB licensee

No ID badge
6 day suspension plus costs
Written warning

    BW Carlson Distributing, Salt Lake Sale of A/B to an unlicensed premise Fine of $500.00 plus costs
    BW General Distributing, Salt Lake Sale of A/B to an unlicensed premise Fine of $500.00 plus costs
    BW M & M Distributing, Salt Lake Sale of A/B to an unlicensed premise Fine of $500.00 plus costs
    SE Salt Lake City Arts Council, Salt Lake

and Kristin Montaque (Employee)
Sale to minors
Untrained server

Fine of $500.00 plus costs
Fine of $75.00
Fine of $50.00 B employee

    CL Naked, Salt Lake Non-member entry & sale Fine of $250.00 plus costs
    CL Area 51, Salt Lake Issuing visitor cards in excess of three weeks Fine of $500.00 plus costs
    RL Asuka Japanese Sushi & Steakhouse ,

Provo
Minor selling A/B
Untrained server
Warning sign not posted

6 day suspension plus costs
Fine of $250.00
Written warning

    CL Mother Urban=s RAtskeller, Park City
and Michael Kaplan (employee)

Sale of beer in excess of two liters Fine of $450.00 plus costs
Fine of $50.00 B employee

    CL Murphy=s Bar & Grill, Salt Lake and
Dennis Butler and Monique Montoya
(employees)

Sale to minors *
Minors on the premises of a class AD@ club *
Sold a visitor card to a minor *

Dismissed
5 day suspension and a fine of
$500.00 plus costs
Dismissed

    RE Ruth=s Diner, Salt Lake Unlocked storage
Open bottles not attached to a metering system

Fine of $150.00 plus costs
Fine of $500.00

    RL Xiao Li, Salt Lake and Sonne Lim Bailey
(employee)

Sale to minors 5 day suspension plus costs
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Liquor Ordering Procedures for Licensees
by Al Potvien

Liquor ordering for licensees can be made easy by following the established procedures which are
found in the DABC rules (summarized below).  You may purchase liquor, wine and heavy beer at
either the club & restaurant store located at 1625 S 900 W, Salt Lake City (phone 801-975-4035) or at

your local state liquor store or package agency.  Remember, you are required to place your orders prior to
picking them up to give the store adequate time to get the orders ready for you.  

If you need information about on-line ordering or would like to open an on-line ordering account, call Greg
Rogers at 801-977-6826.

Liquor Order and Return Procedures
The following procedures shall be followed when a
liquor licensee orders liquor from or returns liquor to
any state liquor store, package agency, or department
satellite warehouse:

(1)  The licensee must place the order in
advance to allow department personnel sufficient time
to assemble the order.  The licensee or employees of
the licensee may not pick merchandise directly off the
shelves of a state store or package agency to fill the
licensee’s order.  The order shall include the business
name of the licensee, department licensee number,
and list the products ordered specifying each product
by code number and quantity.

(2)  The licensee shall allow at least four hours
for department personnel to assemble the order for
pick-up.  Whenthe order is complete, the licensee will
be notified by phone and given the total cost of the
order.  The licensee may pay for the product in cash,
company check or cashier’s check.

(3)  The licensee or the licensee’s designee
shall examine and sign for the order before it leaves
the store, agency or satellite warehouse to verify that
the product has been received.

(4)  Merchandise shall be supplied to the
licensee on request when it is available on a first come
first serve basis.  Discounted items and limited items
may, at the discretion of the department, be provided
to a licensee on an allocated basis.

(5)(a)  Spirituous liquor may be returned by the
licensee for the original purchase price only under the
following conditions:

(i) the bottle has not been opened;
(ii) the seal remains intact;
(iii) the label remains intact; and
(iv) upon a showing of the original cash

register receipt.
(b)  A restocking fee of 10% shall be assessed

on the entire amount on any returned spirituous liquor
order that exceeds $1,000.  All spirituous liquor
returned that is based on a single purchase on a single
cash register receipt must be returned at the same
time at a single store, package agency, or satellite
warehouse location.

(b)  Wine and beer may not be returned by the
licensee for the original purchase price except upon a
showing that the product was spoiled or non-
consumable.Ë

It’s Chicha Time!!
By John Bryant

According to an article in the
August 2, 2004, issue of the
“State Capitals Newsletter”,

last July, a team of scientists from
the Chicago Field Museum
uncovered a brewery in the
mountains of southern Peru where
more than a 1,000 years ago
members of the Wari Empire made
an alcoholic beer-like drink called
chicha.

This brewery was not a
small operation.  It appears that it
could deliver the goods when
dozens, if not hundreds, of Wari

decided they needed a “cool one”. 
The brewery may be the oldest
large-scale facility of its kind ever
found in the Andes.

Scientists have long known
the Wari made chicha, a spicy drink
similar to beer, but nothing on the
scale of the brewery they just found. 
Based on the brewing room that
contained the pieces of several 10
to 15 gallon ceramic preparation
vats, its estimated that this one
facility could produce as many as a
few thousand liters of chicha a day.

Chicha was not a difficult
beverage to produce.  The Wari
would boil water and other
ingredients such as fruits and
grains.  To make the drink spicy,
pepper tree seeds were included in
the recipe.  To fuel the fire, llama
and guinea pig dung was used in
the fire pits.  (I’m sure that added
something to the flavor!)

It’s not known if the Wari
argued that chicha was “less filling”
or “tastes great” but I’m sure they
did enjoy it when it was “Chicha
Time”.Ë

On-line ordering is available for liquor licensees through the department website.  Click on the “on-line
services” link at www.abc.utah.gov or enter the complete URL as:
http://javaweb.abc.state.ut.us/NASApp/orderweb/LLoginJsp.jsp
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Liquor Law News from Other States
by Earl Dorius

So often we hear how strict or unique the liquor laws are in Utah.  However, I recently read the
following news accounts from other states you might find interesting:

Remember the Mini-bottle?

SOUTH CAROLINA was
the last state to toast farewell to
the minibottle.  The state just
passed a constitutional
amendment allowing lawmakers
to decide how drinks are served. 
The Legislature likely will pass a
law next year to add larger free-
pour bottles while keeping
minibottles as an option.  

The state was the only
one in the nation to prohibit drinks
from being poured from bottles
larger than the 1.7 ounce
minibottle.  The vote was closer
than a lot of people expected due
to heavy lobbying by minibottle
distributors, and a concern that
there were no guidelines on how
the Legislature will decide how
much liquor can be served.

It was noted that the
average free-pour drink has about
an ounce of alcohol compared
with the 1.7 ounce serving from a
minibottle.

Prohibition Lives?

WILLIAMSON, NEW YORK was
until recent years one of a few
towns in New York that prohibited
the sale of alcohol.  It allowed no

taverns, prohibited beer from
being sold at convenience stores,
and mandated that no beer or
wine be sold in the restaurants.

Residents in 1996 voted
to allow beer and wine coolers to
be sold in grocery stores, but that
was it.  However, voters this year
approved three propositions that
allow restaurants to serve beer
and wine, liquor stores to open,
and farms to get winery licenses. 
Bars and taverns are still banned. 
One proposition that did not pass
would have allowed the local
raceway to serve beer.

Some residents say they
will avoid restaurants that serve
alcohol. The owner of Gus’s
Restaurant in Williamson
promises he’ll never serve alcohol
despite the new law.   One of his
waitresses commented, “I grew
up in this town and it’s always
been alcohol free.  They sell it in
grocery stores now and I think
that’s sufficient.”   Resident Lee
Coller said, “I just don’t think you
need to change something that
isn’t broke.  The younger ones
favor the change, the old timers
will struggle” with it. 

Bye Bye Brownbagging...

BRYAN COUNTY, OKLAHOMA -
Twenty years after Oklahomans
gave counties the option of liquor
by the drink, Bryan County voters
approved a proposition to allow
state-licensed businesses,
including restaurants, to sell
liquor.  Previously, county
residents who wanted to drink
liquor socially outside their homes
had to join “bottle clubs” and bring
their own liquor where only that
person could drink the alcohol.

State voters allowed
counties to choose whether to sell
liquor by the drink in 1984.  The
next year, voters in 29 of the
state’s 77 counties approved
drink proposals.  Three more
counties followed the year after
that.  Since then, enthusiasm to
switch from bottle clubs to mixed
drink sales has dampened.

Some counties probably
will never vote on the issue, said
H.T. Scott, assistant director of
the state Alcohol Beverage Law
Enforcement Commission. 
Although selling individual drinks
is illegal in nearly half the state,
17 “bottle clubs” dot dry
counties.Ë

FROM MINNESOTA:



UDABC Licensing Newsletter Winter  2004/2005

9

Keg Parties?
by Abe Kader

In 1990 the Utah Legislature restricted the
possession of beer kegs because “keg parties”
had become a public safety issue.  Although

kegs are a convenient and inexpensive way to
buy and serve beer to a large group, they can
also be a liability for the keg provider and the host
of the party.  

Law enforcement pointed out that keg
parties often lead to under-aged drinking and
over-consumption.  As a result, the legislature
passed a law stating, “A person may not
purchase or possess beer in containers larger
than two liters unless the person is a beer retailer
authorized by this title to dispense beer on draft
for consumption on the beer retailer’s licensed
premises.” [32A-12-206(2)]  

When a keg is sold or supplied to an
unauthorized person, the seller could face a
violation and penalties for the illegal sale and
possibly for the consequences of under-aged

drinking and over-consumption.
For beer sold for on or off premise

consumption, state law is very clear about the
unlawful sale or supply of keg beer.  It states that
“A person may not sell, offer to sell, or otherwise
furnish or supply beer to the general public in
containers larger than two liters.” [32A-12-206(1)]  

Recently, two DABC licensees received
violations for selling kegs to unauthorized
persons.  So remember, although beer
wholesalers and breweries may sell kegs to beer
retailers for dispensing on the retailer’s premises,
retailers may not sell beer to consumers in
containers larger than two liters.Ë

Donating Alcoholic Products
By Abe Kader

Industry members such as
wineries, beer wholesalers,
and breweries, are often

asked by various groups to
sponsor their events.  State
law allows industry members
to sponsor events, but with
restrictions.  

The main restriction is
that industry members may
not donate alcoholic products
because the law states, “It is
unlawful for any industry
member, directly or indirectly
or through an affiliate, to give
away any of its alcoholic
products to any person except

for testing, analysis, and
sampling purposes by the
department and local industry
representative licensees to the
extent authorized by this title.”
[32A-12-606(1)(a)] 

 Also, “An industry
member may contribute to
charitable, civic, religious,
fraternal, educational, or
community activities.  A
contribution described in
(4)(g)(i) may not be given to
influence a retailer in the
selection of the alcoholic
beverage products that may
be sold at these activities and
events.”  This contribution

allows industry members to
donate money but not product.
[32A-12-603(4)(g)(i)(ii)]

On occasion, the
department receives calls from
members of the public who
say they have been offered a
donation of free beer for their
function.

So if you are an
industry member and get
asked for a donation to
sponsor an event, you may
continue your generosity and
support.  However, your
donation may not include
alcoholic beverage product.Ë

Beer wholesalers and breweries may
only sell kegs to licensed retailers. 
Licensed retailers may only sell beer in
containers no larger than two liters.

Are you an industry member who is asked
for a donation??  Remember, if you’re in
the giving spirit, you may not give spirits
(or beer, or wine...)
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