
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
  
 

D.A.B.C. Holiday Newsletter 

STATE OF UTAH 

The purpose of a holiday newsletter is to 
keep licensee’s updated on the events in the 
state of Utah. The holidays are a good time to 
reflect on what we hope was a successful and 
safe year for you and your employees.        
We enjoy seeing your success and appreciate 
the opportunity to serve you in your alcohol 
related compliance questions. We enjoy 

Happy holidays from our D.A.B.C. family to yours!  

Questions & Answers on the subject of scanners 
 
Do I need to use my scanner every day or 
just during the busy times? The answer is 
every day. Social clubs must electronically 
verify the identification of anyone who 
appears 35 years of age or younger to enter 
the club. Dining clubs are required to 
electronically verify the identification of 
anyone who appears 35 years of age or 
younger to purchase an alcoholic beverage. 
 
What if an ID cannot be scanned? 
Identification which cannot be scanned i.e 
passports or military identification cards, must 
be manually reviewed and a daily log 
maintained with the: 
 

 date the identification is presented 
 individuals name 
 date of birth 
 type of identification (such as driver 

license, passport, state ID card) 

having done our jobs in helping you to do 
yours… however it is our policy as an 
agency to not accept ANY gifts, even from 
those we serve. We want always to appear to 
be the professionals the public expects us to 
be.  

Wishing you much success with your 
business endeavors, The D.A.B.C. 

 ID’s expiration date and 
 ID number issued by the issuing 

authority. 
 

A state driver license or identification card 
which cannot be scanned due to bar code 
damage must follow the same process as 
passports. These logs are considered records 
and must be maintained for 7 days and then 
must be destroyed.  
 
In addition to the logs, the scanner contains 
data which is considered a “record”. You 
may be required to provide the information 
from your scanner to the department as part 
of our normal audit visit process or by law 
enforcement agencies in conducting an 
investigation. 
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Skiing in Utah, Thanksgiving Day! 
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We are seeking 
representatives from 
each license type for the 
new Alcohol Beverage 
Control Advisory 
Board. Please see 32B-
2-210 for qualifications 
and requirements.  If you 
are interested in being a 
member of the board, 
please contact Vickie 
at 801-977-6801  
or vickieashby@utah.gov. 

Sale of Liquor "to go" 
 

A patron may not leave the 
premise with an open 
container of an alcoholic 
beverage.  However, a 
licensee may sell 3.2% beer 
to go in a container(s) that 
does not exceed two liters 
(must be in connection with 
an order of food consumed 
on the premise of 
a restaurant).  Unconsumed 
wine that has been re-corked 
after a meal may also be 
taken from the premise.  
 
 Unopened wine and/or 
heavy beer may not be 
sold "to go" from any on-
premise license. 



 
 
 
Our staffs’ favorite 
Christmas joke: 
 
What do you call a 
person who is afraid of 
Santa Claus? 
 
Claustrophobic! 
 

 
 
 

 

32B-6-305 [Pricing of alcoholic product -- 
Other charge] has not changed.   While a 
lawsuit agreement clarified that menu 
prices may change daily, rules related to 
specials and discounting are still in place.  
 
The clarification provides licensees may 
change their prices daily provided that they 
are reflected on a printed menu. The prices 
or menus may not be advertised in a way 
that violates the statute. 
 
   A retail licensee may not sell an alcoholic 
product: 

 at a discount price on any date or at any 
time. 

 at less than the cost of the alcoholic 

product to the retail licensee 
 at a special or reduced price that 

encourages over consumption or 
intoxication   

 at a special or reduced price for only 
certain hours of the retail licensee's 
business day, such as a "happy hour." 

 for the price of a single alcoholic product 
when more than one product is furnished 
(no “two for one” specials)  

 at an indefinite or unlimited number 
during a set period for a fixed price. 

Drink Specials? 

As a reminder, those who want to drink 
alcohol on New Year’s Eve will most 
likely do so without any extra 
encouragement. We advise licensees who 
want to promote a “value added” New 
Year’s Eve package (or any holiday 
package) not to emphasize the drinking 
part, but to promote the value in the food 
and entertainment (or in any lodging deal if 
it applies). 
 
Licensees who are planning party packages 
for the holidays may not include, pre-sell, 
or give away alcoholic beverages as part of
a package, because: The club and 
restaurant laws specifically require 
liquor, wine, and heavy beer to be listed 
on a separate price list and sold by the 
glass or bottle. 
 
The advertising rules prohibit promotions 
that encourage over-consumption or 
promote increased consumption. 
Promotions are not allowed that require the 
purchase or consumption of alcoholic 
beverages in order to participate.  
 
 
 

Speaking of Specials, A reminder about party Packages… 
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  A retail licensee may not engage in a promotion 
involving or offering a free alcoholic product to 
the general public. 
   
What is a printed menu?   “Any 
printed menu, master beverage price list or 
other printed list is sufficient as long as the 
prices are current and the list is readily 
available to the patron.”  R81-5-11(2). The 
menu change may provide information 
regarding the availability and price of a 
product, but cannot contain a statement that 
is misleading or advertise an unlawful 
discounting practice.  R81-1-17(6) 
 
For example: a weekly menu cannot be 
handed to a patron which shows a draft beer 
for $2 on Tuesdays and $3 all other days.  An 
insert menu cannot be provided stating $2 
drafts when the regular menu (also viewable 
by patron) shows a price of $3.  The daily 
price changes are a change in regular price 
and therefore, should be printed if the price 
changes, even if each day has a different 
menu. 

Licensees may not engage in a promotion 
that offers free alcoholic beverages to 
patrons. Remember: A “midnight toast,” a 
bottle of champagne, or any other alcoholic 
beverages may not be included in the price of 
a New Year’s Eve Package. 
 

 Alcoholic beverages may not be 
pre-sold. 

 Alcoholic beverages must be priced 
and charged for separately. 

 A printed price list must be made 
available for patrons. 

 All servers are required to be trained 
to keep track of the number of 
drinks served to a patron and not to 
over-serve a patron. 
 

So our advice is to promote the food, 
festivities, favors, and fun. Be wise, do your 
best to keep your patrons safe, don’t over-
serve, and have a happy New Year! 

 

 

*WARNING! 
 

We have seen an 
increase in these types of 
violations… 
 
A restaurant licensee may 
not sell, offer for sale, or 
furnish an alcoholic 
product except in 
connection with an order 
for food prepared, sold, 
and furnished at the 
licensed premises.  
 
 The law does not allow 
for an alcoholic drink to 
be served while a patron 
reviews the menu.  To 
avoid a violation of service 
without an order of food, 
the licensee should at the 
very least establish that the 
patron is dining at the 
restaurant, but best 
practice would be to 
require that the food 
order be placed prior to 
service of the alcoholic 
beverage. 

We Want to Help! 
 
Whenever you or 
members of your service 
staff have questions about 
Utah Liquor Laws, 
remember that we at the 
D.A.B.C. are your 
experts! Please call or E-
mail if you would like 
clarification on any 
alcohol related question.  
 
And we do offer FREE 
training for your staff by 
your specific license 
type… 
 


