LICENSEE HANDBOOK
TAVERN LIGENSE

UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
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TO ALL LICENSEES

As a licensee of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, you are required to be aware
of the responsibilities, procedures, and potential liabilities regarding the sale and service of
alcohalic beverages.

This handbook has been prepared to help you with the lawful handling of alcoholic beverages.
Please review this information and keep the handbook available for reference. This version of the
handbook is issued in October 2020. Previously issued handbooks should be discarded as they
may contain outdated information.

Our website (www.abc.utah.gov) has information about the liquor laws and rules with direct links
to the complete code and administrative rules, as well as information about stores and agencies,
products and prices, server training, and other interesting links. The website is regularly updated.
Please review the website for information and services as they are developed.

It is our responsibility and desire to be of service and assistance. If you have questions after
consulting the handbook, please call us at 977-6800, or write, or e-mail the compliance division
of this department at dabccompliance@utah.gov.




TAVERN LICENSE

Allows the storage, sale, service, and consumption of beer (not heavy beer)
on the premises of a tavern.

Tavern licenses run from March 1°t to the last day of February. License fees are not prorated, so full
fees will be due even if a new license was issued at any time during the previous year. To apply for a
tavern license, a non-refundable application fee of $300 plus a $1,500 initial licensing fee is required.
All license renewals are due by January 31%tevery year and the renewal fee is $1,250.

Be prepared to renew licenses beginning January 1%t through January 315t annually.



https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081.htm

TAVERN lICENSES are limited to a quota, formulated by the population of the state. Taverns are defined as:

. beer bars

e parlors

e  |ounges

e  cabarets
e nightclubs

Taverns have no food
requirement, but food
is a good idea
because it helps slow
intoxication,
generates additional
revenue, and gives patrons something else to do besides
drink. Remember it is illegal to allow someone to
become intoxicated.

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

DISPLAY SIGNS - A tavern licensee must display:

e A Warning Sign - The template may be downloaded from our

website. _'WARNING

DRINKING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
DURING PREGNANCY CAN CAUSE

BIRTH DEFECTS AND PERMANENT

The warning sign contains two messages, each of which BRAIN DAMAGE FOR THE CHILD

must be in a different font. It may be used as-is or custom CALL THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AT
. . . 1-800-822-2229 WITH QUESTIONS OR MORE INFORMATION
made, but the size of the sign and the size of the fonts may WARNING
not be any smaller than the template. The color of the print DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
. ALCOHOL OR DRUGS IS A SERIOUS
does not have to be red, and the sign does not have to be CRIME THAT 1S PROSECUTED
white, but it has to be easily readable and posted in a AGGRESSIVELY IN UTAH

prominent place on the tavern premises.

e DABC and local licenses also need to be posted in a prominent place.

State Of Utah
Department Of Alcoholic Beverage Control
M PREANES BEER LICENSE

‘e

LOCAL CITY LICENSE
T, L SOMEWHERE REC LLC
ST 1234 SOMEWHERE STREET

SOMEWHERE CITY, UT 84000




SALES AND CONSUMPTION HOURS

Beer may be sold on any day from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m.
Consumption of beer is prohibited between the hours of 2 a.m. and 10
a.m. Taverns must remain open an extra hour after alcohol sales and
service have ended to allow a patron to finish consuming:

e asingle serving of beer not exceeding 26 ounces

Taverns do not have to remain open after all patrons have vacated the
premises, or during an emergency.

PURCHASE OF BEER

Beer must be purchased from beer distributors. Licensees must
call and set up an account with the appropriate distributor for
their area. A list of distributors may be found on the DABC
website.

Beer may also be purchased from any licensed Utah small brewer
that manufactures beer. However, bar licensees may not purchase
beer from any other retail outlet such as grocery or convenience
stores, etc. for resale at the licensed establishment.

BEER STORAGE

Beer may only be stored in a designated place approved by DABC
on the initial application floor plan. Any changes in the storage
area(s) must first be approved by DABC.




BEER SALES AND SERVICE

e Each tavern patron may only have two servings of
beer at a time.

e Beer may be sold to an individual patron only in a
container that does not exceed one liter.

o Beer flights may be sold to a patron as long as the
total amount of beer does not exceed 16 ounces.

NO MORE THAN TWO

e Beer may be sold and served in pitchers, not exceeding 2 liters to parties of
two or more.

e Beer sold in sealed containers may be removed from the tavern premises.

s g | PRICELISTS

A bar must have readily available for its patrons, a printed alcoholic beverage price
list, or a menu containing current prices of all alcoholic beverages.

ADVERTISING

7 Signs advertising the availability of alcoholic
2 beverages may be displayed.

ELECTRONIC AGE VERIFICATION - ID SCANNERS

The ID scanner requirement applies to all taverns whether or not they choose to restrict access by way of
membership.

Taverns must electronically verify age before anyone who appears to be 35 years of age
or younger may gain admittance.

Taverns must be able to read, print, or download the data in the ID scanners.
Owners/managers should have the knowledge and capability to produce the data upon
request of a peace officer or an authorized representative of the DABC.

The DABC does not provide a list of approved scanners. ID scanners (electronic age

verification devices) are available from multiple manufacturers and vendors. An ID scanner selected must meet the
requirements of rule R82-4-101 which may be viewed on our website, or a summary of requirements can be found
in the TOPICS LIBRARY under ‘Licensee Support.”




NO MINOR EMPLOYEES ARE ALLOWED

e Minors may not be employed on the premises of a tavern. This includes band members, construction
workers, etc.
e Minors may not be admitted into, use, or be on the premises of a tavern EVER — even if closed.

EMPLOYEES

o Any employee who sells, serves, dispenses, or handles beer must be twenty-
one years of age or older.

e  Servers of beer must wear a unique identification badge showing the
employee's first name, initials, or a number assigned by the employer and must
be worn above the waist.

e Employees may not consume or be under the influence of alcoholic beverages
while on duty.

Employees can be FINED for violations.

The commission is authorized to assess an administrative fine against an officer,
employee, or agent of a licensee for a violation of the alcoholic beverage laws.

TRAINING

SERVER TRAINING:

The Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Server training is required for all owners, managers,
supervisors, and employees who serve (or manage those
who serve) alcohol. They must take and pass an alcohol
server training seminar every three years and must complete
the training within 30 days of commencing employment. Go
to our website for information on state-approved training
programs.

DABC MANAGER TRAINING:

e EVERY MANAGER must complete the DABC “"Manager Training Program” as a condition of obtaining their
DABC license. Any new manager must take the training within 30 days of hire.

e A manager includes owners and employees that act in a supervisory or managerial capacity over the
furnishing of an alcoholic product or the employees who serve alcoholic products.

e Training will be conducted by the DABC and the fee is $25 per manager.

Please be careful off-duty owners or employees wha have been drinking
must not step back in and perform any on-duty type functions.




RECORDKEEPING

Tavern licensees are required to keep current, detailed quarterly records for expenses
and sales of alcohol and food. All records must be kept for a minimum of three years.

BROWN BAGGING

Patrons may not bring in or store any alcohal on the premises of a tavern.

TEMPORARY CLOSURE MORE THAN 10 DAYS

You MUST notify your compliance officer in writing if you are going to be closed for more than 10
days. Emergency closures may be granted by telephone. NOT DOING SO is an automatic
forfeiture of the retail license. Failure to RE-OPEN by the approval date also results in automatic forfeiture.

DISCOUNTING PRACTICES PROHIBITED

Beer may not be sold at a discount at any time.

Other discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-
consumption of beer (i.e. happy hours, two for ones, all you can drink
for a set price, free beer, or selling at less than cost).

A tavern licensee or employee may not purchase an alcoholic beverage
for a patron.

BAD CHECKS

The DABC may immediately suspend the license if it receives a bad check as payment for
licensing or bond fees, fines, and costs for violations, etc. A fee will also be assessed for
bad checks and the licensee will be required to pay the full amount and the fee.




PROHIBITED CONDUCT

e LEWD ACTS - attire and sexually-oriented conduct of employees and entertainers that are considered
contrary to public welfare and morals are prohibited on the premises.

e GAMBLING - NO paying to play a game of
chance to win money or a prize.
Licensees may not engage in or permit
any form of gambling on its premises
including contests or gaming schemes
that require risking something of value
for a chance of a return - including
raffles, bingo, poker, etc.

e |LLEGAL DRUGS or drug paraphernalia - A
retail licensee may not knowingly allow a
person on the licensed premises to sell, distribute, possess, or use a controlled substance or use,
deliver, or possess with the intent to deliver drug paraphernalia.
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