
 
 

A Temporary Beer Permit allows the sale of beer for on 
premise consumption at a temporary event.  

 

 

 

 

A single permit may authorize the sale of 
beer for a period not to exceed 30 days. 

The sale of beer under a series of permits 
issued to the same person may not exceed 90 
days in any one calendar year. 

 

Permits are issued by the DABC Director contingent on review of the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission. To ensure adequate processing and approval, complete applications should be 
submitted AT LEAST 30 days prior to the event.  Applications submitted outside of these 
guidelines risk non-issuance of a permit. Additionally, due to statutory restrictions, 
applications received less than seven business days (not counting the day the application is 
submitted or the day of the event) prior to the event  will not be considered.  

• No person who has been convicted of a felony; two or more convictions of driving under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs within the last five years; or any crime involving the 
sale, manufacture, distribution, warehousing, adulteration or transportation of alcoholic 
beverages, or involving moral turpitude may apply for or be granted a temporary beer 
permit. 

• No permit will be issued to any person or business that has had any liquor license or 
permit revoked within the last three years. 

• A minor may not be granted a temporary beer permit.  
• If the applicant is a partnership, a minor may not be a partner or managing agent. 
• If the applicant is a corporation or limited liability company, a minor may not be a 

managing agent, officer, director or stockholder who holds at least 20% of the stock of a 
corporation or owns at least 20% of a limited liability company. 

Utah Statute defines beer as 
3.2% alcohol by weight. Items 
purchased at a liquor store, 
such as heavy beer and 
flavored malt beverages may 
not be stored or sold at 
temporary beer events. 

 



• Completed application form. (See the actual application and checklist for specifics - 
please follow the checklist carefully). 

• A $100 permit fee. 
• A cash or surety bond in the amount of $500. – Refundable after the event with 

submission of refund request and a copy of beer purchase receipts. 
• Written consent of the local 

governing authority (city, town, 
county), or a locally issued temporary 
permit. 

• Proposed Advertisements - 
copies and/or links to advertising for 
the event. 

• A scaled floor plan of the event 
premises highlighting liquor storage, 
sales and consumption areas.   

• All required control measures as listed in the application must be shown/explained on 
the floor plan - the director will consider the adequacy of control measures for 
prevention of consumption by minors and intoxicated persons at the event. Outdoor 
public events or public events where estimated attendance exceeds 1000 are required 
to adhere to extra control measures as listed in the 
application.   

• Evidence of proximity to schools, churches, libraries, 
playgrounds and/or parks - The commission may 
consider the general proximity of the event to 
educational, religious, and recreational facilities in 
determining whether to grant a permit. 

• If your event includes games of chance (i.e. “Casino 
Night”) in which one must pay to play a game of chance for a possible prize, (either 

money or something of value) this is considered 
gambling in Utah, and a permit will not be issued.  
This includes indirect purchases to play these games, 
such as an entrance ticket or donation at the door.  
 
 

• PLEASE NOTE:  If there is any indication 
 of games at your event that are usually 
 associated with gambling, a letter must 
 be obtained from the city or county 
 attorney where the event is being held, 
 confirming that your games are NOT 
 gambling.  
 

Each local city, town, or county 
jurisdiction has its own local beer 
permit.  Apply with them first, 
early enough to ensure adequate 
time for processing of the DABC 
permit. 
 



 

 

 
Purchases of Beer  
Temporary beer permit holders must purchase, acquire, possess for resale, or 
sell beer that has been lawfully purchased from: 
 

• A Utah beer wholesaler; or 
• A small brewer (manufactures less than 60,000 barrels per year); or 
• A licensed Utah beer retailer. 

 
 Please retain receipts for submission to the Department following the event. 

 

• Beer may be sold in original containers not exceeding 1 liter, or by the pitcher.  No 
more than 1 liter can be sold to an individual patron or up to two liters to two or 
more patrons.  

 
 

 
• Each temporary event attendee may have no more 

than one alcoholic beverage at a time before the patron. 
 

• A temporary beer permit holder may not sell, offer for sale, or 
furnish an indefinite or unlimited number of alcoholic products during a set period 
for a fixed price.  
 

• An exception to this restriction is allowed if alcoholic products are served to a 
person at a seated event, food is available when the alcohol is furnished, and this 
exception is not advertised.  
 

• Remember though, you cannot allow a person be become intoxicated, so also make 
sure you are serving alcohol responsibly for each situation. 

 

 
• Beer may be sold, offered for sale and consumed from 10 a.m. 

until 1 a.m. No consumption of alcoholic products is allowed 
after 1 a.m. A local authority may be more restrictive regarding 
the hours of sale, service, or consumption of beer. 

 
 
 



 
• Any employee who sells, serves, dispenses, or handles beer must be 

twenty one years of age or older.  
 

• Employees may not consume or be under the influence of alcoholic 
beverages while on duty. Employees that sell or serve beer do so 
under the direction and supervision of the temporary beer permit 
holder.   
 

• All employees who will be checking I.D.’s at your event and at least 
one server at each alcohol serving station will be required to have completed an 
approved Alcohol Server Training Program.   GO HERE  to link to approved training 
programs. 
 

 
  

 
• Discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-consumption of beer such 

as reduced prices for certain hours of the event (i.e. “happy hours”), “two for ones”, 
free beer, or selling at less than cost. 
 
NOTE:  No alcoholic beverages can be included in the event’s promotional activities 
such as auctions, gift baskets or prize winnings etc. 
 

• Only the permit holder can bring or remove alcohol from the premises of the event. 
• An open container primarily used for drinking purposes and containing beer, may not 

be removed from the premises. 
• No “Brown Bagging” - Attendees of an event may not bring any alcoholic beverages 

onto the premises of the event. 
 

 
• Public advertising of the event may refer to the availability of beer at the event. 

However beer advertising must comply with the guidelines in Rule R81-1-17. 
•  GO HERE  

 

 
• Each temporary beer permitee shall display, in a prominent place, 

a “warning” sign.  A sign will be provided along with your permit, or 
you can pick one up at the DABC. 

https://dsamh.utah.gov/ucation-programs/
https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081-01.htm
https://abc.utah.gov/license/documents/health_DUI_warning_sign.pdf�


 

 
• Lewd acts, attire, and sexually oriented conduct of 

employees and entertainers that are considered contrary to 
public welfare and morals are prohibited on the premises. 

• Gambling – On-Premise Banquet Licensees may not engage 
in or permit any form of gambling on its premises.  

• Illegal drugs or drug paraphernalia - An event permitee may 
not knowingly allow a person on the licensed premises to 
sell, distribute, possess, or use a controlled substance; or use, deliver, or possess with 
the intent to deliver drug paraphernalia. 

 

 

 

• Please Contact us at: 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: This is general information only and should not be considered conclusive. For further 
details, please consult Title 32B of the Utah Code and the Rules of the Commission  

 

DABC 
1625 SOUTH 900 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY, UT  
801-977-6800 
ABC.UTAH.GOV 
 

https://abc.utah.gov/laws/index.html
https://abc.utah.gov/laws/index.html
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