LICENSEE HANDBOOK
BAR ESTABLISHMENT LIGENSES
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TO ALL LICENSEES

As a licensee of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, you are required to be aware of
the responsibilities, procedures, and potential liabilities regarding the sale and service of alcoholic
beverages.

This handbook has been prepared to help you with the lawful handling of alcoholic beverages. Please
review this information and keep the handbook available for reference. This version of the handbook
is issued September 2020. Previously issued handbooks should be discarded as they may contain
outdated information.

Our website (www.abc.utah.gov) has information about the liquor laws and rules with direct links
to the complete code and administrative rules, as well as information about stores and agencies,
products and prices, server training, and other interesting links. The website is regularly updated.
Please review the website for information and services as they are developed.

It is our responsibility and desire to be of service and assistance. If you have questions after
consulting the handbook, please call us at 977-6800, or write, or e-mail the compliance division of
this department at dabccompliance@utah.gov.




BAR ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE

Allows the storage, sale, service, and consumption of alcoholic beverages on the premises
of a social bar establishment.

Bar Licenses run from July 15t to June 30™. All license renewals are due by May 31t every year. The renewal fee is
$2,000. License fees are not prorated, so full fees will be due even if a new license was issued at any time during

the previous year.

Be prepared to renew licenses beginning May 1%t through May 31" annually.



https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081.htm

BAR I.ICENSES are limited to a quota, formulated by the population of the state.

There are three types of bar licenses. The bar, the equity, and
the fraternal. However, this handbook pertains only to the
social bar establishment.

Bar licenses are issued to social drinking establishments that
are open to the public. However, the bar may choose to be
private and restrict access to only those who are on a list or
pay a fee if they choose.

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

DISPLAY SIGNS - A Bar licensee must display:

e A Warning Sign - The template may be downloaded from our website.
WARNING

DRINKING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
DURING PREGNANCY CAN CAUSE

The warning sign contains two messages, each of which must be in a BIRTH DEFECTS AND PERMANENT
different font. It may be used as-is or custom made, but the size of BRAIN DAMAGE FOR THE CHILD
the sign and the size of the fonts may not be any smaller than the ‘“"°°*‘”'””'“””::_f:;";’_‘f:::""“'"’“““““""
template. The color of the print does not have to be red, and the sign DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
does not have to be white, but it has to be easily readable and posted A O R s
in a prominent place on the bar premises. AGOGRESSIVELY IN UTATI

o [DABC and local licenses also need to be posted in a prominent place.

State Of Utah
Of Alcoholic B
ON PREMIEE BEFR LICENEE

S ey LOCAL CITY LICENSE
e e SOMEWHERE REC LLC
[ mandreran 1234 SOMEWHERE STREET

i SOMEWHERE CITY, UT 84000

o NO ONE UNDER 21 - Bars must also display a sign 8-1/2 inches long and

11 inches wide indicating that the premises is “A BAR" and that “NO ONE THIS IS A BAR
UNDER 21 IS ALLOWED". It must be posted in a conspicuous place at the No One Under
entrance of the premises. Templates can be found on our website or you 21 is Allowed

may make your own.




SALES AND CONSUMPTION HOURS

Alcoholic beverages may be sold on any day from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m.
Consumption of alcohol in bars is prohibited between the hours of 2 a.m. and
10 a.m. Clubs must remain open an extra hour after alcohol sales and
service have ended to allow a patron to finish consuming:

a single drink containing spirituous liquor

a single serving of wine not exceeding five ounces
a single serving of heavy beer

a single serving of beer not exceeding 26 ounce

a single serving of a flavored malt beverage

Clubs do not have to remain open after all patrons have vacated the premises, or during an emergency.

PURCHASE OF ALCOHOL

o LN R
Spirits, wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer must be purchased at " STATE LIOUOR & WINE STORE

the Utah state liquor stores or package agencies. Purchasing alcohol from
outside of the state of Utah is unlawful.

A licensee may sign up for
“ACH" ordering

Procedures for ordering alcohol are as follows:

ONLIN E| The licensee must call, fax, or order online in advance of pickup to allow
department personnel sufficient time to assemble the order. Include your
Contact DABC to get business name, DABC license number, and list the products by code number.
signed up.
-.ﬂ Please Note. licensees may not buy merchandise directly off the shelves of a

State store or package agency to fill their order.

ALLOW AT LEAST 4 HOURS for department personnel to assemble the order for pick-up.

When the order is complete, the licensee will be notified and given the total cost of the
order. The licensee may pay for the product in cash, company check, credit card, or
cashier's check. You will have to examine and sign for the order before it leaves the
store to verify that the product has been received.




LIQUOR RETURNS

Spirituous liquor may be returned by the licensee for the original purchase price if:

e The bottle has not been opened

e The seal remains intact

e The label remains intact

o The licensee produces the original receipt

NOTE - Returned orders that exceed $1,000 will require a restocking fee of 10%. All spirituous liquor returned that is
based on a single purchase on a single receipt must be returned at the same time.

WINE AND BEER MAY NOT BE RETURNED . . . unless it can be shown that the product was spoiled or
otherwise non-consumable at the time of purchase.

BEER PURCHASES

Beer must be purchased from beer distributors. Licensees must call
and set up an account with the appropriate distributor for their area.
A list of distributors may be found on the DABC website.

Beer may also be purchased from any licensed Utah small brewer that
manufactures beer. However, bar licensees may not purchase beer
from any other retail outlet such as grocery or convenience stores,
etc. for resale at the licensed establishment.

ALCOHOL STORAGE

Alcohol may only be stored in a designated place approved by DABC on the initial
application floor plan. Any changes in the storage area(s) must first be approved
by DABC.

Storage or dispensing systems located at a patrons table are prohibited.

NOTE: Liquor, wine, and heavy beer storage must remain locked at all times when
alcohol sales are not permitted. However, the licensee may open the storage area
during hours otherwise prohibited for the limited purpose of inventory, restocking,
repair, and cleaning.




EMPLOYEES

Any employee who sells, serves, dispenses, or handles beer must be twenty-one years of age or older.

. Servers of alcohol must wear a unique identification badge showing the
employee's first name, initials, or a number assigned by the employer and must
be worn above the waist.

. Employees may not consume or be under the influence of alcoholic beverages
while on duty.

TRAINING

SERVER TRAINING:

The Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Server training is required
for all owners, managers, supervisors, and employees who serve (or manage those
who serve) alcohol. They must take and pass an alcohol server training seminar
every three years and must complete the training within 30 days of commencing
employment. Go to our website for information on state-approved training programs.

DABC MANAGER TRAINING:

EVERY MANAGER must complete the DABC “Manager Training Program” as a condition of obtaining their DABC
license. Any new manager must take the training within 30 days of hire.

e A manager includes owners and employees that act in a supervisory or managerial capacity over the
furnishing of an alcoholic product or the employees who serve alcoholic products.

e Training will be conducted by the DABC and the fee is $25 per manager.

Employees can be FINED for violations.

The commission is authorized to assess an administrative fine against an officer,
employee, or agent of a licensee for a violation of the alcoholic beverage laws.

Please be careful off-duty owners or employees who have been drinking
must not step back in and perform any on-duty type functions.

NO MINOR EMPLOYEES ARE ALLOWED

e Minors may not be employed on the premises of a bar. This includes band members, construction workers, etc.
e Minors may not be admitted into, use, or be on the premises of a bar EVER — even if closed.
e Anarrow exception exists for minors allowed in “dance or concert hall" permits issued before May 12, 2009.




SALE AND SERVICE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

Liquor Sales

The primary liquor in a mixed drink may be dispensed from
any size bottle, but only in quantities not to exceed 1.5
ounces through a department-approved calibrated
metered dispensing system or device.

Liquor used as a
secondary flavoring
need not be
dispensed through
the dispensing
system.

Liquor stored and
used as flavorings
must be clearly
labeled "flavoring."

The total amount of spirituous liquor in a beverage
(including bath the primary liquor and any secondary
flavorings) may not exceed 2.5 ounces of spirituous
alcohal.

Wine Sales

Wine may be sold and served by the bottle or container
N

in sizes not exceeding 1.5 liters (a
Magnum) to tables of four or more.

For tables of less than four, the size
of the bottle cannot be larger than
750 ml.

Wine may be sold and served by the
glass or
individual /
portion in quantities not
exceeding b ounces. An
individual portion may be
served to a patron in more
than one glass (as a flight) as
long as the total amount of wine in all of the glasses

does not exceed the individual portion size of 5 ounces.
Wine may be poured by the glass from any size bottle or
type of container and need not be dispensed through a
dispensing device.

A patron who has purchased bottled wine may serve
themselves or others (who are 21 or older) at the table.

Beer & Heavy Beer

Beer may be sold and
served in any size
container, not
exceeding 2 liters, and
on draft. However, a
pitcher (larger than
one liter and up to two
liters) may only be
sold to parties of two
or more.

Beer may be sold to an
individual patron only
in a container that
does not exceed one
liter. Beer flights may be sold to a patron as long as
the total amount of beer does not exceed 16 ounces.

Flavored Malt Beverages

May be sold and served in an
original container not
exceeding one liter.




LIMITATION ON TOTAL # OF DRINKS

Each bar patron may only have two servings of an alcoholic beverage of any kind at a
time. Two spirituous beverages may only contain a total of 2.5 ounces of liquor,
including flavorings, between the two drinks and the second drink cannot be a shot of
the same alcohol as the primary liquor in the first drink - no sidecars.

NO MORE THAN TWO

DISCOUNTING PRACTICES PROHIBITED

Alcoholic beverages may not be sold at a discount at any time.
Other discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-
consumption of alcohol (i.e. happy hours, two for ones, all you can
drink for a set price, free alcohol, or selling at less than cost).

A bar licensee or employee may not purchase an alccoholic beverage
for a patron.

ADVERTISING

Signs advertising the availability of alcoholic beverages may be
displayed.

PRICE LISTS

A bar must have readily available for its patrons, a printed alcoholic beverage
price list, or a menu containing current prices of all alcoholic beverages.

FOOD AVAILABILITY

Bars shall have food available at all times
when an alcoholic product is sold, offered
for sale, furnished, or consumed on the
licensed premises.




RECORDKEEPING

Bar licensees are required to keep current, detailed quarterly records for
expenses and sales of alcohol and food. All records must be kept for a minimum
of three years.

S — _ Dispensing liquor through an
approved dispensing system is
required for any licensee selling
o T vt |t e spirituous liguor.
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— - Dispensing records must also
:::EE be kept and matched daily to the sales records of all primary liquor
beverages sold. Spills, miss-clicks, retumned beverages, etc. must all
e e e e S be accounted for on a dispensing record. You may find dispensing
forms on the DABC website, or
o o e = you can formulate your own.
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----- Remember,
e e e falsifying records
is illegal.

BROWN BAGGING

Patrons may not bring in or store spirituous liquar, heavy beer, or beer on the premises.
However, at the licensee's discretion, a patron may bring in bottled wine for consumption on
the premises.

o Wine brought in must be immediately delivered to a server or an employee of the bar.
e Awine service may then be performed, and patrons may serve themselves or others at
the table.

TEMPORARY CLOSURE MORE THAN 10 DAYS

You MUST notify your compliance officer in writing if you are going to be closed for more than 10 days.
Emergency closures may be granted by telephone. NOT DOING SO is an automatic forfeiture of the retail
license. Failure to RE-OPEN by the approval date also results in automatic forfeiture.




ELECTRONIC AGE VERIFICATION - ID SCANNERS

The ID scanner requirement applies to all social bars whether or not they choose to
restrict access by way of membership.

Bars must electronically verify age before anyone who appears to be 35 years of age
or younger may gain admittance.

Bars must be able to read, print, or download the data in the ID scanners.
Owners/managers should have the knowledge and capability to produce the data upon request of a peace officer or
an authorized representative of the DABC.

The DABC does not provide a list of approved scanners. ID scanners (electronic age verification devices) are
available from multiple manufacturers and vendors. An ID scanner selected must meet the requirements of rule
R82-4-101 which may be viewed on our website, or a summary of requirements can be found in the HOT TOPICS
NOTEBOOK under ‘Licensee Support.”

BAD CHECKS

The DABC may immediately suspend the license if it receives a bad check as
payment for liguor, licensing or bond fees, fines and costs for violations, etc. A fee
will also be assessed for bad checks and the licensee will be required to pay the full
amount and the fee.

PROHIBITED CONDUCT

o LEWD ACTS - attire and sexually-oriented conduct of employees and entertainers that are considered
contrary to public welfare and morals are prohibited on the premises.

e GAMBLING - NO paying to play a game of
chance to win money or a prize.
Licensees may not engage in or permit
any form of gambling on its premises
including contests or gaming schemes
that require risking something of value
for a chance of a return - including
raffles, bingo, poker, etc.

o |LLEGAL DRUGS or drug paraphernalia - A
retail licensee may not knowingly allow a
person on the licensed premises to sell, distribute, possess, or use a controlled substance or use,
deliver, or possess with the intent to deliver drug paraphernalia.




	Brown Bagging
	ELECTRONIC AGE VERIFICATION - ID SCANNERS
	PROHIBITED CONDUCT

